• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."
  • Community Question: What makes a good motherboard?

***OFFICIAL*** Ryzen 5000 / Zen 3 Launch Thread REVIEWS BEGIN PAGE 39

Page 73 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
16,641
5,644
136
looking at the specs, my memory will be too tall with the 2nd fan on the NH-D15...so I either have to raise the 2nd fan higher up or get the D15S...or since the dimensions on the D15S are slightly different maybe I can buy a 2nd fan for the D15S and not have the memory clearance issues
You can center-mount the second fan.
 

CHADBOGA

Platinum Member
Mar 31, 2009
2,023
636
136
looking at the specs, my memory will be too tall with the 2nd fan on the NH-D15...so I either have to raise the 2nd fan higher up or get the D15S...or since the dimensions on the D15S are slightly different maybe I can buy a 2nd fan for the D15S and not have the memory clearance issues
I bought the D15S so that it would have better memory clearance than the regular D15, plus I have bought a very high RPM Noctua Industrial fan to play around with, to satisfy my tinker's urge. :p
 

TitusTroy

Senior member
Dec 17, 2005
308
38
91
I bought the D15S so that it would have better memory clearance than the regular D15, plus I have bought a very high RPM Noctua Industrial fan to play around with, to satisfy my tinker's urge. :p
I see a lot of people recommending to place the fan higher up to deal with any RAM clearance issues...are there any issues with moving the fan up in terms of cooling performance?
 

CHADBOGA

Platinum Member
Mar 31, 2009
2,023
636
136
I see a lot of people recommending to place the fan higher up to deal with any RAM clearance issues...are there any issues with moving the fan up in terms of cooling performance?
I haven't actually got around to installing my D15s yet, so at this stage I am uncertain, but I certainly plan to do some experimenting with fan placement when I eventually get around to installing the D15s.
 

JoeRambo

Senior member
Jun 13, 2013
913
648
136
This is why I just switched to AIOs, the issues mounting larger air coolers just weren't worth it.
With AIO people tend to have different problems, but those can be worked around with research:

1) Case mount problems, esp on top, AIO radiator thickness can cause problems. Need to do research before commiting
2) Due to lack of airflow from air cooler around socket components, they might heat up, esp applies to bad VRM cooling. Might need to buy better MB or add additional fans.
3) Non problem if no memory overclocking, but lack air cooler fan next to DDR4 memory modules, means they heat up when voltages are 1.4V+ Might need a fan next to them.
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
16,641
5,644
136
I ran an NH-D15S on my 1800x with three fans: two 3000 rpm Noctua server fans (industrialPPC) and the stock fan. The stock fan was easy to mount over the RAM slots while I was using Corsair Vengeance LPX DIMMs. They don't have much height to them, so I didn't have to move the fan upwards.
 

Fallen Kell

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
5,448
146
106
looking at the specs, my memory will be too tall with the 2nd fan on the NH-D15...so I either have to raise the 2nd fan higher up or get the D15S...or since the dimensions on the D15S are slightly different maybe I can buy a 2nd fan for the D15S and not have the memory clearance issues
It is hard to say for certain, but the specs on the D15 are based on the top of the fan sitting flush with the top of the heat sink. If the D15 fits without the fan on your board with your memory, and you still have some clearance in height, you can always just install the fans to sit up just a few mm higher to have it all work. Again, you need to look at the tech drawings that Noctua typically provides to see where the various height measurements are being taken. I know I got a D14 to fit with this method in the past.
 

Det0x

Senior member
Sep 11, 2014
404
350
136
Home>CPUs AMD Precision Boost Overdrive 2: Adaptive Undervolting For Ryzen 5000 Coming Soon

Performance numbers from AMD would suggest that this technique, compared to a simple fixed undervolt and core frequency increase, can lead to a +2% single thread performance improvement, or up to a +10% multi-thread performance improvement for the Ryzen 9 5900X. AMD stated to us that this technique works best with multiple CCDs, and fewer cores per CCD, so the Ryzen 9 5900X is going to be the best goal for the technology. AMD has also stated that this is going to be applied to all new processors going forward, however it will not be back-ported to Ryzen 3000 as it requires some engineering optimizations in Ryzen 5000 that are non-transferrable.

Users will be able to enable Curve Optimizer through the BIOS initially, with plans to introduce it to AMD’s Ryzen Master software toolkit for Windows sometimes in the new year. Users should note that the best CPU designations inside Ryzen Master may change with these settings, given that the software will see different voltage/frequency curves than at stock. A few motherboards have the feature already present in AGESA 1100 today, however the official rollout will occur with AGESA 1180 firmware updates, initially set to hit the support pages for each motherboard in early December.

 

CakeMonster

Senior member
Nov 22, 2012
973
72
91
Very interesting, maybe the 5900X will pull ahead a bit in real life performance over the 5950X, simply by enabling this in the BIOS. That would make for some really hard decisions for those weighing the 5900X and 5950X against each other...
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,252
1,862
136
A few motherboards have the feature already present in AGESA 1100 today,
My MSI x570 MB has this feature in the uEFI already. I'll have to try it out later today and see if it actually does anything in the end.

uEFI settings I changed.

curve optimizer.PNG

It did boost the single core substantially, but the all core only hit around 4550MHz which is only around 25-30MHz higher then just doing PBO +200MHz.

Boost_Single.PNG
 
Last edited:

MalVeauX

Senior member
Dec 19, 2008
390
30
91
Hey all,

I'm trying to figure out if this motherboard will accept a Ryzen 5800X without having to do any trickery like BIOS flashing just to accept the new CPU. This is not for gaming or overclocking, this is for a workstation where I crunch data all day.

I'm looking at this motherboard currently: Asus TUF B550-Plus

Ideas?

Very best,
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,252
1,862
136
Hey all,

I'm trying to figure out if this motherboard will accept a Ryzen 5800X without having to do any trickery like BIOS flashing just to accept the new CPU. This is not for gaming or overclocking, this is for a workstation where I crunch data all day.

I'm looking at this motherboard currently: Asus TUF B550-Plus

Ideas?

Very best,
It could, but depends on which bios it ships with. Are you bios flash paranoid? The MB has the USB flashback feature so you should be able to flash it if needed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tlh97 and MalVeauX

moinmoin

Platinum Member
Jun 1, 2017
2,074
2,485
106
Unless the board was launched after the Ryzen 5000 series you will have to update the BIOS. For this gen in general there are still significant AGESA updates to come so you are bound to get better features by keeping it up to date. (Just this week there was an update for PBO 2.0 introducing undervolting for example.)
 

MalVeauX

Senior member
Dec 19, 2008
390
30
91
It could, but depends on which bios it ships with. Are you bios flash paranoid? The MB has the USB flashback feature so you should be able to flash it if needed.
Not paranoid, but my equipment is old, my motherboard and CPU are like 10 years old now, an AM3 setup, with old BIOS. So new BIOS like UEFI and flashing with USB and pushing a button and the idea of a MB not supporting a CPU without a BIOS flash, etc, I'm willing to do it, just cautious and getting info before getting elbow deep into something. Was looking at MB's that definitely can do USB flash without a CPU to avoid being stuck.

Unless the board was launched after the Ryzen 5000 series you will have to update the BIOS. For this gen in general there are still significant AGESA updates to come so you are bound to get better features by keeping it up to date. (Just this week there was an update for PBO 2.0 introducing undervolting for example.)
I think most boards will likely lack the current BIOS to support 5000 series as they were out before hand. But if it supports USB flashing, then that should solve that.

Thanks all,

Can't seem to find a 5000 series in stock anywhere at all. Might just have to use a 3000 series to hold me over until the 5000 series is common place and maybe get a used one.

Very best,
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,252
1,862
136
Can't seem to find a 5000 series in stock anywhere at all. Might just have to use a 3000 series to hold me over until the 5000 series is common place and maybe get a used one.
Which 5xxx are you trying to hunt down?

USB flashback on MB's is a nice feature to have. I'll only buy MB's that offer it.
 

MalVeauX

Senior member
Dec 19, 2008
390
30
91
Which 5xxx are you trying to hunt down?

USB flashback on MB's is a nice feature to have. I'll only buy MB's that offer it.
I keep looking at these 3000 series and the 3700X just keeps coming back up to me, despite me wanting the 3900X for the cores/threads. But the 3700x and 3800x are too close so I'd rather save the significant chunk on the 3700X and get better RAM perhaps for betting timings/latency. So for the 5000 series, I'm wondering if it's similar progression there where the 5700X may be what I should go for, but I want the 5900X of course.

Very best,
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,252
1,862
136
I keep looking at these 3000 series and the 3700X just keeps coming back up to me, despite me wanting the 3900X for the cores/threads. But the 3700x and 3800x are too close so I'd rather save the significant chunk on the 3700X and get better RAM perhaps for betting timings/latency. So for the 5000 series, I'm wondering if it's similar progression there where the 5700X may be what I should go for, but I want the 5900X of course.

Very best,
They don't make a 5700x do you mean 5800x?

I sold my 3700x and went with a 5600x, but really wanted the illusive 5900x in the end. I'm also trying to get me a RX 6800(XT) but haven't had much luck.

I just got home from picking this up! I found it on OfferUp this afternoon.

20201125_155626.jpg

I bought a RTX 3070 for scalper trade bait. It arrived yesterday and I listed it on OfferUP last night in trade. Someone offered me $680 for it this AM so I flipped it. I saw the 5900x this afternoon on OfferUp and offered him $680 for it and he accepted. In the end I paid $10 over retail for the 5900x which I can live with....The scalper walked away with the flippers profit in the end.
 

MalVeauX

Senior member
Dec 19, 2008
390
30
91
They don't make a 5700x do you mean 5800x?

I sold my 3700x and went with a 5600x, but really wanted the illusive 5900x in the end. I'm also trying to get me a RX 6800(XT) but haven't had much luck.

I just got home from picking this up! I found it on OfferUp this afternoon.

I bought a RTX 3070 for scalper trade bait. It arrived yesterday and I listed it on OfferUP last night in trade. Someone offered me $680 for it this AM so I flipped it. I saw the 5900x this afternoon on OfferUp and offered him $680 for it and he accepted. In the end I paid $10 over retail for the 5900x which I can live with....The scalper walked away with the flippers profit in the end.
Doh, sorry, thought the naming scheme remained. If there's no 5700, then yes, the 5800x would be it. I of course want the 5900x, but I think I'm happy to wait on that one after someone throws one out used to buy Zen 4 or something. Until then, I'll either do 3700x I think for value, or if I can get a 5800x I may just entertain that idea.

Very best,
 

moinmoin

Platinum Member
Jun 1, 2017
2,074
2,485
106
AMD may or may not launch a 5700X later on. So far only premium chips have been launched, so 5600X but no 5600, and 5800X but no 5700X. 5900X and 5950X didn't have budget variant to begin with (a 3900 does exist, but only for OEM builds). Aside lack of availability and early adopter prices the possibility that AMD launches further chips is another reason for waiting a little longer.
 

MalVeauX

Senior member
Dec 19, 2008
390
30
91
AMD may or may not launch a 5700X later on. So far only premium chips have been launched, so 5600X but no 5600, and 5800X but no 5700X. 5900X and 5950X didn't have budget variant to begin with (a 3900 does exist, but only for OEM builds). Aside lack of availability and early adopter prices the possibility that AMD launches further chips is another reason for waiting a little longer.
All good, might as well still be waiting for launch for second quarter 2021 for the 5000 series here in the USA basically.

Very best,
 

Mopetar

Diamond Member
Jan 31, 2011
5,049
1,554
136
I suspect there will be a 5700X, which will probably be a 65W 8-core part, just like the 3700X occupied that position. Otherwise they've basically launched out all of the main product segments with the exception of 4-core parts, but even with Zen 2 those launched much later on. There aren't even enough chips to cover the four different models that are already available so it doesn't make much sense to release any low power variants until later.
 

zinfamous

No Lifer
Jul 12, 2006
103,512
18,067
136
I have a feeling that just a 5800 will be released to slot in what would otherwise be 5700 and X space. (basically: why do another tier of 8 cores?)

the way the 6 core performs right now, in certain test cases better than it's 8 and 12 core big brothers, there just doesn't seem to be room for 3-4 8 core SKUs, in reasonable performance gap and price point measures. Maybe a limited edition with a silver stamp to denote crummy dies that they want to package as the "value" AMD 8 core Zen 3, end of year?

Or, actually! those might just be OEM-only chips. You'll see them on HP: "Bleeding Edge, Zen3 5700 XS edition! Exclusive!" It will exist, on stickers for machines in Best Buy, but you can't get one off the shelf? (of call it 5800S, limit to OEM, when it is the spiritual heir to the x700 tier, RIP)
 

Mopetar

Diamond Member
Jan 31, 2011
5,049
1,554
136
I have a feeling that just a 5800 will be released to slot in what would otherwise be 5700 and X space. (basically: why do another tier of 8 cores?)
Whatever they want to call it is rather irrelevant I suppose. Zen 2 only had a 3800X and no 3800. The low power 8-core part was called the 3700X. Only the 3900 and 3600 had non-X variants that weren't limited to OEMs.

Regardless of what it's called (I lean on 3700X because it's a little odd to skip x700 in the lineup entirely) there's a good reason for another tier and it's the $150 price gap between the 5600X at $300 and the 5800X at $450. I wouldn't even mind seeing a real curveball like making it into a 45W 8-core part which really helps set it apart in more than just price.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tlh97

ASK THE COMMUNITY