• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

What controls Turbo Core in Xeons?

Page 125 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

opivy224

Junior Member
Aug 27, 2020
3
0
6
Hello guys, I have a X99-UD3P-CF motherboard and a Xeon engineering sample, 14core 2.5ghz and 35mb l2 cache, stepping 1. Am I able to do a turbo unlock with these? I'm pretty sure I can't, and if that's the case, could someone recommend a similar CPU that will allow me to? I was looking at the E5-2683 on ebay.
Here is a cpuz screenshot

1598675225047.png
 

opivy224

Junior Member
Aug 27, 2020
3
0
6
After reading more I'm probably going to abandon this old platform for a Ryzen 3900XT cpu. I really liked X99, but it's time to let go and just be happy with the single threaded performance that the ryzen offers.
 

sackdragr

Junior Member
Sep 24, 2020
2
0
6
I have a E5-2698 v3 with a modded bios but I keep hitting a power limitation. I can only get 3.2ghz stable on all cores. Its on an ASUS X99M-WS board. What did you guys do with the voltages to get yours to run so high (18 Core Guys)? I've tried going down to .080 offset and it will run there (not stable) and i gain about 100mhz doing that... so I'm currently -.050 on Vcore, -.030 on cache, -.010 on system agent, and 1.88v CPUIN. I'm just wondering if I have a bad sample... but I see alot of people hitting much higher clocks that me and I just cant figure out what I'm missing.
 

chinesestunna

Junior Member
Jan 2, 2015
6
1
81
I have a E5-2698 v3 with a modded bios but I keep hitting a power limitation. I can only get 3.2ghz stable on all cores. Its on an ASUS X99M-WS board. What did you guys do with the voltages to get yours to run so high (18 Core Guys)? I've tried going down to .080 offset and it will run there (not stable) and i gain about 100mhz doing that... so I'm currently -.050 on Vcore, -.030 on cache, -.010 on system agent, and 1.88v CPUIN. I'm just wondering if I have a bad sample... but I see alot of people hitting much higher clocks that me and I just cant figure out what I'm missing.
I have an Asus X99 Deluxe II with E5-2698 v3 and followed the settings here: https://www.win-raid.com/t3874f16-GUIDE-Haswell-E-EP-Xeon-CPUID-F-Turbo-Unlock.html

Note - 3.3Ghz is for Non-AVX boost, with AVX my cores will boost to 3.2Ghz
My settings for this were:
  1. Core Voltage -> Offset Mode, "- sign", I was only able to lower it to 0.075 before Prime95 would get unhappy
  2. CPU Input voltage -> 1.82
Still tuning but above settings would allow me to run Prime95 for 2 hours plus (my lowest bar for "stable") with AVX and without AVX.
 

chinesestunna

Junior Member
Jan 2, 2015
6
1
81
After reading more I'm probably going to abandon this old platform for a Ryzen 3900XT cpu. I really liked X99, but it's time to let go and just be happy with the single threaded performance that the ryzen offers.
E5-2678 v3 is nice and cheap (IMO best value) 12 Cores boost to 3.3ghz for <$90 on eBay
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,812
8,997
136
E5-2678 v3 is nice and cheap (IMO best value) 12 Cores boost to 3.3ghz for <$90 on eBay
I may be cheap, buts only a fraction of the speed of the 3900x, let alone the XT. I still have 14 core Haswell 2683v3, and my 3900x blows it away with 2 less cores.
 

chinesestunna

Junior Member
Jan 2, 2015
6
1
81
I may be cheap, buts only a fraction of the speed of the 3900x, let alone the XT. I still have 14 core Haswell 2683v3, and my 3900x blows it away with 2 less cores.
For sure, Ryzens are great and 6 years newer than these Haswell Xeons :D At same time the chip alone is $500+ which is not in the same cost segment as E5-2678.
Seems like @opivy224 already had a X99 board and lack turbo unlock so wanted to provide some options
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zucker2k

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,812
8,997
136
For sure, Ryzens are great and 6 years newer than these Haswell Xeons :D At same time the chip alone is $500+ which is not in the same cost segment as E5-2678.
Seems like @opivy224 already had a X99 board and lack turbo unlock so wanted to provide some options
Just in case you are not following... The 3900x is now retail on newegg $439, free shipping with an included heatsink. The E5-2678 is still $78, no heatsink, uses more power and not even close in performance the the 3900x..

