Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by HexiumVII, May 7, 2012.

  1. WiseUp216

    WiseUp216 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    4

    Either one will be fine.
     
  2. davidthemaster3

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Either one is fine. I had a CM Hyper 212+ before and then I switched to a Noctua NH-D14 and it didn't seem to be a problem.
     
    #177 davidthemaster3, Nov 8, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
  3. Deaks2

    Deaks2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a CNPS10X hanging off of mine. No issues thus far.
     
  4. Nohr

    Nohr Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    7,249
    Likes Received:
    2
    2.50 is out.
     
  5. Despoiler

    Despoiler Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice because their last BIOS to improve compatibility still had issues.
     
  6. Knytestorme

    Knytestorme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Made the shift from X58 to this and a 3770k last night to see if it fixed the 7970 hardlock problems I was having.

    So far it seems good, though I didn't realise it wasn't ATX size until I went to put it in the HAF-X and found the 3rd row of stands to be useless lol....also, has anyone else had issues with the driver cd not running under Windows 8? I get read-access error when I try to use the "Install All" option and not sure if it's due to Windows 8 compatability issues or just a scratched disc.
     
  7. Despoiler

    Despoiler Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't use the driver CD. Download the newest files from Asrock's website.
     
  8. Ksyder

    Ksyder Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just picked up one of these boards with an i3-3225 and 8gb of Corsair Dominator ram. Looking to make into a near-silent htpc that does dvr recording from 2 hauppauge hvr-2250 tuners. Also have a Seasonic ss-400fl fanless psu on the way to complete it.

    The crazy part is that the only fan I plan on having is one Scythe low rpm 120 mm fan on the rear of the case. The cpu/gpu (lol) is being cooled by a coolermaster hyper 212 evo with the fan taken off. As far as hdd's go, I have a couple of samsung 2tb 5400 drives for storage.

    Is this going to be alright in terms of heat?
     
  9. Ksyder

    Ksyder Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. yothiele

    yothiele Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all.

    Building my first computer soon. Just waiting on parts.
    ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 LGA 1155
    Intel i5 3570k
    32gb Mushkin Memory
    XFX 3Gig Radeon 7952

    My question after reading this forum is, given that the mobo is not full ATX size, do I only mount using 6 screws instead of the regular 9, and just let the bottom hang free?
     
    #185 yothiele, Nov 18, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  11. Ksyder

    Ksyder Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't remember how many screws exactly there are on the board, but the bottom will not hang free, but the right side will since the board is not wide enough to reach the right most standoffs. An easy solution to this would be to get some plastic standoffs with the flat bottom that connect to the board with pushpins.

    something like this: http://icrontic.com/draco/images/ar...rtainment_pc_part_2_motherboards/standoff.jpg
     
  12. lkailburn

    lkailburn Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    uhhhhh wtf do I do. Loaded up the 2.5 file on a fat32 thumbdrive, went into bios and selected instant flash. A popup showed in bios and I saw the 2.5 file and then immediately the monitor turned off. Been waiting for 5 minutes now.
    The code on the LED on the mobo is 64 which from the book says "CPU DXE initialization (CPU module specific)?

    I'm new to these fancier mobo's and freak out when there's a flash update problem. I poked the little reset button inside on the motherboard and i'm back into windows. Maybe i'll download another fresh copy of 2.5 and try again. I was successful in loading 2.4 using the same thumb drive maybe a month ago
     
    #187 lkailburn, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012
  13. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    Damn on Newegg.ca, whe you buy the ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 they give you a 70$ Gift Card redeemable at Newegg.ca...that would make a i5 3570K really cheap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I'm sooo tempted right now!
     
  14. Deaks2

    Deaks2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do it :p
     
  15. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    Please stop...
     
  16. davidthemaster3

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Buy three get one free :D
     
  17. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    LOL!
    The deed is done...ordered the Extreme 4 a minute ago. That 70CAD gift card sealed the deal...the i5 3570K will cost nothing!!!!!

    I'll try selling my M4A77D+PII X4 955+Xigmatek Cobra HSF+6gb DDR2-800 for a good price after I install everything. Will lower even more the cost of that upgrade.

    At least i'll be able to finally use my G.Skill Ares 8gb DDR3-1866 I have since last month!
     
  18. OVerLoRDI

    OVerLoRDI Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, that is a solid deal.
     
  19. Remobz

    Remobz Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would this board be overkill if someone had an Ivy i5 3550?

    With no intentions of overclocking.

    Or some good but cheaper board like the B75 would be more appropriate?
     
  20. pauldun170

    pauldun170 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    12
    My board came with 2.20
    To update my bios to 2.5, I went into UEFI and ran the internet update.
    Quick and easy.
     
  21. lkailburn

    lkailburn Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^ I might try that next time
     
  22. pauldun170

    pauldun170 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    12
    Just noticed in fan profiles that you can now set custom speeds (vs levels). Cool
     
  23. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
  24. RJRD2

    RJRD2 Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2000
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    guys pretty simple question. will 560ti fit in this board.

    I have
    EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti Superclocked 1024 MB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0
    01G-P3-1563-AR

    some guy on newegg said it wont fit. heres the review.

    Cons: I cannot believe they messed this up. GTX 560 Ti's and relatively sized GPU's do not fit into the socket. I have to return the whole motherboard just for this little mishap.
     
  25. WiseUp216

    WiseUp216 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    4

    The motherboard doesn't have anything to do with whatever his problem is. You could fit two of those cards on this motherboard.