Question Which is faster for SQL Server data access and web page load: AMD Epyc (faster CPU) or Intel Xeon with Optane Persistent Memory DIMMS ?

BizAutomation

Mar 1, 2020
Say you're thinking of upgrading your servers and you're goal is fast access to SQL Server data (Database with lots of joins and tables rendering web pages over the web). In this case your ceiling of RAM will be 128GB.

While I appreciate the raw power and value of Epyc vs Xeon, it seems to me that for SQL Server and web apps, the slower Xeon CPU when paired with Storage Class Memory (SCM) is the clear performance winner. I'm not an expert in this realm, and did look to TPC-E for guidance (didn't find any really) but given these parameters I wanted to get feedback from anyone with knowledge in this particular area.

Thoughts anyone ?

aigomorla

CPU, Cases&Cooling Mod PC Gaming Mod Elite Member
Super Moderator
Sep 28, 2005
slower Xeon CPU when paired with Storage Class Memory (SCM) is the clear performance winner.

Its not only that, but ECC REG rams have been validated over and over again on Xeons.

EYPC has the advantage over cores and operation, which makes it overall a better system when your doing a lot of virtualization.
However for SQL, it has been validated for almost a decade on a Xeon, has mission critical deployments of it, and is just a better all choice for SQL operations until we see some time on EYPC.

BizAutomation

Mar 1, 2020
Yes but neither of these are the priority, nor in the parameters of my question. The focus of the question isn't max RAM (again, in my spec, the limit is 128GB) nor validation. The question is all about random access performance of pages against a SQL Server database, and the latency it takes from when a user clicks a button or link, and the time it's refreshed on their browser, nothing more.

sdifox

No Lifer
Sep 30, 2005