What controls Turbo Core in Xeons?

Page 123 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

DancingFox

Junior Member
May 13, 2020
1
0
6
can i have a copy of this bios , I have a couple of E5-2678 V3 on a Supermicro X10Dai. i want to test the of TDP limit this cpu
 

reden

Junior Member
May 13, 2020
1
0
6
Good afternoon! Is there a driver that will make 2690 v3 work on 3.49 in all tests? Because now the processor sometimes drops to 3.38
 

phyrexiancure

Junior Member
Feb 8, 2020
8
2
41
Good afternoon! Is there a driver that will make 2690 v3 work on 3.49 in all tests? Because now the processor sometimes drops to 3.38
I think what your seeing is the processors normal down clocking in certian workloads, it still fluctuates with the mod. Undervolting the cpu's vcore should help cause power usage is a down clocking factor. Undervolting by - 0.070 volts is in the ballpark range to keep it stable.
 
Last edited:

phyrexiancure

Junior Member
Feb 8, 2020
8
2
41
Hello, I got a MSI x99A-SLI-Plus with an AMI Aptio V. Is there a guide to do the mod with this type of bios? Is mmtool the way to go, I believe theres a version of it that can mod this Aptio V bios.
 

Scan409

Junior Member
May 13, 2020
7
8
36
Hello, I got a MSI x99A-SLI-Plus with an AMI Aptio V. Is there a guide to do the mod with this type of bios? Is mmtool the way to go, I believe theres a version of it that can mod this Aptio V bios.
Hey did you ever get one? I have the same board with a e5 1280 v3
Here is the mod.
Use M-FLASH in BIOS

V3_MOF_705050 ffs + 306F2 mCode removed + Disabled C6 State(in IntelRCSetup) : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qazvvMw4e58swLXwUGnqd4T8r8StF0R4/
 
Last edited:

djthrottleboi

Junior Member
May 24, 2020
8
2
36
Last edited:

phyrexiancure

Junior Member
Feb 8, 2020
8
2
41
Thank you so much as no matter how i did the mod it wouldn't work for me.

Update: It is installed and worksat first but then defaults down to 2.9GHz on all cores. also I get a current limit throttling and it doesn't go away. even at idle I am throttling

I'll try it out and share my e5 2690 v3 results later today.
 
Last edited:

djthrottleboi

Junior Member
May 24, 2020
8
2
36
I'll try it out and share my e5 2690 v3 results later today.
yeah let me know if it works what settings you have in the bios as i may have something aset wrong. this board may just be bad though considering I can't get my cards to run at x16. may just have a bad board.
 

Scan409

Junior Member
May 13, 2020
7
8
36
Thank you so much as no matter how i did the mod it wouldn't work for me.

Update: It is installed and worksat first but then defaults down to 2.9GHz on all cores. also I get a current limit throttling and it doesn't go away. even at idle I am throttling
Try use Cinebench R15, Prime95 (without AVX, Small FFT’s), AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark

Intel XTU Benchmark is useless for check Turbo Unlock.
 
  • Like
Reactions: phyrexiancure

djthrottleboi

Junior Member
May 24, 2020
8
2
36
Try use Cinebench R15, Prime95 (without AVX, Small FFT’s), AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark

Intel XTU Benchmark is useless for check Turbo Unlock.
it works now yes. Btw i have one more favor. Can you do the mod with this bios instead https://download.msi.com/bos_exe/mb/7885v18.zip ?

Any bios after 1.9 is very unstable on my board. I just bsod'ed playing elder scrolls online. that tells you how bad it is.
 

Scan409

Junior Member
May 13, 2020
7
8
36

phyrexiancure

Junior Member
Feb 8, 2020
8
2
41
Thank you so much. Everything is stable and perfect. I'm not sure why it didn't work when I tried to mod it but you got it perfectly.
Here is the mod.
Use M-FLASH in BIOS

MOF_V3_705050 ffs + 306F2 mCode removed + Disabled C6 State(in IntelRCSetup) : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qazvvMw4e58swLXwUGnqd4T8r8StF0R4/
Thank you so much. Everything is stable and perfect. I'm not sure why it didn't work when I tried to mod it but you got it perfectly.
Everything works fine for me, on cpuz's normal stress test I get the full 3.5 Ghz turbo boost on all 12 cores. Its avx 2 benchmark and prime95 only throttle to 3.4 Ghz. :) THANK YOU Scan409, your a true credit to team.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scan409

Scan409

Junior Member
May 13, 2020
7
8
36
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: phyrexiancure

PhotoPrint

Junior Member
May 11, 2008
1
1
81
Hi all :),
I got the KLLISRE X99Z V102 + E5 2620V3 and I have successfully modded the bios and injected the FFS driver and turbo is unlocked, but I see that many times after waking up from Sleep/Hibernation- that max clock speed is reduced to 2.6Ghz.
Did anyone else got that issue?
I used this guide:
but had to use AFUWIN 5.12 to store and flash bios(it's locked on this board).

