The Official Windows 8 User Thread

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by ViRGE, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. PowerK

    PowerK Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    5
    Those of you clean installed Windows 8, are you guys using conventional MBR or UEFI/GPT ?

    I've been sticking with MBR until Windows 7. And my current Windows 8 installation is on MBR. However, I'm wondering if I should opt for GPT since my motherboard (Fatal1ty Z77 Professional) supports UEFI and fast boot options for Windows 8.

    Is there other advantages of GPT over MBR other than faster boot for Windows 8 ? (A drive size over 2.2GB is not a concern for me at the moment).

    Also, one thing which bugs me in Windows 8 is system restore.
    I always disables system protection (aka system restore) as soon as I install Windows. As a matter of fact, turning off system restore is the first thing I do when Windows installation finishes. (been doing so since XP).
    However, in Windows 8 Pro, it turns back on without me knowing it. I have to check if it remains disabled couple of times a day.

    Is there a way to turn this off for good ?? (registry? services.msc?)
     
  2. Sepen

    Sepen Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know how to solve this problem I am having? I bought a new laptop that has Windows 8 installed. I want Pro in order to use Desktop Remote Connection. I didn't know that Remote Desktop Connection (using the laptop as the host) would not work with the vanilla 8 version. I bought the upgrade for 14.99. Was told by MS to do this..

    Press Windows key + X
    Click System
    Under Windows Edition, click the link:
    Get more features with a new edition of Windows
    Click the 'I already have a product key link'
    Enter your product key and you will be upgraded to Pro.

    I did it, 3 times already and all that it did was restore to the original Windows 8 version due to some error. Took about 25 minutes each time. They then directed me to a website to download it and input the key there. Did it, same result. So I guess I am left with 3 options.

    Try to get it to install Pro (how)
    Purchase a 7 Pro version and install it over this
    Return laptop because I really am not feeling the 8 version

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  3. ViRGE

    ViRGE Elite Member, Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    31,108
    Likes Received:
    16
    As far as I'm aware there isn't a $15 Win8 Core to Win8 Pro upgrade. Do you have a link to that?

    As far as I know, what you need is the Windows 8 Pro Pack, which is currently on sale for $70. http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/feature-packs
     
  4. SandEagle

    SandEagle Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    16,817
    Likes Received:
    1
    i can't believe i'm really digging Windows 8. Did an upgrade over Windows 7. The tile interface is pretty decent and the App Store has lots of potential. Gotta get me one of those Start buttons.

    I ran into one issue during the installation. The system couldn't uninstall the Intel Proset Bluetooth Technology app and I couldn't remove it manually either. I downloaded and installed Microsoft's FixIT tool and used that to remove the offending app. Worked like a charm. Those having issues should look into FixIT.
    http://support.microsoft.com/mats/program_install_and_uninstall
     
    #404 SandEagle, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  5. tfouto

    tfouto Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    New version of start8, 1.01 dont appear hand. On connection you could right-click and go to old connections desktop mode.
     
  6. Sepen

    Sepen Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is interesting. I will have to get some info. Thanks.

     
  7. destrekor

    destrekor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,168
    Likes Received:
    7
    Are we talking about fastest* way to search?

    Just hit Windows key and start typing what you want to search. No need to actually click into any "Search" interface. After you start typing from the Start screen, you'll get the same default search screen, and from there you can select what type of thing you are searching for.
     
    #407 destrekor, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  8. lkailburn

    lkailburn Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks! didn't know you could just start typing while looking at the metro tiles. that's quick!
     
  9. bigrash

    bigrash Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2001
    Messages:
    17,606
    Likes Received:
    2
    So I updated to Windows 8 a couple of weeks ago, and really hate it. Can't stand the "metro" tile interface. When the computer starts and I see the tiles, I just click on desktop and disregard the tiles (so that's one extra step for me).

    Also how do you shut down the computer. I have to hover to the top right, click settings, then power then shut down? Is there an easier way?
     
  10. Mem

    Mem Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    21,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Either install Start menu program ie Classic Shell or Start8 etc.. or do this to Win+x http://www.howtogeek.com/113775/add-shutdown-and-reboot-to-the-windows-8-winx-menu/
     
  11. Dahak

    Dahak Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    4
    Think you can hit winkey + c to bring up the charms bar and then hit power to shutdown

    or create a simple bat file in noteapd with the following

    shutdown -s -t 30 -f
    -s tell it to shutdown
    -t 30 in 30 seconds
    -f force if there is any open or hung programs
    don't need -t or -f, will default to 60 seconds

    and save it on the desktop as shutdown.bat (not .txt) and just double click it to shutdown


    Also found a list of all the keyboard shortcuts for an FYI for anyone. there is some new ones in win8

    Keyboard Shortcuts
     
  12. bbhaag

    bbhaag Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the link to the new keyboard shortcuts Dahak. I upgraded to pro yesterday with a new touchscreen for my desktop and its been an interesting switch. I moved my mouse off my desk so I wouldn't be tempted to use it and have been trying to use only the keyboard and screen to interact with my computer. I never did learn the shortcuts but now I find myself relying on them heavily to navigate through Win8. It's nice to see them all layed out so I can reference them when I get stuck.:thumbsup:
     
  13. wpcoe

    wpcoe Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Why bother with a .bat file? Just right-click the desktop to create a new shortcut, enter the same "shutdown -s -t 30 -f" string and name the shortcut "Shutdown". I have one of those and another one for "Restart": "shutdown -r -t 00". (I actually use "t 00" for shutdown, as well.)

    On my desktop computer, those Windows shortcuts reside on the desktop. On my notebook, with a wider taskbar, I have the shortcuts pinned to the taskbar.
     
  14. bigrash

    bigrash Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2001
    Messages:
    17,606
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks guys. I will look into your solutions.
     
  15. Super56K

    Super56K Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Google skills are failing me today, but I'm wonder something:

    Are there any 14-15" 1920x1080 laptop users here? I'm curious to know how dpi scaling transitions from metro to the regular desktop. If I'm thinking right on the metro side it has excellent scaling, while on the desktop side going above 100% dpi scaling can create lots of inconsistencies between programs just like previous Windows releases. Any first hand experience in how that all comes together?
     
  16. finbarqs

    finbarqs Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    for power users, this is a pain in the ass (for the most part) but for people who couldn't give 2 shits and rather use an ipad, this seems to be a good alternative.

    I don't know what to make of it, as Im waiting on the surface pro. Once that's out, I'll get use to it. Just weird how bi-polar desktop vs. metro is...
     
  17. bbhaag

    bbhaag Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's really not that difficult to navigate the OS so why all the complaining?
    Most of my use is in the new metro ui. Every program I use frequently gets pinned to it. All my apps are pinned to it. All my pictures, music, movies, ect are pinned to it. I rarely even need to go into the desktop because everything I need is...you guessed it pinned to the start bar. If a program that I tap on takes me to the desktop and I need to go back to metro all I do is hit the win key and I'm right their.
    Some of you guys are crying like someone took your lunch money....

    Of course I'm a pretty casual user. I don't game I don't bench or try to tweek every ounce of power out of my rig. I would say I'm about like 75% of the public when is comes to how I use a computer.
     
  18. destrekor

    destrekor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,168
    Likes Received:
    7
    I game, I bench, I tweak as much as possible (for gaming performance and general day-to-day activities)... and so far I absolutely love Win8.

    I do feel as though I lost some performance in BF3 (haven't tested any other game, have barely played any other game in the past few months :p). I should have noted average framerate in a specific server (full) and compared the numbers in Win8 - but I also have an odd, beyond the norm desktop configuration: triple-monitor (spanned resolution) using 2 GPUs (SLI) when playing most games.

    I think Nvidia drivers just need to catch up for my specific scenario. It seems most benches are showing Win7/Win8 game performance is generally the same with Nvidia drivers. Triple-monitor spanning (NV Surround) seems to have taken a few steps back on Win8, as things seemed much better with R300-R304 driver series on Win7 (just the NV Control Panel and how changing settings behaves - let alone game performance). And 5760x1080-type resolutions are rarely benched, so I haven't been able to determine if my setup is botched or if the drivers are bugged.

    Other than a possible gaming performance issue (when using a wild and minority configuration), overall Win8 is faster across the chart. And I actually like Metro.

    I think, once people adjust, they are going to find even power-user-level tasks can be done faster. You just have to adjust to new keyboard shortcuts and the switching between Metro and Desktop UIs on a regular basis. Simply hitting Windows and typing (which could be done in previous versions, true) brings up results in a far more approachable manner, and very snappy. You can drill down right into all the classic (Win7/Vista) menus and dialogs the regular way, or get into specific settings (in the same menus) right from Search.

    Especially because I use triple monitors, I will also fall in love with Metro apps real quick, just as soon as the Windows Store populates with more things. I love the potential look for many applications. Have one in a beautiful full-screen display, continue to utilize desktop apps on the other monitors. Win Win. :)
     
  19. GnatGoSplat

    GnatGoSplat Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sucks for me, I can't use keyboard shortcuts because I love my ancient IBM Model M13 keyboard and I'm not switching!
     
  20. cboath

    cboath Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Win7:
    Go to start button
    Click start button
    Click Shutdown button

    Win8:
    Go to right side of screen (doesn't have to be top corner)
    click Settings
    click Power
    Shutdown

    For actual shutdown it's one extra step taking roughly a fraction of a second. For things like restart/logoff it's actually the same amount of steps in desktop.

    If you have to have quicker access, as noted above, you can create your own bat file. There are also options for immediate shutdown there as well.
     
  21. destrekor

    destrekor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,168
    Likes Received:
    7
    What, is there no Windows/Super key present?

    There are other keyboards out there that use the same mechanical hardware as that keyboard.
    I don't know that I could ever stand a board without the Windows key.
     
  22. ViRGE

    ViRGE Elite Member, Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    31,108
    Likes Received:
    16
    You do realize that they still make Model M keyboards, right? They aren't cheap, but you can easily get a 104 key Model M. 101 key keyboards have been outmoded for the better part of two decades now.

    http://www.pckeyboard.com/
     
  23. GnatGoSplat

    GnatGoSplat Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, but like you said, they're not cheap, and I really don't like the 2-tone. My M13 is all black and looks way nicer. I think at one point, I did have a systray app that was able to remap right-alt into a Windows key since I never use right-alt for anything, but never used it as a windows key either so I probably uninstalled the app.

    My other desktop has the Windows keys as does my work machine, but I haven't really found them all that necessary for Win7. I use WinKey+L to lock my work machine when I leave it unattended, but that's about it.
     
  24. Mem

    Mem Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    21,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can add Shut down and Reboot etc to Win+X like I did then its

    Right click in left corner,

    Click Shut down , job done.
     
  25. cboath

    cboath Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^Exactly. It's one of things I meant by my last sentence....there are other options to make it even quicker.
     
Loading...