AMD RYZEN Builders Thread

Page 196 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
If that leak is right and we get 12 core/24 threads for $300 it seems like HEDT is not needed for the majority of consumers.
HEDT is already not needed for the majority of consumers. People with extreme I/O requirements will still want it.

Yeah, but the 2990WX is already hitting a point at which software/OS limitations are leading to diminishing returns. Outside of a few applications I am not sure that we really need to push past 32c/64t for HEDT at the moment. Sure, in a few years yeah, but right now it would probably be smarter for AMD to put their effort into improving the memory situation on Zen.
What they need is a 32c/64t HEDT product that actually has full access to all memory banks from all cores, unlike the 2990WX. The 2990WX has some . . . design compromises, to put it mildly. Zen2 TR needs to fix that.
 

EXCellR8

Platinum Member
Sep 1, 2010
2,968
74
126
Honestly... anything over 4 cores isn't that popular among the average consumer. Those who bought the 2990WX are the 1% enthusiasts, content creators, engineers and/or distributed computing advocates. There's certainly some gamers with deep pockets in there, but niche products advertise to niche people.
 

ub4ty

Senior member
Jun 21, 2017
749
321
96
What they need is a 32c/64t HEDT product that actually has full access to all memory banks from all cores, unlike the 2990WX. The 2990WX has some . . . design compromises, to put it mildly. Zen2 TR needs to fix that.
This is what I'm most counting on.. A rome w/ 4 less chiplets (32 cores w/ equal access to I/O). This would be a great product if they could swing it.. A nice full-featured upgrade that doesn't threaten their EPYC line that much and properly establishes threadripper.

> 7nm
> Higher clocks
> Better power efficiency
> PCIE 4.0
> All cores w/ equal access to I/O
That would get my attention and others quickly and solidify me on threadripper.

ATM, I'm eyeing eypc because 16 core is the max efficient/sensible core count on threadripper.. Unequal access to I/O is a deal killer.
This changes if they deliver a solid 32 core
 

Spike

Diamond Member
Aug 27, 2001
6,770
1
81
Just getting my ryzen 2700x setup (main in the signature). Because I did squat for research ahead ahead of time, I went ahead and bought two of these kits ballistix sport lt to run with a 4x8gb. After installation I enabled XMP and it seems to be running at the rated specs. I have done 0 stability tests yet, just installed windows and some patches and thats it. I'll be running memtest on this over the weekend when I'm back home. Anything else I need to worry about or should test? I plan to just run XFR and precision-boost (I can do that, right) and not do any manual OCing. We will see if the CM AIO watercooler can handle the temps, I'm not a big fan of the noise the dual 120mms seem to generate with the system at idle....

Looking forward to some gaming
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
Yeah if you just run PBO2 you should be fine. It'll boost itself pretty well and keep heat down. If you are getting DDR4-3000 speeds in a 4x8GB configuration then you are actually doing fairly well (most such configurations top out at DDR4-3200, and getting there is not so easy).
 
Feb 11, 2006
157
0
81
new build here, thinking of OC'ing

Ryzen 5 2600 / 16Gb Corsair 3200 C16/ Gigabyte X470 "Aorus Ultra Gaming"

Got everything running @stock speeds. Have tried a few OC. Seems to run fine at 3900 (all core, of course) and 1.2 - 1.25 volts.
It will run and pass the Ryzen Master "test" at 4200 at 1.4 volts. But it crashes doing OCCT "large" test. Plus temps are insane, I would never run it this high on the stock cooler of course. Even at 3900/1.2v temps will hit 85C pretty quick during OCCT/Linpack/etc.

The ram, well that runs fine at 3400 at rated timings (16-18-18-36). I tried to lower that to 3400 14-16-16-36 and it woudn't POST..

Anyway my question(s) is, what are good settings on this motherboard (GByte X470 Auros Ultra gaming). The BIOS seems pretty basic, just one multiplier and voltage setting. I'm used to my old Intel board(s) being able to set 2/4/6+ thread multipliers and voltage offsets. This basic board doesn't offer this? Or am I not looking in the right area. The manual is, in a word, brief on the subject of overclocking/volting..

I have a Cooler Master Hyper212 Evo and I've ordered the AM4 kit for it. Once I have that running I'm planning to try 4.1 or 4.2 overclock. I'd like to keep volts under 1.4, pref. 1.35 or lower, but if I have to use 1.4 to get 4.2 rock stable, as long as temps are ok I'll probably do it.

What do you guys think?
 

JRzoid

Junior Member
Jan 17, 2019
15
4
6
Well if I get a New 2600x. Will see if it will Fire up again on the MSI.
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
new build here, thinking of OC'ing

Ryzen 5 2600 / 16Gb Corsair 3200 C16/ Gigabyte X470 "Aorus Ultra Gaming"

Got everything running @stock speeds. Have tried a few OC. Seems to run fine at 3900 (all core, of course) and 1.2 - 1.25 volts.
It will run and pass the Ryzen Master "test" at 4200 at 1.4 volts. But it crashes doing OCCT "large" test. Plus temps are insane, I would never run it this high on the stock cooler of course. Even at 3900/1.2v temps will hit 85C pretty quick during OCCT/Linpack/etc.

The ram, well that runs fine at 3400 at rated timings (16-18-18-36). I tried to lower that to 3400 14-16-16-36 and it woudn't POST..

Anyway my question(s) is, what are good settings on this motherboard (GByte X470 Auros Ultra gaming). The BIOS seems pretty basic, just one multiplier and voltage setting. I'm used to my old Intel board(s) being able to set 2/4/6+ thread multipliers and voltage offsets. This basic board doesn't offer this? Or am I not looking in the right area. The manual is, in a word, brief on the subject of overclocking/volting..

I have a Cooler Master Hyper212 Evo and I've ordered the AM4 kit for it. Once I have that running I'm planning to try 4.1 or 4.2 overclock. I'd like to keep volts under 1.4, pref. 1.35 or lower, but if I have to use 1.4 to get 4.2 rock stable, as long as temps are ok I'll probably do it.

What do you guys think?
I'm not familiar with that board, but if you can give us some UEFI screenshots then maybe we can make recommendations.

If you are looking for high RAM speeds with tight(er) timings, you need to up SoC voltage and vDIMM. 3466 CAS14 is possible on my 1800x using DDR4-3733 CAS17 RAM, but I have to use 1.42v vDIMM and 1.1v vSoC (actually 1.175 vSoC, which is almost bleeding-edge).

Sounds like you need a better cooler though. Those temps are stupid high for 3.9 GHz on a 2600x.
 
Feb 11, 2006
157
0
81
Thanks for the reply.
I've installed the cooler now and temps are reasonable.

Turns out the ram isn't quite stable at 3400, at least not without tweaks. The memory voltages are listed as "MEM VDDIO" 1.35, "MEM VTT" 0.675 and "VDDCR SOC" 1.1, which one of those do I need to tweak?
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
Thanks for the reply.
I've installed the cooler now and temps are reasonable.

Turns out the ram isn't quite stable at 3400, at least not without tweaks. The memory voltages are listed as "MEM VDDIO" 1.35, "MEM VTT" 0.675 and "VDDCR SOC" 1.1, which one of those do I need to tweak?
MEM VDDIO is your vDIMM. That may need to go as high as 1.45v. Try 1.40v and see if it improves. MEM VTT should automatically go up to .700 when you change MEM VDDIO. I'd be reluctant to raise VDDCR SOC beyond 1.1 . You could try 1.15 if raising MEM VDDIO doesn't help on its own.
 

Jism

Junior Member
Feb 12, 2019
23
0
11
Hi Folks,

I have a 2700X with a asus x470 strix ( https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-X470-F-GAMING/ ) a pair of corsair Vengeance LPX / 2x 16GB ( CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 ) 3200Mhz, a single Evo 970 or so, a 360mm watercooling setup and a now RX580. I am having issues getting it boot at all at 3200Mhz as intended. The highest speed it would boot at on stock settings is 2800Mhz. Anything above is no post / failed OC. So far i tried to increase SOC voltage with 0.1v > no result. I've increased memory voltage of 1.2V to 1.35V as intented > no result. Timings are a bit abracadraba for me as this is completely different compared to a regular DDR3 kit (and settings). I've fired up XMP which seems to apply the correct timings with 3200Mhz speeds > no result. I've setup XMP first and manually set memory speed to 2800Mhz > works.

So kind of stuck why it's not wanting to boot with let alone 3000Mhz memory at all. Not that i am missing out or anything, this thing is utterly fast and hanging constant in boost mode considering the cooling and upped CPU TDP in bios. I came from a 8320 at 4.8Ghz with 2400Mhz DDR3 and there's a huge huge huge difference in between. The ryzen is AMD's big fat comeback here.
 

UsandThem

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
May 4, 2000
10,690
484
136
Hi Folks,

I have a 2700X with a asus x470 strix ( https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-X470-F-GAMING/ ) a pair of corsair Vengeance LPX / 2x 16GB ( CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 ) 3200Mhz, a single Evo 970 or so, a 360mm watercooling setup and a now RX580. I am having issues getting it boot at all at 3200Mhz as intended. The highest speed it would boot at on stock settings is 2800Mhz. Anything above is no post / failed OC. So far i tried to increase SOC voltage with 0.1v > no result. I've increased memory voltage of 1.2V to 1.35V as intented > no result. Timings are a bit abracadraba for me as this is completely different compared to a regular DDR3 kit (and settings). I've fired up XMP which seems to apply the correct timings with 3200Mhz speeds > no result. I've setup XMP first and manually set memory speed to 2800Mhz > works.

So kind of stuck why it's not wanting to boot with let alone 3000Mhz memory at all. Not that i am missing out or anything, this thing is utterly fast and hanging constant in boost mode considering the cooling and upped CPU TDP in bios. I came from a 8320 at 4.8Ghz with 2400Mhz DDR3 and there's a huge huge huge difference in between. The ryzen is AMD's big fat comeback here.
That RAM kit is not on Asus' memory QVL list for your motherboard, so that is likely your issue.

RAM that isn't on the QVL might still run, but many times at lower speeds than it is normally able to on fully compatible motherboards. You can try manually setting the timings, but it sounds like you've already been playing around doing that.
 

Jism

Junior Member
Feb 12, 2019
23
0
11
I have'nt touched timings yet, i need to dive into DDR4 since i was used to DDR3 and could dream that stuff blind. I think the 1T vs 2T might be the issue or cause to this. I have'nt tried this yet, i dont see any performance issues so far. Any game and workload i throw at it is just utterly fast. It seems that it's not yet fully working as it was intented.

Is there difference into going CL14 on 2800Mhz vs CL16 on 3200Mhz and above? If 2800Mhz / CL14 and tweaked timings are almost the same then i'd settle down for that.
 

UsandThem

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
May 4, 2000
10,690
484
136
I have'nt touched timings yet, i need to dive into DDR4 since i was used to DDR3 and could dream that stuff blind. I think the 1T vs 2T might be the issue or cause to this. I have'nt tried this yet, i dont see any performance issues so far. Any game and workload i throw at it is just utterly fast. It seems that it's not yet fully working as it was intented.
You can manually try to set the timings yourself, instead of using the XMP profile. Maybe with some luck, you can get the RAM to run at DDR4 2933 Mhz speeds (or possibly at DDR4 3200 Mhz if you're really lucky, but I wouldn't count on that).
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
Hi Folks,

I have a 2700X with a asus x470 strix ( https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-X470-F-GAMING/ ) a pair of corsair Vengeance LPX / 2x 16GB ( CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 ) 3200Mhz, a single Evo 970 or so, a 360mm watercooling setup and a now RX580. I am having issues getting it boot at all at 3200Mhz as intended. The highest speed it would boot at on stock settings is 2800Mhz. Anything above is no post / failed OC. So far i tried to increase SOC voltage with 0.1v > no result. I've increased memory voltage of 1.2V to 1.35V as intented > no result. Timings are a bit abracadraba for me as this is completely different compared to a regular DDR3 kit (and settings). I've fired up XMP which seems to apply the correct timings with 3200Mhz speeds > no result. I've setup XMP first and manually set memory speed to 2800Mhz > works.

So kind of stuck why it's not wanting to boot with let alone 3000Mhz memory at all. Not that i am missing out or anything, this thing is utterly fast and hanging constant in boost mode considering the cooling and upped CPU TDP in bios. I came from a 8320 at 4.8Ghz with 2400Mhz DDR3 and there's a huge huge huge difference in between. The ryzen is AMD's big fat comeback here.
First thing you need to do is get a program called Thaiphoon Burner. Get the freeware version:

http://www.softnology.biz/files.html

Once you install and run it, you should see a button that says "Read". Click on that and then attach a screenshot here. I think you have Hynix RAM, but until we check, we won't know for sure. Getting Hynix RAM running @ DDR4-3200 can be a challenge on Ryzen systems, but it is doable. You will have to adjust some timings and such.
 

Jism

Junior Member
Feb 12, 2019
23
0
11
So how would i know what timings are correct for a ryzen setup and how do i test out if my memory passes that stuff?

I am running Primocache with a 8GB defer write. It means that if the ram is unstable, causes errors or some wicked stuff i will guaranteed have dataloss. The only way would be obviously manual testing, timing by timing and a million reboots straight into a Memtest USB boot.
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
Memtest is a good choice. I wouldn't go for anything less if you're using Primocache.

If you read the thread I linked, you will see that there is DRAM calculator tool that can help you nail down proper timings for your setup. Just follow the instructions in the thread on how to use it.
 

Jism

Junior Member
Feb 12, 2019
23
0
11
Yeah i've spawned the tool on my computer before my post. As far as i understand i fill in all details manually, hit one or two buttoms that spit out 'ideal' settings and that's what i test or go on from there.

It's just so complicated compared to DDR3 lol. That was simply one notch down a setting and re-run any test untill you start getting errors. Way easyer.
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
Yeah i've spawned the tool on my computer before my post. As far as i understand i fill in all details manually, hit one or two buttoms that spit out 'ideal' settings and that's what i test or go on from there.

It's just so complicated compared to DDR3 lol. That was simply one notch down a setting and re-run any test untill you start getting errors. Way easyer.
It isn't just DDR4. AM4 memory controllers are kind of . . . weird. Sometimes you can decrease stability when you loosen timings. There are critical ranges where you achieve maximum stability.

Also, it can depend on which AGESA version you're running in your motherboard's firmware/UEFI. Different AGESA versions favor different generations of Zen CPUs. Earlier ones were obviously slanted towards Summit Ridge. Later AGESA variants can sometimes be better for Pinnacle Ridge. The specific implementation of firmware from your mobo manufacturer also plays a role.
 

Jism

Junior Member
Feb 12, 2019
23
0
11
I would assume that a board of over 190 euro's would be sufficient for any of these kinds, including overclocking would be covered. I understand that the QVL list is there for a reason and i also trust the PC shop that bought & assembled the whole thing together knew what it was doing. But when i first dodged into the bios the memory speed was put auto at 2200Mhz or so.

I'll check that out. It's a complete different platform to what i was used to (AM3 / 990 chipset). I could dream that one blind btw and knew every setting to get the best out of an FX lol.
 

Pohemi420

Platinum Member
Oct 2, 2004
2,185
54
91
Anyone seen their Ryzen boosting above and beyond the expected maximum boost speed, when OC settings are untouched besides XMP2.0 ? My 2700X has some of the cores boosting to a max of 4650MHz on an MSI X470 Gaming Pro Carbon with 32GB DDR4-3200 CL14.

I've seen these same speed readings in HWMonitor and CPU-Z, as well as Ryzen Master when I still had it installed. To be clear, I've never seen any core STAY at that clock speed for more than a split second. Just wondering if it's normal or not.
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,446
790
126
Never heard of 4650 MHz on a 2700x. With XFR, anything is possible . . . what are you using to cool that thing?
 

Jism

Junior Member
Feb 12, 2019
23
0
11
Perhaps some boost function on the board itself? Mine does never reach higher then 4340 Mhz. And it always sticks within 50 degrees temp.
 


ASK THE COMMUNITY