• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Threadripper BUILDERS thread

Page 75 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Justinbaileyman

Golden Member
Aug 17, 2013
1,844
221
106
4 x 8 gig, the 3600 would run at 3466. 4 x 16 gig. I can only get to run@3000, but thats a 2990wx, a different animal.

So you are getting a 2950x, right ? I can't remember. Anyway, based on bios version, memory and what cpu and at what speed, I can't say what memory exactly. Guidlines
1) get the fastest you can afford
2) lower timings are almost important as speed.
3) Once you get it, start at 2666, test, then go up one step until its not dependable.
Yes, I have the 2950x in hand along with the Asrock Taichi motherboard and both are still factory sealed sitting on the floor in my living room still in there newegg boxes lol.
Cant do anything with them till my Noctua HSF gets here.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

Justinbaileyman

Golden Member
Aug 17, 2013
1,844
221
106
Got all my goodies now including a new case, went with the Cooler Master MasterBox Pro5 RGB.
Got it all put together and could not get the darn thing to boot off the dang linux live disk in the drive.
Watched all kinds of video's on youtube which all said to disable IOMMU which is what I did the second I booted into bios.
Turns out this is completely wrong and this caused all my issues!!
I turned it back on just as a last resort and whammo booted right up..
Now I am having an issue where the cpu keeps wanting to stay at 4Ghz.
Should I turn off PBO in the bios??
Can anyone with a Taichi mobo help with some bios settings please??
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,604
5,900
136
Got all my goodies now including a new case, went with the Cooler Master MasterBox Pro5 RGB.
Got it all put together and could not get the darn thing to boot off the dang linux live disk in the drive.
Watched all kinds of video's on youtube which all said to disable IOMMU which is what I did the second I booted into bios.
Turns out this is completely wrong and this caused all my issues!!
I turned it back on just as a last resort and whammo booted right up..
Now I am having an issue where the cpu keeps wanting to stay at 4Ghz.
Should I turn off PBO in the bios??
Can anyone with a Taichi mobo help with some bios settings please??
Never had that issue, sorry.
 

Justinbaileyman

Golden Member
Aug 17, 2013
1,844
221
106
It was Windows 10 it self giving me issues, but I got rid of windows altogether and just went all out linux and havent had an issue since except for a few packages not installing or not even showing up for that matter in software center even after adding and installing PPA's.
Fortunately I got around it by installing everything through the Terminal.
So far I am pretty happy with this new set up and the lickity split quickness of this new CPU!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: scannall

Atari2600

Senior member
Nov 22, 2016
915
941
106
Temperatures holding steady at these levels a month and a half later.

Took Enermax a bit of time to get there - but looking good from here.
Update to this;10 months later and I'm now doubting is running as well as it was.

Running 16C (no SMT) at 100% yields temperature of 68degC and throttling down to ~3.85 GHz.

Before this was at ~4.1 GHz

Will give the radiator a hoover shortly and hand test to check the radiator has broadly equivalent temperatures to the socket. But I've a dirty feeling its on the way out and will be getting replaced with that Silver Arrow I have on the shelf.


A further look around has also shown not much change in the cooling options since.

AIO:
Enermax - great performance initially, but unreliable.
Coolermaster - a crap adapted design that is very poor and not worth it.

Air:
Noctua - highly recommended by most in 140mm guise, less so in 120mm and not recommended too much in 92mm form.
WraithRipper - limited performance compared to better alternatives
SilverArrow - mixed bag, loud but good at cooling. I was intended to triple spool mine (and still have the fans) so hopefully can run at lower rpm.
BeQuiet - another good cooler, but not as good as the 140mm Noctua.

Any others?
 

dnavas

Senior member
Feb 25, 2017
260
102
86
Update to this;10 months later and I'm now doubting is running as well as it was.
Well, we've seen the insides of the V1 cooler, and Enermax changed a seal between V1 and V2. A freaking gasket. Reality check: a lot more than that is needed. I'm keeping a close eye on mine -- it's still passing a fair amount of heat, but....

I'm sure TR3 can launch successfully without a decent AIO cooler, but my god what a blessing it would be if someone built a decent all copper solution for this thing so that the non-plumbers among us can enjoy building a system....
 

Atari2600

Senior member
Nov 22, 2016
915
941
106
A gasket? Is that all?
I thought they would have revised their solution and put far better corrosion inhibitors into it.

Ugh. Yeah, if only someone stepped up and made a proper AIO for it. Enermax were halfway there - but I've lost trust in them now.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,604
5,900
136
I now have no enermax AIO's running. One brand new one I will save for some emergency. I also have a new Noctura 14 with an extra fan !
 

Justinbaileyman

Golden Member
Aug 17, 2013
1,844
221
106
Wonder when we are gonna get to see some pictures of the new next gen threadripper 3000 motherboards considering they are supposed to be released in less then a month??

