• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

AMD RYZEN Builders Thread

Page 160 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Valantar

Golden Member
Aug 26, 2014
1,792
508
136
Negative. Should be a pretty quick turn around from beta to official release. Probably next week. I think it was 10 days from the beta BIOS date to the official release for the last AGESA update.
Well, I'm in no hurry really. One of my DIMMs is defective, and the a**holes in the shop I bought them from won't accept me returning just the defective one for diagnosis (heh, no, Norwegian shops don't so cross-shipping, they don't even trust end users to make reliable diagnoses), so I've had to order a temporary kit that I can use while I return my defective kit (and then return the temporary one within the return window. Yeah, this is kinda shady, but I don't have a choice.). I would have simply ordered a new identical kit and asked for a refund, but prices for TridentZ 3200C16 have risen by about 33% since I bought it. Boy, am I happy I pulled the trigger early on that (even if it's defective...).
 

tnt118

Member
Jan 17, 2010
170
6
81

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
51,054
6,396
126
Thanks, there was a new UEFI 2.50 for the ASRock AB350M Pro4. I reset to UEFI Defaults, and then flashed it using a USB drive.

(For some reason, previously, but only occasionally, there was a RealTek Networking item in the UEFI, that seems to have disappeared. Trying "Internet Flash" gave an error immediately, that there was no internet connection. Yet, in Windows 10, I have a wired gigabit connection to my LAN, which has a wired internet connection.)

Anyways, I tried setting the previous settings, which were 3800 Mhz core clock, 1.3250V, which I'm at now, but I also used to have my RAM overclocked slightly. I had my Team Dark 2x8GB DDR4-2400 running at 2667. I tried the same thing with the new 2.50 UEFI, and this time, the XMP timings are sticking, even though I chose a higher freq. for the RAM. Looks like I have to increase the timings manually. Before (with UEFI 2.40), it bumped them from 14-16-16-31, to 18-18-18-42 or something like that. (Verified with Ryzen Master.)

Still doesn't appear to have any UEFI settings for the LLC or SoC voltage, or offer an "offset" option for the voltages.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Drazick

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
17,278
6,279
136
Not having LLC is pretty obnoxious. I wonder if they're using different VRMs in the AB350M Pro4 vs the B350 Pro4?
 

D00m3dHitm4n

Junior Member
Mar 14, 2017
11
3
51
Welp... updated my Asus Prime X370-Pro mobo to the latest Bios 0803 with AGESA 1006 and I still cant get my 3000MHz Trident Z RGB sticks to run at 2993 :-(
 

Dante80

Junior Member
Jun 3, 2009
8
14
81
For the last month, I've been a happy mother of a 1600X based system. Here is what I got:

Fractal Define C
Ryzen 1600X (w Corsair H110i Extreme)
Asrock X370 Taichi
G.SKILL Flare X 16GB 3200Mhz
XFX RX480 8GB GTR OC
Samsung 960 EVO 1Tb
Seasonic Prime 650W Titanium

Very satisfied so far. Was originally going for the 8 core, but 1600X had such a good price that I decided to go for it. With the money difference I chose to double the PCI-E SSD size and refrain from getting a HDD altogether.

Someone handed me some industrial PWM Noctua fans too (the black ones), so I promptly put 5 on them in the rig (2x140 on the rad, 2x140 on the top and a 120 on the back). Was seriously doubting whether that was a good choice as soon as I POSTed, those 2000rpm fans are pretty loud!. I was psychologically ready to dabble on speedfan for a day or two, but I found out that simply running the Asrock BIOS option for auto fan control made the whole rig whisper quiet. The fact that both GPU and PSU run fanless on idle/browsing/movies etc helps a lot too.

Have not tried OCing yet, other than setting the memory to a 3200Mhz 14/14/14/34/52 profile. The whole thing is reporting pretty good temperatures though, to the point that I don't hear the fans unless I'm stressing the system. At all.

And running something like Furmark/Prime95 for an hour or so provides still glorious temps (that 280 AIO+Noctua combo is worth it)..albeit with increased sound.

So far, so good. Really recommending both the case and the fans to anyone interested btw.
 

Valantar

Golden Member
Aug 26, 2014
1,792
508
136
For the last month, I've been a happy mother of a 1600X based system. Here is what I got:

Fractal Define C
Ryzen 1600X (w Corsair H110i Extreme)
Asrock X370 Taichi
G.SKILL Flare X 16GB 3200Mhz
XFX RX480 8GB GTR OC
Samsung 960 EVO 1Tb
Seasonic Prime 650W Titanium

Very satisfied so far. Was originally going for the 8 core, but 1600X had such a good price that I decided to go for it. With the money difference I chose to double the PCI-E SSD size and refrain from getting a HDD altogether.

Someone handed me some industrial PWM Noctua fans too (the black ones), so I promptly put 5 on them in the rig (2x140 on the rad, 2x140 on the top and a 120 on the back). Was seriously doubting whether that was a good choice as soon as I POSTed, those 2000rpm fans are pretty loud!. I was psychologically ready to dabble on speedfan for a day or two, but I found out that simply running the Asrock BIOS option for auto fan control made the whole rig whisper quiet. The fact that both GPU and PSU run fanless on idle/browsing/movies etc helps a lot too.

Have not tried OCing yet, other than setting the memory to a 3200Mhz 14/14/14/34/52 profile. The whole thing is reporting pretty good temperatures though, to the point that I don't hear the fans unless I'm stressing the system. At all.

And running something like Furmark/Prime95 for an hour or so provides still glorious temps (that 280 AIO+Noctua combo is worth it)..albeit with increased sound.

So far, so good. Really recommending both the case and the fans to anyone interested btw.
The 1600X seems to behave extremely well under water. Mine hovers at ~30 degrees idle in my custom CPU+GPU loop (1x240mm rad + 1x 120mm rad, Nidec Gentle Typhoon fans) with the fans barely moving at all. Load temps are harder to pinpoint as it's very dependent on fan speeds (only one fan is controlled by the CPU temp, the other ones are temporarily hooked up to my case's fan controller due to a lack of fan ports), but they've never bothered me. I'm rather envious of your SSD, though :p

Also, you're not alone in going the 1600X over 1700(X) route. Either higher clocks for less money or a very significant price drop for just two less cores. It's an amazing deal. I wouldn't be surprised if it turned out to be the best-selling Ryzen SKU.
 
  • Like
Reactions: coffeemonster

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
4,068
653
126
The 1600X seems to behave extremely well under water.
You might want to rephrase that. It could be... misunderstood... :D

Ryzen is extremely well behaved temperature wise. My 1700 doesn't break 30C idle, with full load hitting around 45C. Torture testing can push that to 55C, but you wont see that with normal workloads. The most impressive is that this is with the stock Wraith Spire cooler. I do have a well ventilated case, but still.

Overall I'm very impressed with Ryzens efficiency.
 

Malogeek

Golden Member
Mar 5, 2017
1,390
778
106
yaktribe.org
Ryzen is extremely well behaved temperature wise. My 1700 doesn't break 30C idle, with full load hitting around 45C. Torture testing can push that to 55C, but you wont see that with normal workloads. The most impressive is that this is with the stock Wraith Spire cooler. I do have a well ventilated case, but still.
55C torture testing on a wraith spire? Do you live in an igloo?
 

Dante80

Junior Member
Jun 3, 2009
8
14
81
I did a test around an hour ago or so, ambient here was 29C (Athens, Greece). The Corsair H110i with 2 Noctuas NF-14A industrial is keeping the CPU at 36.2C idle. And that is because I have chosen (via the Taichi BIOS) to run the fans at ~425rpm.

Under Prime95 (SmartFFT), the CPU gets to a Tdie of 60.5C after half an hour or so.



But, the fans are still working around 1300rpm then. I can change the profile to send them to 2000rpm and get even cooler, but I don't think the extra noise is worth the hassle.

Overall, I am very impressed. Granted, we are talking about stock speeds here, but still.
 

DaQuteness

Senior member
Mar 6, 2008
200
34
86
My understanding is that Ryzen will never allow for more than dual-GPU due to only 20 PCIe lanes, is this true? Maybe in Zen2, anybody got more info? I'm looking to build this for GPU computing (rendering and animation to be more precise) so SLI/Crossfire is not even a consideration, in fact you have to disable it for the render engine to work properly.

Here's my current list for the build:

Corsair Obsidian 900D
Asus CROSSHAIR VI HERO
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X, Zen, 8-core with SMT, 3.6GHz
(comes with OC service to 4GHz)
Corsair Hydro Series H110i - 280mm AIO liquid cooler (Thanks Dante80 for feedback on efficiency!)
16GB (2x8GB) Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
(not fussed about RAM too much, it's GPU memory that counts for me)
11GB EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 (one for starters and looking to add more as budget becomes available - hence the quad-gpu question)
1000W Corsair RM, Full-Modular
250GB Samsung 960 Evo, PCIe 3.0 (x4) NVMe SSD
Corsair ML140 PRO (a couple of them...)

Any feedback is more than welcome, only getting it in August, this puppy will set me back £2500, happy to hear about new tech becoming available in the meantime.

Would love to switch to AMD, have always been a fan, my first 1GHz build back in 2003 was based on Athlon, but it's like choosing between Lamborghini and Landrover for off-road trips, you'd love the Lambo but the butt-ugly Landrover is better at this. Ryzen seems my (and many others') ticket to finally realiably switching to AMD, is there any way to get more than 2gpus in the long run??

Cheers!
V.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Drazick

DaQuteness

Senior member
Mar 6, 2008
200
34
86
Holy s**t how did I not know about that :| I did hear about Threadripper but didn't read too much about it, was on the road a lot lately.

See, that is exactly what I'm looking for, and since they're only coming out in August, it's perfect timing... sort of, they'll be expensive because of the hype.

To be completely honest, Threadripper might be a bit overkill **cough** said the nutcase who wants quad-gpu **cough** simply because it might not be used as much. In my workflow, CPU handles shader, animation and some specific although often encountered geometry manipulation, the GPUs do the heavy lifting of actually delivering the final image. But if those mobos can use a 1800x to drive the GPUs, bloody perfect!

Thanks Pick2, good shout, will keep a drooling eye on that for sure! - funny enough, wasn't expecting AsRock to be on the showcase for this beast, don't see their name in the high-end too much...

Cheers!
V.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Drazick

Pick2

Golden Member
Feb 14, 2017
1,058
1,507
91
Welcome you are.
An 1800X won't fit , it's a new socket with ... like .... 4094 pins and is very large. Quad channel memory Also !

:D I just got so excited my wife Wet herself :p:D
 
  • Like
Reactions: DaQuteness

DaQuteness

Senior member
Mar 6, 2008
200
34
86
Yeah... been reading a bit after you replied... better get on with marketing then, I need new clients to offset the cataclismic impact of that beast on my finances.

The annoying thing is, every time I speak to someone about getting the best available stuff they say I'm being a bit of a douce, but if I can save 10h worth of trial-and-error renders a week, it's a 20% increase in productivity, 20% decrease in delivery time and therefore I can get more clients on, meaning this pays itself off in the long run.

Anyway, I digress, thanks again for the shock and my apologies to the missus for causing the excitement overload :)

Cheers!
V.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Drazick

Topweasel

Diamond Member
Oct 19, 2000
5,362
1,547
136
My understanding is that Ryzen will never allow for more than dual-GPU due to only 20 PCIe lanes, is this true? Maybe in Zen2, anybody got more info? I'm looking to build this for GPU computing (rendering and animation to be more precise) so SLI/Crossfire is not even a consideration, in fact you have to disable it for the render engine to work properly.

Here's my current list for the build:

Corsair Obsidian 900D
Asus CROSSHAIR VI HERO
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X, Zen, 8-core with SMT, 3.6GHz
(comes with OC service to 4GHz)
Corsair Hydro Series H110i - 280mm AIO liquid cooler (Thanks Dante80 for feedback on efficiency!)
16GB (2x8GB) Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
(not fussed about RAM too much, it's GPU memory that counts for me)
11GB EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 (one for starters and looking to add more as budget becomes available - hence the quad-gpu question)
1000W Corsair RM, Full-Modular
250GB Samsung 960 Evo, PCIe 3.0 (x4) NVMe SSD
Corsair ML140 PRO (a couple of them...)

Any feedback is more than welcome, only getting it in August, this puppy will set me back £2500, happy to hear about new tech becoming available in the meantime.

Would love to switch to AMD, have always been a fan, my first 1GHz build back in 2003 was based on Athlon, but it's like choosing between Lamborghini and Landrover for off-road trips, you'd love the Lambo but the butt-ugly Landrover is better at this. Ryzen seems my (and many others') ticket to finally realiably switching to AMD, is there any way to get more than 2gpus in the long run??

Cheers!
V.
The platform is always going to be limited to 20 lanes. A Mobo company could always ad a plx chip to get more out of it. But the choices they make on Ryzen affect the whole platform up to the 32 core EPYC.

Want more lanes get the low end of TR spectrum when that comes out.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DaQuteness

Valantar

Golden Member
Aug 26, 2014
1,792
508
136
The platform is always going to be limited to 20 lanes. A Mobo company could always ad a plx chip to get more out of it. But the choices they make on Ryzen affect the whole platform up to the 32 core EPYC.

Want more lanes get the low end of TR spectrum when that comes out.
You're entirely right. The only way this will change from what we already know is if PCIe 4.0 arrives earlier than expected and forces AMD to update/refresh their AM4 platform before their (stated) 2020 goal. Until that happens, 16 lanes for GPUs and 4 for storage is where it's at.

Besides, @DaQuteness , it sounds like Threadripper is exactly the platform you're looking for. Rumors say $899 for the low-end 16c32t SKU, so 12c24t will be even cheaper. And pretty much all the motherboards shown at Computex had four double-spaced PCIe slots (usually 16x, 8x, 16x, 8x).
 

bononos

Diamond Member
Aug 21, 2011
3,720
68
91
........
Anyways, I tried setting the previous settings, which were 3800 Mhz core clock, 1.3250V, which I'm at now, but I also used to have my RAM overclocked slightly. I had my Team Dark 2x8GB DDR4-2400 running at 2667. I tried the same thing with the new 2.50 UEFI, and this time, the XMP timings are sticking, even though I chose a higher freq. for the RAM. Looks like I have to increase the timings manually. Before (with UEFI 2.40), it bumped them from 14-16-16-31, to 18-18-18-42 or something like that. (Verified with Ryzen Master.)

Still doesn't appear to have any UEFI settings for the LLC or SoC voltage, or offer an "offset" option for the voltages.
When you overclock the cpu, does cool n quiet (like Intel speedstep) still work or do the clocks and voltage stay elevated even during idle periods like during browsing.

Not having LLC is pretty obnoxious. I wonder if they're using different VRMs in the AB350M Pro4 vs the B350 Pro4?
I'm quite sure the VRMs are the same for both versions of the Pro4 and also the K4.
 

DaQuteness

Senior member
Mar 6, 2008
200
34
86
@Valantar check this puppy out: https://rog.asus.com/articles/maximus-motherboards/rogs-zenith-extreme-motherboard-is-coming-for-amds-monster-ryzen-threadripper-cpu/

Although the ROG branding, this is absolutely not for gamers, it's a fully-fledged server board for sure... what on this green earth would you need 4 cards for if not CUDA/OPENCL computing? I assume OC this beast would be for shits and giggles, not really worth it.

Although Asus is being ridiculously hush about the actual PCIe specs, it does seem like it's one of those £600 MBs. And the CPU another £800 (because bloody UK), yep, that will cap me at about £3200 for this build... damn... but I reckon it's worth stretching. Taking a closer look at the CPU slot... it literally looks like two 1800x mushed into one embarrasingly powerful single die, there's only so much you can do with a standard die size. Actually, to me it looks more similar to a Xeon server motherboard than anything else, plus all the gamer swag going on.

... should I be in a different thread for this? It is about Ryzen though :) Just, more asking than contributing this time around, sorry about that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Drazick

ASK THE COMMUNITY