AMD RYZEN Builders Thread

Page 195 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

B-Riz

Senior member
Feb 15, 2011
870
0
91
Anyone have a favorite M.2 SSD they used with a Ryzen build?

I grabbed a used 500GB 960 EVO last year for the 1700, was debating re-using that for the 2700X or trying a PM981, but kinda wary because it is OEM and not as easy to get support as the retail line.
 

B-Riz

Senior member
Feb 15, 2011
870
0
91

repoman0

Platinum Member
Jun 17, 2010
2,440
55
136
Anyone have a favorite M.2 SSD they used with a Ryzen build?

I grabbed a used 500GB 960 EVO last year for the 1700, was debating re-using that for the 2700X or trying a PM981, but kinda wary because it is OEM and not as easy to get support as the retail line.
I went with a 1TB PM981 during those ebay 20% off sales. Took the longest time to decide between that and the 960 EVO but the 4k random read/write speed improvements were too big to ignore, so I took the risk. So far so good but that won't help me if it craps out. I haven't had a hard drive or SSD fail ever, even old Maxtors dropped on concrete, so I'm feeling pretty lucky.

I'm guessing the real 980 EVOs will be out soon if you want the support.

edit: It is mildly annoying that the drive is green rather than black like the rest of the PCBs in my computer, but I haven't thought about that since I installed it since I don't have window bling or any silly lighting
 
Feb 19, 2017
61
1
51
I'm running 960EVO and had 0 issues with it so far!

3.3GB/s and great random performance.
 
Jul 11, 2016
106
0
71
boostclock.com
Just clean installed the latest Win10 1803 on a Gigabyte AB350-Gaming 3 (BIOS F23d) + Ryzen 5 1600 + G.SKILL FlareX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3200MHz F4-3200C14D-16GFX. The mobo hasn't been used for a month or so, just wanted to get it set up for a benchmark session. Install went fine, even I was able to generate the sys info files with memory running @3200MHz (CPU-Z, HWiNFO). But after copying and zipping out some stuff, BAM, all of a sudden the PC went black, had to turn it off.

From that point I couldn't get to boot with XMP profiles, PC tries to boot 3 times but resets back to default settings. Tried to manually enter memory timings, no change, system cannot boot.

I haven't had issues with this kit, really don't know what happened. Reverted back to F22, but no luck. I'm clueless really.
 
Jul 11, 2016
106
0
71
boostclock.com
Reverting back to F21 solved the issue. I guess this was the BIOS that I used before.
It did not, after a few minutes the display turned black, had to turn off the PC. After that although the BIOS shows that the XMP profile is enabled only default speeds are reported via system monitoring tools.
 

thecoolnessrune

Diamond Member
Jun 8, 2005
9,283
25
126
It did not, after a few minutes the display turned black, had to turn off the PC. After that although the BIOS shows that the XMP profile is enabled only default speeds are reported via system monitoring tools.
To clarify, have you tried any other settings other than 3200, such as 2933?
 

thecoolnessrune

Diamond Member
Jun 8, 2005
9,283
25
126
On my own note, I have a rig with 2 sticks of 16GB G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR RAM (Samsung B-Die, Dual Rank, 14-14-14-34). It's paired with a Ryzen 1700X and ASUS Crosshair VI HERO AC running the latest 6101 BIOS. I've been looking to get the memory up and stable, knowing its difficult to get dual rank (and multiple sticks at that) up at frequency. Currently, I'm at 2666, 12-12-12 timings. Everything seems almost set, but on Prime 95 (with small, variable size FFTs focused on memory usage) I'll still get a rounding error after about 8 hours. So I'm not *quite* stable, but I can't get the rig stable at stock CPU Clocks with the memory running at any higher speed than this with 14-14-14-34 timings, so it seems like I'm hitting a wall. I think 2666 might be as good as I can get, but I need to get the timings better focused. I'm at 1.35V, and for this class of memory, that seems like it should be more than enough considering how its running so far under frequency. Anyone have any suggestions that might improve stability?


 

.vodka

Golden Member
Dec 5, 2014
1,014
9
136
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X overclocked to 4.2 GHz on all cores (unless XFR can do better)
Do you mean 2700x?

If that's a 1700x, what voltage does it need to stabilize 4.2GHz on all eight cores? That will probably be well into the 1.5v range, definitely not safe for the CPU... Have you stressed tested it?
 

Hans Gruber

Senior member
Dec 23, 2006
452
15
91
Just a quick question and may help with stability for ram. What is the best setting for SoC for Ryzen CPU's when OC'd.
 
