Crysis 3 Alpha (Multi-player testing) CPU and GPU Preliminary Performance - GameGPU

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by RussianSensation, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    Cevat Yerli has vowed to melt your PC with Crysis 3. So how far along is he with his goal to make your $2,000 high-end gaming PC cry? Let's find out! :D

    Drivers used:
    Nvidia GeForce/ION Driver Release 306.97
    AMD Catalyst 12.11

    GPU Benchmarks - High Quality
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    GPU Benchmarks - Very High Quality
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    GPU VRAM Usage
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    CPU Benchmarks - Crysis 3 loves IPC and quad-core CPUs. The difference between Core i3 and i5/i7 is dramatic.
    [​IMG]
    Source

    Takeaways:
    - No single-GPU can get 30 fps minimum at 1680x1050 very high quality
    - GTX690 can't even get 30 fps average at 2560x1600 at VHQ. Even if GTX780 is 50% faster than GTX680, it will barely make a dent in Crysis 3 at 1600P unless major optimizations take place before release. Melting PCs near you? Yup.
    - SLI profiles are already working correctly, CF is missing for now.
    - The game looks surprisingly good on Low with High Resolution textures enabled
    - In-game art and graphics are still in the Alpha stage. No information on PhysX at this point. This game could get even more intensive by the time it launches if PhysX is added.

    Hopefully the graphics quality and gameplay will be worth this level of GPU melting. Also, as this is Alpha, there are bound to be improvements as we have seen happen after Guild Wars 2 Beta testing. Still, this looks like a very CPU and GPU demanding game.
     
    #1 RussianSensation, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Crysis Alpha (Multi Forum Date
    The Anti-Crysis: Is DOOM the best optimized PC game ever? Video Cards and Graphics Aug 8, 2016
    [Gamegpu.ru]Battlefield1 Alpha GPU perf Video Cards and Graphics Jul 18, 2016
    Crysis 3 1080p 980ti Video Cards and Graphics Dec 17, 2015
    But can it run Crysis? Video Cards and Graphics Sep 19, 2015
    What is Anandtech's Crysis 3 benchmark? Video Cards and Graphics May 24, 2015

  3. mazeroth

    mazeroth Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,809
    Likes Received:
    1
    <--- cries
     
  4. notty22

    notty22 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly what PC supremacists want ! Subscribed.
     
  5. HeXen

    HeXen Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7,664
    Likes Received:
    15
     
  6. SickBeast

    SickBeast Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    Messages:
    14,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, that's quite a performance advantage for AMD in that game.
     
  7. atticus14

    atticus14 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Kinda of exciting (beautiful games) and terrifying ($$$) haha. Hopefully the performance cost will be worth it but if Star Citizen is any indication I think we are heading in a good direction.
     
  8. 0___________0

    0___________0 Senior member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe it's just the 6770m I'm using, but even on high settings I thought the in-game footage that Crytek has released looked much better.
     
  9. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    I don't have any details if PhysX will be in the game or not. Given the current performance, it's already bringing GPUs to their knees. Add PhysX, and it'll be 5+ years before this thing is playable on a single-GPU. If they want to add millions of flying sparks and particles on screens, I wouldn't rule out PhysX per say. The game would be completely unplayable with it though with modern GPUs.

    At VHQ, both the 7970GE and GTX680 seem unplayable to me. We've seen AMD turn out their performance in some games from Alpha/Beta stage as they worked closer with the developer. I wouldn't be surprised if NV nets a large performance increase once they optimize the game before the final release. At the same time when comparing 24 vs. 29 fps, I don't think "winning" means much.

    Comparing Low vs. Very High, I am having a very hard time distinguishing the difference from this review. It's also hard to say what's causing the performance drop exactly. Are we looking at very high geometry/tessellation on rocks, walls and trees?
     
    #8 RussianSensation, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  10. 3DVagabond

    3DVagabond Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,822
    Likes Received:
    79
    Don't get too excited. There's still time to insert some GCN crippling feature. :p
     
  11. SPBHM

    SPBHM Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,242
    Likes Received:
    79
    this game probably have the highest CPU usage I've seen on my i3 2100,
     
  12. bfromcolo

    bfromcolo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had to wait 4 or 5 years before I had a system that could run the first one on high. Looks like deju vu all over again...
     
  13. N4g4rok

    N4g4rok Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now they're just being dicks about it.
     
    #12 N4g4rok, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  14. VulgarDisplay

    VulgarDisplay Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wasn't there news recently that all EA titles were going to be gaming evolved moving forward? Perhaps that only applied to Frostbite 2 games. I can't remember and I'm too lazy to look for the article at work.
     
    #13 VulgarDisplay, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  15. SPBHM

    SPBHM Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,242
    Likes Received:
    79
    I don't know, but I got my key from AMD Gaming Evolved to test the game.
     
    #14 SPBHM, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  16. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    I must have missed that article. I never recall reading that. For example, I don't think EA's recently released NFS:MW is an AMD Gaming Evolved title. It does run slightly faster on AMD GPUs though. I was under the impression that Crysis 3 is a TWIMTPB title, unless this now changed? Based on preliminary performance, I don't think it'll matter much here. GameGPU only got 45 fps at 1680x1050 on a GTX690 at very high quality. We are going to need next generation GPUs for this game unless drivers improve performance 200-300%.
     
    #15 RussianSensation, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  17. VulgarDisplay

    VulgarDisplay Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    1
  18. Bobisuruncle54

    Bobisuruncle54 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Being an Alpha, isn't it a bit early to be running all the high end bells and whistles? I thought that typically wasn't done until a game reaches beta?
     
  19. Spjut

    Spjut Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ouch, this and the BF3 CPU test really show that AMD's lineup is aging fast(still playable enough though)
     
  20. 3DVagabond

    3DVagabond Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,822
    Likes Received:
    79
    It's not really faster. If you look at the 6970 vs 580, the 580 is ~12% faster at 2560*1600. The 7900's are just the faster cards.
     
  21. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    wish they had cpu performance for the new FX Vishera chips
     
  22. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    I am just excited there might be a game that will push PC graphics to the limit again right before the launch of Xbox next and Orbis/PS4. Crysis 3 and Metro Last Light should be good for pushing PC gaming.

    I don't think it'll matter that much. The performance gap between 8150 and Intel's high-end chips is enormous. Vishera is what 12-13% faster than 8150 overall? That's not enough to catch up even to a Core i5.
     
    #21 RussianSensation, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  23. hyrule4927

    hyrule4927 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    I definitely noticed this. I usually run Folding@Home on 6 threads even while gaming, but I have to pause the folding or else I get massive stuttering in the alpha. Probably the first game where I've observed this.

    Definitely visually impressive, and I look that it still looks nice on lower end systems, but higher visual settings (as of now) don't really blow my mind like I was hoping. This may have been partially due to higher pixel density on a 17" laptop versus a 24" monitor, but I didn't really notice much of a loss of image quality between 1080p on high settings on my desktop and 1080p with minimum settings on my laptop.
     
    #22 hyrule4927, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  24. blastingcap

    blastingcap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just because a game runs like crap doesn't mean it looks good. Like Grand Theft Auto's horrific performance on PCs.

    For Crysis 3: If you turn down the settings to get 95% of the image quality, do you double your framerate? If so, that just means the max settings are resource hogs.
     
    #23 blastingcap, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  25. SPBHM

    SPBHM Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,242
    Likes Received:
    79
    http://www.hardware.fr/articles/880-13/jeux-3d-crysis-2-arma-ii-oa.html

    Crysis 2 have over 20% gain for the 8350
     
  26. Elfear

    Elfear Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,568
    Likes Received:
    75
    I can verify that Crossfire isn't working yet. Tried to play a couple nights ago at 1600p maxed settings and it was pretty bad. Felt like averages in the 20's and dips to the low double digits. Hopefully AMD will get things working soon as this game really needs it.