Getting worried Threadripper 3000 and the x570/3950x are gonna get a paper launch in Nov and actually be pushed back for shelf release in Dec or early next year say Jan!!
 

Paratus

Lifer
Jun 4, 2004
13,200
4,827
146
I now have no enermax AIO's running. One brand new one I will save for some emergency. I also have a new Noctura 14 with an extra fan !
I’m still running a V2 Enermax for the last several months. Once it craps out I’ll probably give up and stick with the Noctua 14 I’ve got sitting around as a backup.

As an aside, when I checked the V1 Enermax I had sitting in my attic it had leaked all over its box just sitting there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

Atari2600

Senior member
Nov 22, 2016
915
941
106
As an aside, when I checked the V1 Enermax I had sitting in my attic it had leaked all over its box just sitting there.
Eeek - that gives me the hebbe-jebbes!

Should I rip mine out now, or wait for a time thats a little more convenient!
 

scannall

Golden Member
Jan 1, 2012
1,498
854
136
Eeek - that gives me the hebbe-jebbes!

Should I rip mine out now, or wait for a time thats a little more convenient!
If it were me I'd replace it ASAP. Something that is known to leak and fail has no business spewing its um goodness all over my expensive computer parts.
 
  • Haha
Reactions: lightmanek

lightmanek

Member
Feb 19, 2017
100
110
86
I'm running my V1 to the ground!
Over a year of use and still performing well! I will probably take it apart and change cooling liquid once I buy new Threadripper 3000 processor, but till then it better behave!
 

Paratus

Lifer
Jun 4, 2004
13,200
4,827
146
Ahahahah oh my. That's quality for you.
I’m on my 4th. :eek:
  • 1st was leaking from Newegg and RMA’d
  • 2nd started thermally throttling after about 6-8 months - replaced - now leaking in the attic
  • 3rd thermally throttling after another 6-8 months replaced and sent back to Enermax then burned down and fell over into the swamp.
  • 4th is a V2 that’s still running for last 4-6 months.


Oh and 1/4 of the fans have developed a rattle after about 6 months of use but since they keep sending me new one I’ve got plenty of spares.
 

Paratus

Lifer
Jun 4, 2004
13,200
4,827
146
Eeek - that gives me the hebbe-jebbes!

Should I rip mine out now, or wait for a time thats a little more convenient!
Mine have thermally throttled before leaking or leaked before install.

Do with that what you will.

When the Enermax is working my machine clocks higher (4.15GHz) and runs quieter than the Noctua. (Although the Noctua is still pretty good just a little louder and a little less clocks) so I’m leaving mine in for now.
 

Atari2600

Senior member
Nov 22, 2016
915
941
106
Yeah, well Im away for the weekend, so nothing will happen till Sunday night.

I think I'll put that SilverArrow on it - hopefully I can fit the two other fans in around my RAM so its triple-spooled... and then see what it does.

If it doesn't give me >= 4.1 on 16 threads*, then I'll consider going custom loop.

*with acceptable noise levels.
 

Atari2600

Senior member
Nov 22, 2016
915
941
106
I see techpowerup are carrying a story that X399 will not be compatible with TR3.


The upcoming 3rd generation Threadripper chips won't be backwards-compatible with the AMD X399 chipset, either.

Not quite sure I believe this. Not yet anyway.
 

Ajay

Diamond Member
Jan 8, 2001
5,670
1,652
136
I see techpowerup are carrying a story that X399 will not be compatible with TR3.


Not quite sure I believe this. Not yet anyway.
That would be a bit of a slap in the face of TR owner will a nice X399 board. That's not even 2 generation, even Intel support 2 generations for a particular socket and chipset. I don't believe it either, at least not for TRX-40 (the XXX-80 boards support 8 channel ram, and hence, may not be backwards compatible at all.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,277
554
126
TPU typically a reliable resource, so I'd say to not get your hopes up. At least if it ends up being true Mark will get to play with a new board.

I am totally content with 8-core Ryzen for my current needs, so this is purely HEDT porn for me anyway.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,604
5,900
136
TPU typically a reliable resource, so I'd say to not get your hopes up. At least if it ends up being true Mark will get to play with a new board.

I am totally content with 8-core Ryzen for my current needs, so this is purely HEDT porn for me anyway.
But having to totally replace 8 boards and CPUs ? this will not be cheap for me. I was hoping to only have to reple CPU's and dump the old ones for cheap.
 

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,277
554
126
Part of the hobby I'm afraid. Resale value be damned. I didn't figure you were all that worried about cost of adoption... looking at that signature anyway
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,604
5,900
136
Part of the hobby I'm afraid. Resale value be damned. I didn't figure you were all that worried about cost of adoption... looking at that signature anyway
Actually the hobby has turned to obsession. Now that cancer has taken a lot out of me, my hearing and balance included, I am obsessed with trying to help cure cancer. And for the most part, I can afford it.
 
Last edited:

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS