Threadripper BUILDERS thread

Page 74 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Aug 17, 2013
1,798
24
106
How about when its folding? This is one of the things I am worried about, is how much juice its gonna chew through when video encoding. Because when using handbrake or Kdenlive it slams all cores and puts them all to full load.If my 2950x at stock speeds dont go over 250w while encoding I will be crazy happy.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
No worries. One 2080TI and a 2950x will not even phase that motherboard or an 850 watt PSU. Unless you have 8 spinning hard drives or something.

Like I said 250+250+100 for everything else is only 600 watts.(and I am estimating high)

I have 5 Taichi's with 1950x's and all 5 have 2080TI video cards, and 3 of the 5 use 850 watt PSU's (quality) and they run at 32 threads@100% and the 2080TI@100% 24/7. No problems. The 2080TIs are doing F@H and the CPU's are doing BOINC, 30 threads on boinc (one cpu/2 threads for the video card)
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,034
146
106
I wholly recommend the X399 Taichi also, grabbed one last year when eBay had the % off coupons.

If you want some good memory, look at Crucial, they have quad channel 3200 kits for the X399 Taichi.

I am waiting to upgrade the 4x8 2666 sticks until TR3 comes out.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
OK all the other motherboards were gone, and I scored a $1200 2990wx including a heatkiller water block. So I got a
ASUS ROG Strix X399-E Gaming
For $212, 64 gig of ram, and a new case.
 

dlerious

Senior member
Mar 4, 2004
664
29
116
OK all the other motherboards were gone, and I scored a $1200 2990wx including a heatkiller water block. So I got a
ASUS ROG Strix X399-E Gaming
For $212, 64 gig of ram, and a new case.
Which Heatkiller block did you get? I'm in love with my full copper block )
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
Which Heatkiller block did you get? I'm in love with my full copper block )
He said its all pure copper and weighs like 2 lbs. I don't have it yet. I think heatkiller4 ?
 
Aug 17, 2013
1,798
24
106
I got everything ordered except for memory and a new case.
Not sure if I want to go RGB or not with the memory. Are there any known issues with using RGB kits on x399? I remember like a couple years ago people were complaining about firmware corruption which would cause RGB's to not function and ram would bug out, is that still a thing today?
Also what case did you go with Mark? I have been looking for a new case for going on like 2 months now.
Really thinking about a case that lays the motherboard horizontally so if the case gets bumped or something , the large Noctua NH-14s Tr4-Sp3 doesn't tear off my cpu socket or something horrible like that..
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
I got everything ordered except for memory and a new case.
Not sure if I want to go RGB or not with the memory. Are there any known issues with using RGB kits on x399? I remember like a couple years ago people were complaining about firmware corruption which would cause RGB's to not function and ram would bug out, is that still a thing today?
Also what case did you go with Mark? I have been looking for a new case for going on like 2 months now.
Really thinking about a case that lays the motherboard horizontally so if the case gets bumped or something , the large Noctua NH-14s Tr4-Sp3 doesn't tear off my cpu socket or something horrible like that..
Well, that socket is so big and well supported, I doubt you will have a problem. My favorite case so far is this one:
https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16811352055
But its not available, but since I gave up on watercooling (AIO) My last one was this, and it works fine:
https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16811133272

Well, I guess its not available at newegg either... There is always Amazon.

Oh, and I will NEVER get RGB memory, its just asking for trouble. For no trouble there are sever kits I like, all samsumgbdie. Here is one:
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232530
$145 and order 2 kits.
 

dlerious

Senior member
Mar 4, 2004
664
29
116
He said its all pure copper and weighs like 2 lbs. I don't have it yet. I think heatkiller4 ?
I'd be interested in the results. Heatkiller makes some good blocks - and crazy overkill rads (MO-RA3).
 

cellarnoise

Junior Member
Mar 22, 2017
17
2
51
I have tiachi, 1950x and 14us-tr4. Had it in a fractal r5, now a fractal r6-s2, better airflow and cooler temps, dI'd not need all the r5 drive bays. Now warmer weather and don't like overclocking much beyond 3.8 and stock volts. Quiet case.

All great parts, but run hot when pushed to max. Unless running multiple gpu can't see why 850w not enough for 16 core.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
I have tiachi, 1950x and 14us-tr4. Had it in a fractal r5, now a fractal r6-s2, better airflow and cooler temps, dI'd not need all the r5 drive bays. Now warmer weather and don't like overclocking much beyond 3.8 and stock volts. Quiet case.

All great parts, but run hot when pushed to max. Unless running multiple gpu can't see why 850w not enough for 16 core.
Well, until recently all my 1950x's ran 2 x 1080TI's and drew 700 watts from that wall. Now thry all have one 2080TI.

So you are right, with one video card they only need an 850. With 2, 1000-1200
 
Aug 17, 2013
1,798
24
106
Yeah i watched that this morning... I will have to get the dual tower one for my 3950x when the Threadripper 3000 series comes out.
As for the poster above "cellarnoise", I went with a EVGA 1000w psu just to be safe.
 
Aug 17, 2013
1,798
24
106
Errrrr, So mad right now!!
I got my brand new Asrock x399 Taichi motherboard from UPS a few mins ago and it came with the stupid Foxconn socket. :mad:
Are these still a problem these days and should I return it due to this or should I take a chance??
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
Well, I have 5 of the Taichi X399, and they have a foxconn socket. Whats the problem ?
 
Aug 17, 2013
1,798
24
106
Well there is an issue with the socket not locking down properly due to the screws not being able to thread into the hole properly. Lots of people are reporting having to used a tremendous amount of pressure to get the screws too thread and a few people have damaged there cpu's while doing this process.
I am very nervous given the fact of the price spent on said items.
Other then that the motherboard looks very impressive indeed!!
If you think those issues have been resolved or dont think I would have an issue then I will just give it go.

Edit: this seems like only an issue with the Foxconn socket and not at all with the Lotes socket.
 
Last edited:

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
Well there is an issue with the socket not locking down properly due to the screws not being able to thread into the hole properly. Lots of people are reporting having to used a tremendous amount of pressure to get the screws too thread and a few people have damaged there cpu's while doing this process.
I am very nervous given the fact of the price spent on said items.
Other then that the motherboard looks very impressive indeed!!
If you think those issues have been resolved or dont think I would have an issue then I will just give it go.

Edit: this seems like only an issue with the Foxconn socket and not at all with the Lotes socket.
I did have that problem a couple of times. What resolved the issue was to buy a screwdriver with the exact size of the one provided for torqueing.You also have more control that way. Once started, use the tool provided. Start them in the order 1,2,3. Then use the torque tool in the same order 1,2,3. Doing it this way you have to be very non-skilled to hurt anything.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
small update on my second 2990wx build. The system is now running in a temporary stage. With a GTX 2060 running F@H@100% (linux) and 62 threads of WCG, its only taking 300 watts out of the wall ! @ stock except memory@3066. I am impressed. And running 60c on the threadripper HSF !@100% load.
 
Aug 17, 2013
1,798
24
106
small update on my second 2990wx build. The system is now running in a temporary stage. With a GTX 2060 running F@H@100% (linux) and 62 threads of WCG, its only taking 300 watts out of the wall ! @ stock except memory@3066. I am impressed. And running 60c on the threadripper HSF !@100% load.
That is awesome!! what motherboard are you using and which threadripper HSF, the Wraithripper and on the Asus strix??
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
I believe he's using a Taichi and I think it's his Heatkiller water block.
This current temporary setup is using the ASUS ROG strix and using the wraithripper AIR HSF at stock. The OC'ed 2990wx will be on the MSI board that has 19 phase power, but still waiting on parts for that.

I have TWO 2990wx's. One on the MSI and one one the ASUS. I have a 2970wx on a Taichi, and 5 other 1950x's on Taichi's.

Gets confusing, sorry. And I switched video cards, this is a 1080TI FTW3, but I don;t have the power usage on this setup.

And when I say temporary,, I mean it, here it is crunching@100% load on top of my table with no case.
 
Last edited:

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
And BTW, I don't have any direct benchmarks yet, but 62c (it went up a little) and a 2990wx on air is great, and you should feel the heat coming out of that heatsink ! Its like a little hairdryer !
 
Aug 17, 2013
1,798
24
106
I will be up and running first thing monday morning, Just waiting for my Noctua NH-U14s TR4 Cooler to arrive that day.
Mark, I know you provided links for memory for me, but I have a set of 4x8gb 3200 I will be using temporarily till I can get some faster stuff just so I can get up and running.
Plus I still have a few questions before I go all out and spend another $400 or $500.
So firstly what is the fastest ram I can use in a 4x16gb configuration on the Taichi?
I swear I read somewhere you had a set of 3600? were you able to get them to run at that speed? Or am I gonna be stuck with 3200 speeds?
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,780
1,395
136
I will be up and running first thing monday morning, Just waiting for my Noctua NH-U14s TR4 Cooler to arrive that day.
Mark, I know you provided links for memory for me, but I have a set of 4x8gb 3200 I will be using temporarily till I can get some faster stuff just so I can get up and running.
Plus I still have a few questions before I go all out and spend another $400 or $500.
So firstly what is the fastest ram I can use in a 4x16gb configuration on the Taichi?
I swear I read somewhere you had a set of 3600? were you able to get them to run at that speed? Or am I gonna be stuck with 3200 speeds?
4 x 8 gig, the 3600 would run at 3466. 4 x 16 gig. I can only get to run@3000, but thats a 2990wx, a different animal.

So you are getting a 2950x, right ? I can't remember. Anyway, based on bios version, memory and what cpu and at what speed, I can't say what memory exactly. Guidlines
1) get the fastest you can afford
2) lower timings are almost important as speed.
3) Once you get it, start at 2666, test, then go up one step until its not dependable.
 


ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS