Zen 2 APUs/"Renoir" discussion thread

Page 31 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,656
1,330
136
They cant be used in mining rigs or home servers because there is no ACPI option to "power on" after a power failure. It doe snot make sense to do so anyway, here we have been using the Biostar A68N-2100K (E1-6010) for mining rigs using a pci-e multiplier.

The A520 would make a lot of difference actually, just for the fact that it would double the bandwidth for the PCI-E, that alone would help with the main bottleneck. What this needs is either a new chipset or a pci-e switch. it hurts to see that the soc has 4.0 pci-e lanes ending in a 2.0 port.
 

LightningZ71

Golden Member
Mar 10, 2017
1,533
1,766
136
Technically true with respect to the chipset. However, what's the target market of these things? I believe that they wanted it to be a "least cost" embedded solution. While A520 could technically have worked, it was too much for what they wanted to accomplish.

As for mining rigs, I specified CPU mining, coin mining on the CPU for XMR more specifically. I get that it isn't suitable for most anything involving PCIe I/O. It does have a lot of DRAM bandwidth and lots of cores. That lends itself to very specific tasks.

This thing gets destroyed by the Mi989 in every way possible, save for price (it's expected to be in the $750 range). There's almost no real reason to get this over most any of the Ryzen V2000 series boards out there. Even the 6 core low end models should out perform this in all but the most niche of cases.
 

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,656
1,330
136
AMD is trying to market as entry level desktops, mostly focused on productivity... yeah... 16GB is very entry level. And the gpu they choosen is the single worst option to bundle this thing with, to the point a 3200G Vega 8 may outperform it. Petty sure the 3400G Vega 11 does, but im not interested in making a comparison.

There is no reason to get this under any circunstance. They are even more worthless than the E1-6010 boards that are literally unusable by the average joe, YET, ive been using some of those as cheap files/smb/tftp servers... the ones with the pci-e slot are really good for 4-gpu mining rigs, etc... but th 4700S? its like AMD lost a bet and they had to make this thing.

With a better chipset, they would be viable as gaming pcs, if that PCI-E was 3.0 or even better, 4.0. It would be a very different matter.
 

Asterox

Senior member
May 15, 2012
973
1,657
136
I have used FastStone Image Viewer it in the past, in combination with Athlon II X2 and Phenom II X4 CPU-s.FIV didn’t have the specific option i needed, so i switched to another similar photo tool.I remember the program worked very fast with images.It still is blazing fast, very good software no doubt definitely a strong recommendation.


Hm, it is not clear to me why the FIV is considerably faster in this test or example.

Obviously the FIV does not rely on the Ryzen 3000 large L3 Cache at all.Same story goes for Cinebench or Blender example in this Golem.de review.

https://www.golem.de/news/ryzen-pro-4750g-4650g-im-test-die-besten-desktop-apus-2007-149923-2.html

2021-10-03_215209.jpg

"We were a bit surprised with the Faststone Image Viewer, as the two APUs there converted our photos more quickly during batch processing"
 
Last edited:

LightningZ71

Golden Member
Mar 10, 2017
1,533
1,766
136
Maybe this is the tiny "half renoir" that I've been asking for forever. One quad core CCX, tiny iGPU like Dali, limited i/o. It'll fill in nicely at the bottom of the stack.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zepp

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,656
1,330
136
Renoir-X, iGPU is most likely broken=disabled.

Only R3 4/8 and most likely R5 6/12 CPU-s.

https://videocardz.com/newz/amd-allegedly-preparing-renoir-x-apus-without-integrated-graphics
Selling overpriced Cezannes > Selling cheaper Renoirs with IGPs. Thats petty much how that went.

That said, i hope thats a mistake and they have an IGP, but if they are called "X" i doubt it. They also need another CPU for miners they just cant keep up with the Athlons, so this may be it.
 

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,656
1,330
136
How many PCI-E lanes?
Petty sure it can support 7 gpus on a A320 board that has 3 pci-e slots using a pcie multiplier and a m.2 to pcie adapter, just like the 3000G can.

The problem is that AMD cant keep up with the Athlon demand and miners go out to buy I3s instead (because Intel has the same problem with Celerons and pentiums). A cheap H510 with 3 pcie and a M2 + i3 + pcie multiplier can also support up to 7 gpus... To me thats the market AMD is targeting.
At the same time they released bios for A320 to add Renoir support (and actively block Cezanne from booting because the microcode is also in the bios), that cant be a coincidence.
 

LightningZ71

Golden Member
Mar 10, 2017
1,533
1,766
136
Have to agree. If they do nothing more than ax one CCX, cut the iGPU in half, and refloorplan accordingly, with an N6 shrink, they can produce twice as many Rwnoir-x due per wafer than lucienne/renoir regular die. Without an IOD, they will be much cheaper to manufacture.
 

moinmoin

Diamond Member
Jun 1, 2017
4,174
6,250
136
Maybe this is the tiny "half renoir" that I've been asking for forever. One quad core CCX, tiny iGPU like Dali, limited i/o. It'll fill in nicely at the bottom of the stack.
It may eventually lead to it (similar to how Athlon went from heavily disabled standard APUs 200GE/220GE/240GE/300GE to Dali based 3000G), but at the start I expect them to be salvaged Renoir parts where the iGPU didn't fit any existing spec so was disabled altogether.
 

Asterox

Senior member
May 15, 2012
973
1,657
136
Last edited:

thigobr

Senior member
Sep 4, 2016
226
165
116
I recently tested a Ryzen 7 Pro 4750G on an ASRockRack X470D4U... Results were good! Main points I wanted to test were idle power consumption and ECC. Using a Seasonic PX550, barebone system (only CPU, RAM, and MB) I was able to record 24W idle (compared to 31W when using an old Ryzen 7 1700) on Ubuntu Linux.
With some B550 boards and Renoir CPUs the whole system can consume less than 10W. Unfortunately it seems the ASRock doesn't enable all the PCIE ASPM settings to reduce idle power.

I was able to test ECC as well with Memtest86 Pro and error injection: while error reporting doesn't work with my old Ryzen 1700 it works correctly with the 4750G Pro! That was a surprise as I expected reporting to not work at all with this MB.
 

Asterox

Senior member
May 15, 2012
973
1,657
136
4/8 version, hm price probably around 100$ or euro.


4/8 R3 4300GE or APU, localy in my country price is 148euro.


Some people expect only 80$ for 4/8 R3 Renoir X.

Blah or lol, 2/2 Celeron G6900 in retail price is 474Kn=62euro. :mask:

 

Zepp

Member
May 18, 2019
130
129
86
I'm surprised they haven't released any Ryzen based gpu defective APUs until now like the old Llano/Richland/Kaveri Athlons. Also a little surprised they'd use 4000 nomenclature this close to 6000 series release.
 

Asterox

Senior member
May 15, 2012
973
1,657
136
Meet the rx6400.


Any old potato can software decode av1 1080p, which is likely the best monitor this will ever be paired with.
The newer CPUs can av1 decode at 4k, although 8k is still of a bit of leap for most CPUs.

It seems unlikely people will be pairing 6500xt's with 8k monitors.

The decode thing seems irrelevant for likely use cases.
You've got to ask yourself one ouestion, how old(how much Cores and Threads)is that CPU potato. :grinning:

But first we need to change Youtube video playback(Auto/default is VP9)settings to Always prefer AV1.


Here is my example with Zen2/R5 4650G, but configured as 2/4 CPU.

AV1 1080p/60
2022-01-24_131154.jpg


AV1 1440p/60
2022-01-24_132105.jpg


AV1 4K/30, quite a surprise even for me.As we can see, yes it can play 4K/30 AV1 Youtube video without problems.
2022-01-24_133507.jpg


AV1 4K/60, 2/4 CPU as expected only sound+frozen video

AV1 hardware decoder is always welcome.If we use a modern or capable CPU(minimum 4/8 CPU), realistically there is no need to cry about the lack of AV1 decoders.8K blah, who cares about 8K and that's because 99% of people today or in the future still won't use more than 4K resolution monitor or TV.



I teleported the post from original GPU thread in this Renoir APU thread.


For the sake of useful information, lets the discussion continue in this topic.
 
Last edited:

Asterox

Senior member
May 15, 2012
973
1,657
136
Thank you for putting the testing in!

If I understand correctly, normally your 4650G would be 6/12, but you somehow nerfed it to 2/4 for the test? Is that a BIOS setting?
Yes, Bios setting or option Downcore Control.You have three options, on the Gigabyte B450 motherboard/page 22.


Auto is default, 6/12 CPU

1+1, 2/4 CPU

2+2, 4/8 CPU


You can do that on almost all Ryzen CPU-s, if the motherboard has such Bios option.By some logic, the vast majority of AM4 motherboards should have such or similar Bios option.

 
Last edited:

ASK THE COMMUNITY