The Official Windows 8 User Thread

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by ViRGE, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. dighn

    dighn Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    22,818
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh yeah I do use that, when I remember anyway, thanks for that.

    still, it requires me to do something special every time i log in.
     
  2. GnatGoSplat

    GnatGoSplat Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know a way to boot directly into Media Center? I upgraded my HTPC to Win8 and not being able to boot into MC is an annoyance. I've already done the hackish way to do it which involves running explore.exe and ehshell.exe from a .cmd file and executing that from a Scheduled Task that starts at logon, but it's waaaay slower than the way it worked in Win7 and also not as seamless as you can see it sit at the desktop for a little while whereas Win7 went straight to MC after the welcome screen.
     
  3. Super56K

    Super56K Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Windows 8 experience didn't end well. I wasn't jiving with the metro side, and that was aggravated by running a limited account. There were times I was stymied trying to launch some app or system setting with administrative privileges without cheating and putting a shortcut to everything on my desktop. The search was also stubborn in ways that made it more work to use compared to Windows 7. Then came the weird stability issues...

    Over the last week my system became more and more unstable. The sound would quit working until I did a reboot. The problem was it always hung trying to reboot (I left it for an hour once out of curiosity). I already had updated audio drivers dated from Nov '12 and event viewer logs had nothing helpful that I found. The hard resets started causing issues of their own, and before I knew it I was in a vicious cycle of no sound, hard resets, corrupt apps and Chrome cache, and on and on.

    I wasn't left with many choices to remedy it either. A PC refresh would wipe out my Office 2010 starter edition and, as far as I know, it's not possible to re-install. I'd also lose all my other "legacy" programs which would be a chore to redo. My best option then was to restore from my last Windows 7 backup.

    One bright note in all this: Getting a refund for Windows 8 pro was an easy process. I purchased the downloadable edition from Microsoft and I only needed to answer a few questions before the refund was set in motion.
     
    #453 Super56K, Nov 24, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
  4. finbarqs

    finbarqs Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Annoyance: Internet explorer in metro does not allow you to multitask. You have to hot the home button, and then it'll allow it. Sizing things into thirds does not work well also. It'll only work in desktop mode, not metro. I couldn't dock it. Maybe it was a display unit, by there are so much limitation on this thing that I think I'm scared of the surface pro now...
     
  5. Pr0d1gy

    Pr0d1gy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only issue I am having is that for some reason some sites I go to keep telling me to update my flash and won't play video. I'm sure this has more to do with the site not updating for Win8 but does anyone know if there is a fix for this or do I just need to wait it out?
     
  6. cmdrdredd

    cmdrdredd Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2001
    Messages:
    24,513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Metro IE only supports flash on sites that register with Microsoft. Desktop ie should run flash on any site. Or you could use chrome or Firefox etc

    There is a way to edit the whitelist locally yourself and a Google search should find it for you.
     
  7. sequoia464

    sequoia464 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having issues with W8 updating, I have seen several reports about this on a search, but no fixes yet that have worked for me.

    Anyone have any insight about this?
     
  8. Pr0d1gy

    Pr0d1gy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks dredd, guess it is time to head back to Firefox.
     
  9. Wag

    Wag Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    Messages:
    8,279
    Likes Received:
    1
    Be sure to apply the latest Software Update KB2764462. I had problems with some games crashing and after applying this I'm all good.
     
  10. Herr Kutz

    Herr Kutz Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is there a valid reason for Microsoft not allowing the windows snap feature on 1200x800 laptops?
     
  11. ViRGE

    ViRGE Elite Member, Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    31,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    The minimum resolution for Metro is 1024x768. That would leave less than 200 pixels of width for the snapped application.
     
  12. colonelciller

    colonelciller Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    0
    where did you go to initiate a refund request?
     
  13. sportage

    sportage Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,927
    Likes Received:
    6
    Point-grab hand gestures windows 8?

    Has anyone tried the point grab hand gestures in windows 8?
    I couldn't figure out why the built-in webcam was always coming on.
    And saying the cam was in use if some other app tried to access the camera.

    Googled and googled for any clue. Nothing.

    Then I came across a demo of pointgrab on the windows 8 system and realized what was going on with the camera, and what pointgrab was all about in the first place.

    I don't see this thing going anywhere. This feature.
    For on thing, the camera tracks the hand movement, which is held up in front of the camera, so the hand is blocking your view of the screen.
    Kinda makes no sense.

    Besides, its pretty flaky. Ever accidentally change something by moving your mouse where it shouldn't be or didn't intend to? Then try to return the look back to the way it was?

    Just wait till your hand movement screws up your screen layout unintentionally.
    I just fail to see the point of PGC.
     
  14. Herr Kutz

    Herr Kutz Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    2

    So this limitation is only when using the metro apps?

    e.g. Will the snap to sides still work as it does in Windows 7 while in desktop mode for a 1200x800 resolution screen? If so I may give it a try on my laptop.
     
  15. ViRGE

    ViRGE Elite Member, Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    31,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    No. MS kept it consistent, so you can only get snap when you have a resolution of at least 1366x768.
     
  16. Super56K

    Super56K Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like I mentioned I purchased directly from Microsoft's online store. They have a support number for refunds / customer service (1-877-696-7786). I made the call, gave them the order number to pull up, and after a few questions they initiated the refund.
     
  17. Pr0d1gy

    Pr0d1gy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I was just looking for a little clarification about Xbox Music. Now, do I buy tracks individually or do I buy a sub and download all the music I want? And, with either scenario, does it download them as mp3's that I can then move to other devices (I have 4 ps3's in my house and my kids are getting Nexus 7's for Xmas)?

    I just could not abandon that slick IE10 so I just have FF as a backup on my Metro in case I absolutely have to have it to see a video, but it isn't very often and it is usually on more obscure sites.
     
    #467 Pr0d1gy, Dec 13, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2012
  18. dinker99

    dinker99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    My hope is that Windows 9 will offer some way to divide the screen into multiple views so that more than one document/application can be shown at once. Not just little tiles that zoom up to full-screen applications. Kind of like little, virtual screens that you could open to provide access to your content, like a doorway.

    They could call them "Doors."
     
  19. TraumaRN

    TraumaRN Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got Windows 8, upgraded from Vista and no regrets so far. However despite my back efforts I can't quite figure out how to get Firefox onto my Start menu. I've google searched it but none of the suggestions were helpful at all....perhaps it's something easy I'm overlooking??

    Otherwise, loving this so far, it's much so much faster than Vista and while it's a little odd at first on a desktop, I find myself liking it more and more.
     
  20. smakme7757

    smakme7757 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right click the icon on metro and down the bottom of the screen a bar will appear. Choose stick to taskbar.
     
  21. Pr0d1gy

    Pr0d1gy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    He may need to go to the Store to initially download it IIRC.
     
  22. TraumaRN

    TraumaRN Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that one, but I'd rather it be on the Win 8 start screen/metro. Can't figure that one out for the life of me.
     
  23. darkewaffle

    darkewaffle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you do the Upgrade install of Win8 can you select the drive it installs to or do you need to install directly over the previous Windows installation? I was hoping to upgrade from Win7 to Win8 simultaneously with installing a new SSD boot drive in my HTPC.

    Or will I need to install Win7 directly onto the SSD to qualify for the upgrade? (Or find some upgrade workaround and clean install 8, whatever)
     
  24. destrekor

    destrekor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    So, you want Firefox to be a Tile on the Start screen?

    When you are in All Apps, and you have right-clicked Firefox, choose "Pin to Start"

    Or, are you saying you want Firefox to launch into a "Metro" app-screen from the Start screen, as opposed to simply having the icon pinned?
     
  25. Pr0d1gy

    Pr0d1gy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you are in the Metro, just type Mozilla and the OS will pull the app up for you if you already have it installed. If you don't, you can download it in the store.

    Anyone know anything about Xbox Music? I'd love to get some info on it and all I find are articles from months ago.