Edit:
OK, Just found the solution - it was easy :).

In Bios:
ADVANCED->ACPI Settings:
*Enable ACPI Auto Configuration[Disabled]
*Enable Hibernation[Enabled]
*ACPI Sleep State[Suspend Disabled]
*Lock Legacy Resources[Disabled]
After this I only have Hibernation option but now after waking from Hibernation the TURBO Huck is ON :).
 

Attachments

Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Scan409

djthrottleboi

Junior Member
May 24, 2020
8
2
36
what is this in particular? the mod as an official thing with the x99-ud5-wifi mobo?1591860946568.png

EDIT nvrmind. I just seen what it is: trash. I have this motherboard coming. Now i need to remod.
 
Last edited:

s.anastasiou

Junior Member
May 15, 2020
1
0
6
Hi does anyone have a modded bios for Z10PE-D16-WS which works? I have searched the thread before but all the links are dead and the people who posted them are non responsive.
 

Gordack

Junior Member
Jun 12, 2020
1
0
6
Hello, Could someone recommend me a good mainboard for E5-2680 v3 ?
I'm planning to buy this cpu. Can I able to unlock turbo on Asus or Gigabyte x99 boards ?
 

Scan409

Junior Member
May 13, 2020
7
8
36
what is this in particular? the mod as an official thing with the x99-ud5-wifi mobo?

EDIT nvrmind. I just seen what it is: trash. I have this motherboard coming. Now i need to remod.
Here is the mod
MUST USE efiflash 0.65_mod or 0.80_mod in DOS
ex) efiflash.exe [BIOS file]

MOF_V3_705050 ffs + 306F2 mCode removed + Disabled C6 State(in IntelRCSetup)

GIGABYTE X99-UD5 WiFi : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1DC7te-6ZXO7ydcpSFZiyfJzv7M-n_QVk
efiflash 0.65 mod : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1jLAeWdsvIOPx5HCQvjIGb9vfPReKyLRl/
efiflash 0.80 mod : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1fQizIvfRjGbAnsN-HCZZ-iC-DyCEqZA8/
 
  • Like
Reactions: djthrottleboi

djthrottleboi

Junior Member
May 24, 2020
8
2
36
Here is the mod
MUST USE efiflash 0.65_mod or 0.80_mod in DOS
ex) efiflash.exe [BIOS file]

MOF_V3_705050 ffs + 306F2 mCode removed + Disabled C6 State(in IntelRCSetup)

GIGABYTE X99-UD5 WiFi : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1DC7te-6ZXO7ydcpSFZiyfJzv7M-n_QVk
efiflash 0.65 mod : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1jLAeWdsvIOPx5HCQvjIGb9vfPReKyLRl/
efiflash 0.80 mod : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1fQizIvfRjGbAnsN-HCZZ-iC-DyCEqZA8/
What's the difference between the two? Also will tabbing work in efi flash. Im not used to flashing a mobo this way? Is it possible to use the emergency qflash thingy built in?
 

Scan409

Junior Member
May 13, 2020
7
8
36
What's the difference between the two? Also will tabbing work in efi flash. Im not used to flashing a mobo this way? Is it possible to use the emergency qflash thingy built in?
Version 0.80 is the latest version of GIGABYTE efiflash Tool.
Support Intel 300 Series and AMD 500 Series Chipset Motherboard.

I recommend version 0.65, but you can use version 0.80 too.

In my experience, the GIGABYTE Q-FLASH function was unstable and buggy.
It was more stable to proceed with efiflash.

Last, I'm not using GIGABYTE Motherboard anymore. So I can't guarantee of this model.
 
  • Like
Reactions: djthrottleboi

djthrottleboi

Junior Member
May 24, 2020
8
2
36
Version 0.80 is the latest version of GIGABYTE efiflash Tool.
Support Intel 300 Series and AMD 500 Series Chipset Motherboard.

I recommend version 0.65, but you can use version 0.80 too.

In my experience, the GIGABYTE Q-FLASH function was unstable and buggy.
It was more stable to proceed with efiflash.

Last, I'm not using GIGABYTE Motherboard anymore. So I can't guarantee of this model.
ok thanks
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scan409

ASK THE COMMUNITY