AMD RYZEN Builders Thread

Page 193 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

PhonakV30

Senior member
Oct 26, 2009
942
15
136
any Tool with AVX Test ? I need to know Max Temp on my Ryzen.I found Y-cruncher which is best for pulling high temp.
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
y-cruncher uses "ADX" which basically pushes your Ryzen harder than anything else. But you can try the latest iteration of Prime95 for AVX/AVX2.
 

mattiasnyc

Senior member
Mar 30, 2017
321
149
106
Would anyone be willing to chime in and share which B350 motherboard with PCI slots is the one to get currently, as well as the best value X370? I might get a 1700 and that would be a "budget" build either with the best B350 or best value X370. If it's neither of those it'll be Threadripper.
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
If TR is in your budget, seriously just get that. Or hold out for Pinnacle Ridge.

Otherwise, here is a list of AM4 B350/X370 boards with at least one PCI slot:

https://pcpartpicker.com/products/motherboard/#s=33&c=124,123&d=1,6&sort=price&page=1

Of those, the only B350 board I'm reasonably certain has the correct VRM configuration for a 1700 is the B350 Tomahawk. Not 100% sure about that Biostar B350 board. All the X370 boards there should be okay for a 1700.
 

mattiasnyc

Senior member
Mar 30, 2017
321
149
106
Quick question:

- I just got the Ryzen 7 1700 with an ASUS motherboard (Prime x370-a); what software/utilities if any do you recommend I install to monitor/manage/overclock this system?

I don't intend to go nuts overclocking, only use it when needed. Other than that I want to monitor the system to see that my USB 3.1 gen 2 port is working at rated performance, check fan speeds, temperatures etc.

Any advice appreciated.

:)
 

Reinvented

Senior member
Oct 5, 2005
486
3
91
Quick question:

- I just got the Ryzen 7 1700 with an ASUS motherboard (Prime x370-a); what software/utilities if any do you recommend I install to monitor/manage/overclock this system?

I don't intend to go nuts overclocking, only use it when needed. Other than that I want to monitor the system to see that my USB 3.1 gen 2 port is working at rated performance, check fan speeds, temperatures etc.

Any advice appreciated.

:)
Honestly, if you are new to building a system and overclocking in general -- do yourself a favor and either do extensive research on it so you can overclock the right way via Bios. Make sure you have adequate cooling, etc as well, and correct parts (ie RAM).
As for monitoring temps go, I trust Core Temp more than some of the other softwares. It's super lightweight.

Can't really recommend software, since I only use Corsair Link for my CPU cooler and Core Temp, and CPU-Z. That's pretty much it.
 

IRobot23

Senior member
Jul 3, 2017
600
18
76
1. Prime x370-A has pretty weak VRM, I think it is the weakest X370 board. Heatsink is also garbage.

Well I would overclock, if you have good case ventilation (to cool down VRMs). You can expect 3,6GHz maybe 3,8GHz for 24/7 and be careful with VRM temps.

2. As you can see that board has capacitors pretty near VRM and VRM can heat up to 120-125C while working, capacitors aren't that good with high temps.

If you have good ventilation then you can hope for good OC, otherwise anything above 3,5-3,6GHz for 24/7 is quite risky unless you are ready to replace board in a ~year.

EDIT:
FOLLOW GUIDES
Have fun, use HWinfo, be careful with POWER readings/VRM TEMP etc.
- I would go with simple OC like 3,5GHz
http://www.overclockers.com/amd-ryzen-overclocking-guide/
- Memory OC
http://www.overclock.net/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram
Do not do anything stupid, take it slow.

Hopefully you have good silicon there. I have heard that some can hit 3,8GHz - prime95 stable (small FFT) at 1.25V on load.

PS: Even at stock clock, you will be surprised by ryzen speed with decent memory (speed,timings/subtimings)


Again, HAVE a LOT of FUN!
 
Last edited:

mattiasnyc

Senior member
Mar 30, 2017
321
149
106
Thanks to both of you.

I probably should have added or clarified the following:

- I've built / assembled several machines before without major issues, so that doesn't bother or scare me. But overclocking is new.

- I do content creation and the reason I got a 1700 is its value right now, and because I want to look into two types of work. If I continue doing only the one then a modest overclock is fine (i.e. the 3.5-3.7 you speak of, roughly), and if I get paid doing the other type of work it'll warrant an upgrade to Threadripper even if I take a hit on this system.

- Currently running 16GB (2x8) Corsair Vengeance RGB 3466 at 3200.

- Windows 10 x64

In other words; modest overclock using stock cooler is fine.

However;

Because I don't want to stress the parts 24/7/52 (or, 24/365) I was wondering if any of the softwares are a good way to set up profiles and just enable OC when needed. I know AMD has its software which I installed already, and then ASUS has its own AI Suite 3 which I haven't installed yet. I'm comfortable using the UEFI to set it up, but I'd rather be able to enable/disable easily and quickly.

Preferences between the ASUS suite or AMD Ryzen Master?
 

Reinvented

Senior member
Oct 5, 2005
486
3
91
Thanks to both of you.

I probably should have added or clarified the following:

- I've built / assembled several machines before without major issues, so that doesn't bother or scare me. But overclocking is new.

- I do content creation and the reason I got a 1700 is its value right now, and because I want to look into two types of work. If I continue doing only the one then a modest overclock is fine (i.e. the 3.5-3.7 you speak of, roughly), and if I get paid doing the other type of work it'll warrant an upgrade to Threadripper even if I take a hit on this system.

- Currently running 16GB (2x8) Corsair Vengeance RGB 3466 at 3200.

- Windows 10 x64

In other words; modest overclock using stock cooler is fine.

However;

Because I don't want to stress the parts 24/7/52 (or, 24/365) I was wondering if any of the softwares are a good way to set up profiles and just enable OC when needed. I know AMD has its software which I installed already, and then ASUS has its own AI Suite 3 which I haven't installed yet. I'm comfortable using the UEFI to set it up, but I'd rather be able to enable/disable easily and quickly.

Preferences between the ASUS suite or AMD Ryzen Master?
Honestly, I wouldn't use either. If you're going to overclock, then leave it overclocked. If it's mission critical, don't overclock at all, because even after stress testing and passing it can fail and corrupt stuff. UEFI/BIOS overclock will always be the best and safest way to overclock. All in all, even at stock the chip is great and doesn't need to be overclocked.

And once you start overclocking on the 1700 with stock cooler, you're going to have some temp swings. Mid 40's to low 50's idle usually. Unless you somehow get a super magic chip as well. My 1700 is still running strong at 3.9 with 1.3v. But then again, I got this back in April. Not sure how well the chips are doing now.
 

mattiasnyc

Senior member
Mar 30, 2017
321
149
106
Ok, I understand what you're saying, but I'd like to know a bit more about why you're saying it - and again; I really appreciate you taking the time to educate me...

The ASUS suite for example supposedly is using the software in windows to control UEFI. That's at least the description I saw elsewhere. So in a sense that would be like tweaking UEFI, just done in Windows. If that's still not a good option for controlling settings I'd like to know why, more specifically.

And as for why I wouldn't leave it OC'd; well, if there's a concern over the boards longevity when pushing more electricity through it when it's overclocked then I wouldn't mind testing a stable OC and then enabling it when and if I need more capacity. That to me seems to make sense. So in other words, what are the reasons you wouldn't recommend alternating between stock/low settings and OC?

EDIT: right now on stock/idle it's about 1500-1700MHz and 35 Celsius (it's cold here in NY... and open case right now while setting up)....
 

Reinvented

Senior member
Oct 5, 2005
486
3
91
Stock/idle shouldn't be downclocking that low. Even with that board. I think it's a BIOS problem. Have you updated? And even used the AMD Chipset drivers with Ryzen balanced power plan?
 

mattiasnyc

Senior member
Mar 30, 2017
321
149
106
I updated the BIOS early in the build of this, using ASUS' own update utility. I confirmed in BIOS it was accomplished and a late version. I recently installed other drivers, including the AMD chipset drivers. The power plan in Windows is set to "balanced". Should I set it elsewhere & is there a problem with it being clocked that low? Seems like it wouldn't be a bad thing.... (?)
 

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,540
112
126
EDIT: right now on stock/idle it's about 1500-1700MHz and 35 Celsius (it's cold here in NY... and open case right now while setting up)....
The normal idle clock with the "Balanced" power plan should be 1550MHz (100x15.5). So that's perfectly normal.

Stock/idle shouldn't be downclocking that low. Even with that board. I think it's a BIOS problem. Have you updated? And even used the AMD Chipset drivers with Ryzen balanced power plan?
See above. If you use the "AMD Ryzen Balanced" power plan, you'd get idle clocks reported as 2700MHz (100x27). That's perfectly normal too. Everything is working as it should.
 

spdfreak

Senior member
Mar 6, 2000
733
0
81
Hmmm, my 1700X shows that it is running at 3500 all the time in the AMD Ryzen Master app. But the temps are quite low- like 35deg, so I doubt it is really running at 3500. Task Manager shows CPU at 1%, CPU-Z shows it running at 3500.
 

mattiasnyc

Senior member
Mar 30, 2017
321
149
106
Also, I forgot to mention - I didn't randomly pick this board (ASUS prime x370-a). I wanted PCI slots for a legacy pro-audio card I use for work, and on top of that I wanted one x16 3.0 and one x4 2.0 minimum, as well as more than 4 SATA. And that left me with this board. I knew it wasn't the overclockers' recommendation and that VRMs weren't top-notch, but the other needs were more important ultimately.... in case anyone cared or was wondering...
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
Not many boards with legacy PCI slots anymore. Gotta make do with what you find.
 

ZGR

Golden Member
Oct 26, 2012
1,810
37
106
Hmmm, my 1700X shows that it is running at 3500 all the time in the AMD Ryzen Master app. But the temps are quite low- like 35deg, so I doubt it is really running at 3500. Task Manager shows CPU at 1%, CPU-Z shows it running at 3500.

It is probably at 3500. Those temps are in line when not at load.
 

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,540
112
126
Not many boards with legacy PCI slots anymore. Gotta make do with what you find.
Of course, if you really, really need a PCI slot, adaptors from PCIe do exist. I don't even think any chipsets have native legacy PCI anymore. The last I'm sure of is AMDs 900-series.

https://www.startech.com/Cards-Adapters/Slot-Extension/PCI-Express-to-PCI-Adapter-Card~PEX1PCI1

Its never guaranteed to work 100% correctly though. Some cards and boards just don't like PCI bridges.
 

spdfreak

Senior member
Mar 6, 2000
733
0
81
It is probably at 3500. Those temps are in line when not at load.
So is it supposed to be idled down when it's not loaded?

Edit: OK, it was set to high performance- when I changed it to balanced, it idles down to 2200 ans 32deg.
 
Last edited:

spdfreak

Senior member
Mar 6, 2000
733
0
81
Not many boards with legacy PCI slots anymore. Gotta make do with what you find.
I just bought 2 Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H boards for some video surveillance servers I'm building and they have PCI slots. Don't know how many watts it's rated for but it says it supports all Ryzen CPUs.
 

mattiasnyc

Senior member
Mar 30, 2017
321
149
106
Not many boards with legacy PCI slots anymore. Gotta make do with what you find.
Kind'a true. More boards than one might think though. The problem for me really is that most boards with legacy PCI seem to use the B350, and because of that they either provide only 4 SATA ports (I need more) and/or drop the second physical x16 from x4 2.0 to x1 because of some sharing. So.... To me it was either splurge and go x399, which doubles the cost for mobo/cpu/memory, or find the most convenient 'cheap' solution.

So far I'm happy with my upgrade. Quite a bit actually.

Of course, if you really, really need a PCI slot, adaptors from PCIe do exist. I don't even think any chipsets have native legacy PCI anymore. The last I'm sure of is AMDs 900-series.

https://www.startech.com/Cards-Adapters/Slot-Extension/PCI-Express-to-PCI-Adapter-Card~PEX1PCI1

Its never guaranteed to work 100% correctly though. Some cards and boards just don't like PCI bridges.


Yep. One issue I've read about is the supply of electricity not being sufficient on some adapters. I simply felt last week that I wanted minimum hassle, and it was worth just getting this board and if the VRMs are a bit weak then that's fine. By the time I'm sufficiently annoyed by not being able to run my 1700 at 4.xGHz or whatever I'll have justified upgrading to Threadripper anyway....

 
Apr 18, 2006
159
0
81
Finally bit and decided to upgrade from my i5-2500K. Got combo deal from Newegg for Ryzen 5 1600, ASRock AB350 Pro4 and G.Skill 2400 DDR4. Will reuse my PSU and Nvidia 760GTX GPU plus SSDs and 1TB WD drive. Only game I really play these days is SWTOR, but, mainly upgraded to build a couple of VM boxes to help learn active directory. First new system in years so I am excited.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Feb 19, 2017
77
19
61
Look what lady luck brought to my doors for Christmas:



I know, nothing special, just Ryzen R5 1600 on some Gigabyte motherboard. Everything was going well, installing Windows, drivers and stuff, then I decided to stress test this PC I was building for a friend and this happened:


:D
CPU is stable at everything I've thrown at it, even when overclocked to 3.8GHz on boxed cooler. From what I've seen from temps and vCore required for OC, this CPU is matching my R7 1700 and should do 4.0GHz+ with proper cooling.
 


ASK THE COMMUNITY