But yes, $78 for 12 cores is cheap.
 
  • Like
Reactions: chinesestunna

sackdragr

Junior Member
Sep 24, 2020
2
0
6
I have an Asus X99 Deluxe II with E5-2698 v3 and followed the settings here: https://www.win-raid.com/t3874f16-GUIDE-Haswell-E-EP-Xeon-CPUID-F-Turbo-Unlock.html

Note - 3.3Ghz is for Non-AVX boost, with AVX my cores will boost to 3.2Ghz
My settings for this were:
  1. Core Voltage -> Offset Mode, "- sign", I was only able to lower it to 0.075 before Prime95 would get unhappy
  2. CPU Input voltage -> 1.82
Still tuning but above settings would allow me to run Prime95 for 2 hours plus (my lowest bar for "stable") with AVX and without AVX.
That is the same write up I used... I'll have to try lowering the CPU Input Voltage... I set mine:
1. Core Voltage -> -.070
2. Cache Voltage -> -.050
3. System Agent -> -.050
4. CPU Input Voltage -> 1.88

I can get 3.3 Non-AVX but I only get 2.9 AVX, its good... and it seems to have a cap around 200 watts on the chip. Seems like if i try to push it over that it just wont go. I even tried pushing the allowed VRM to 140%... didnt seem to make a difference. I'm wondering if the modified entries in the bios dont allow for this setting to actually do anything... I saw someone else in this same forum pushing an 18 core to max turbo all core and I wonder if were missing a setting somewhere (as in not enabled).
 

Suge Knight

Junior Member
Oct 2, 2020
1
1
36
Hello,
I made a video to fully explain how to unlock the Xeon 2600 v3 on an Asus motherboard because no other way had allowed me to flash the bios (flashback or Asus AI Suite or Afuwin fail all).
Hoping that it might help people:
 
  • Like
Reactions: chinesestunna

chinesestunna

Junior Member
Jan 2, 2015
6
1
81
That is the same write up I used... I'll have to try lowering the CPU Input Voltage... I set mine:
1. Core Voltage -> -.070
2. Cache Voltage -> -.050
3. System Agent -> -.050
4. CPU Input Voltage -> 1.88

I can get 3.3 Non-AVX but I only get 2.9 AVX, its good... and it seems to have a cap around 200 watts on the chip. Seems like if i try to push it over that it just wont go. I even tried pushing the allowed VRM to 140%... didnt seem to make a difference. I'm wondering if the modified entries in the bios dont allow for this setting to actually do anything... I saw someone else in this same forum pushing an 18 core to max turbo all core and I wonder if were missing a setting somewhere (as in not enabled).
What motherboard are you using? My AVX boost was fixed at 2.9ghz as well for a bit until I started undervolting. Using HWInfo monitoring is good because the monitoring interface will show you if one of the "power limits" was tripped at any given time. This will be a good pointer to if you're running up against the hard limit or some other setting
 

chinesestunna

Junior Member
Jan 2, 2015
6
1
81
Question for all the other Xeon overclockers here - any of you running ECC Registered RAM and is able to overclock the memory? I picked up a Kingston 4x16GB 2133mhz kit from a friend which is a spec match for the max DDR4 speed of the Xeon v3s but would like to get a bit of a bump to 2400 or 2666
 

v111

Junior Member
Mar 27, 2020
1
1
41
Unlock turbo boost (Undervolting)
I want to inform you that the user of the forums.overclockers.ru forum under the nickname ser8989 managed to develop a method of implanting the FFS driver in bios in the PEI section, and now the turbo boot does not take off after waking up from sleep ...
Now sleep works well. I think this is a huge achievement worth noting. this way FFS unlock drivers will work on dual-processor boards ... Sorry for my English
https://forums.overclockers.ru/viewtopic.php?p=17089770#p17089770
https://forums.overclockers.ru/viewtopic.php?p=17092454#p17092454
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Cclown98

ASK THE COMMUNITY