May 29, 2016
59
2
41
Just ordered my new Ryzen 2600X PC components, worried about mobo and ram compatibility.

Mobo is ASUS Prime B450-Plus ATX

RAM is Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 3200MHz 32GB (2X16GB) C16 - CMR32GX4M2C3200C16

I choose this since CVL list are limited, this kit is cheap and I've seen other builds using Corsair Vengeance ram with this mobo.

Interested to know what can be the safest mode to install and configure the ram and push it to expected 3200Mhz speed. This is my first ever build.
 
Last edited:
Apr 27, 2000
10,507
356
126
DDR4-3200 CAS/CL16 is probably Hynix. You can confirm with Thaiphoon Burner.

It might work "out of the box" at the rated speeds, though you may have to pump in a little extra voltage to achieve that. Since you are on B450 + Ryzen2 I would expect compatibility to be a little better.
 
May 29, 2016
59
2
41
Thanks @DrMrLordX , I suppose can start with standard speed and next enable OC using XMP.
Did I need to be in UEFI mode to do so or also Legacy (BIOS) mode will work? Asking since I will migrate my boot disk from an older PC that's using Legacy mode.
Also if isn't working (BSOD I suppose) there is a way to roll back so to still being able to boot? Not an expert in hw/sw configuration.
 

IEC

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
13,455
163
136
On my own note, I have a rig with 2 sticks of 16GB G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR RAM (Samsung B-Die, Dual Rank, 14-14-14-34). It's paired with a Ryzen 1700X and ASUS Crosshair VI HERO AC running the latest 6101 BIOS. I've been looking to get the memory up and stable, knowing its difficult to get dual rank (and multiple sticks at that) up at frequency. Currently, I'm at 2666, 12-12-12 timings. Everything seems almost set, but on Prime 95 (with small, variable size FFTs focused on memory usage) I'll still get a rounding error after about 8 hours. So I'm not *quite* stable, but I can't get the rig stable at stock CPU Clocks with the memory running at any higher speed than this with 14-14-14-34 timings, so it seems like I'm hitting a wall. I think 2666 might be as good as I can get, but I need to get the timings better focused. I'm at 1.35V, and for this class of memory, that seems like it should be more than enough considering how its running so far under frequency. Anyone have any suggestions that might improve stability?


1545266835967.png

Try this preset and see if it works for you.

Configuration guide flowchart:
1545266873473.png

OCN Thread:
https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-...tor-ryzena-1-4-0-1-overclocking-dram-am4.html
 
Apr 27, 2000
10,507
356
126
Did I need to be in UEFI mode to do so or also Legacy (BIOS) mode will work? Asking since I will migrate my boot disk from an older PC that's using Legacy mode.
Legacy mode still uses the UEFI (there is no BIOS). It's just to maintain compatibility with mbr drives (instead of gpt). You will have full control of your memory settings regardless of boot mode.
 

EXCellR8

Platinum Member
Sep 1, 2010
2,706
29
126
I hoping we get some info on the 3000 series in Q1 2019... getting impatient for HEDT @ 7nm
 

JimKiler

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 2002
3,291
0
91
I hoping we get some info on the 3000 series in Q1 2019... getting impatient for HEDT @ 7nm
If that leak is right and we get 12 core/24 threads for $300 it seems like HEDT is not needed for the majority of consumers.
 

EXCellR8

Platinum Member
Sep 1, 2010
2,706
29
126
Well that's kind of what I was thinking... unless AMD really goes nuts with the next 'ripper chips and offers ridiculous core counts.
 
Jul 24, 2017
60
1
41
Well that's kind of what I was thinking... unless AMD really goes nuts with the next 'ripper chips and offers ridiculous core counts.
Yeah, but the 2990WX is already hitting a point at which software/OS limitations are leading to diminishing returns. Outside of a few applications I am not sure that we really need to push past 32c/64t for HEDT at the moment. Sure, in a few years yeah, but right now it would probably be smarter for AMD to put their effort into improving the memory situation on Zen.
 
Feb 4, 2009
18,860
282
126
Yeah, but the 2990WX is already hitting a point at which software/OS limitations are leading to diminishing returns. Outside of a few applications I am not sure that we really need to push past 32c/64t for HEDT at the moment. Sure, in a few years yeah, but right now it would probably be smarter for AMD to put their effort into improving the memory situation on Zen.
While I’m no expert on the subject I do have to agree finding good memory for a Ryzen is surprisingly difficult and more expensive (in relation to other memory, not a broad market summary) than intels offerings. Especially if you want more than 16GB.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
16,951
375
136

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS