Reset Dell Bios Password?

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by ark42, May 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ark42

    ark42 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes, I tried, and people keep suggesting it without reading the topic. I even said I tried in the first post. It does not work. The password is stored in NVRAM, not in the regular CMOS settings.
     
  2. serpretetsky

    serpretetsky Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    this sounds strange, but if its a modern laptop, it probably has AHCI mode turned on the SATA port. AHCI supports hot swapping hard drives. You can try to boot to the cd, and after booting plug in the drive and continue the setup, it might work.

    Good luck, i had an IBM i had to remove the password for. When i first got the IBM i thought i would simply reset the battery, I did not know what i was getting myself into. A couple of resisters, a diode, a DB9 serial port, a crap soldering job, and some alligator clips attached to a strange little chip on the IBM mobo and i finally got the password reset. :/. Not really sure the final product was even worth it, fun experience though.
     
  3. imagoon

    imagoon Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    The issue you are having is why all of my office laptops I deployed go out with a "office approved BIOS password." Quite a few of the D / E series laptops started using NVRAM to store the passwords (along with a sector of the HDD.) The laptop that was locked needed to be sent back to Dell. It came back with a different motherboard. Further reading indicated that there was an NVRAM chip that has to be replaced with another that has the proper code in it or the laptop will refuse to post. Can't cheat and plug a blank one in. If you can find a scrapped board you can left the 8pin chip and solder it in place.
     
  4. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,323
    Likes Received:
    71
    First time reading this thread, and I have a question I didn't see answered yet. How is there not an option to select boot device (F12 usually)? Every computer I've seen in the past several years has an option to go to the boot device menu without triggering the bios password.

    Since you said it starts to load windows, this sounds like a normal bios password, and not a user password.

    I have heard people say if the registered owner of the laptop calls Dell support, they can get a "master password." There is a form on their website if you need to transfer the ownership to do it yourself.
     
  5. imagoon

    imagoon Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the laptops I worked with you could choose which devices didn't need a password to boot to. Default was "all require password." For the E and D series, there didn't seem to be a master password, they always made us replace the motherboard.
     
  6. ark42

    ark42 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    I mentioned in the original post that F12 requires a password. It's the same as pressing F2, you get nowhere until you enter the password.
     
  7. Ketchup

    Ketchup Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    13,323
    Likes Received:
    71
    Do you have any more details on the call to dell? I am really surprised that didn't work. May take a more forceful person to make the call.
     
  8. xennotech

    xennotech Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i called dell today because a user brought me a laptop that was locked out. i managed to get the tech to generate a password for me, but it did not work.

    im at my wits end and really dont want to spend anymore time on this issue.

    for reference, ive downloaded and tried every took i could find here, and in other places.

    laptop is a vostro 1700. the password the dell tech generated for me was the same i had gotten off numerous websites:

    19.09.2012 20:20 DELL service tag: 5B4KRD1-595B password: 4b8es436

    since this is an 07 laptop, im praying there is a CMOS jumper somewhere i can pull, but really, REALLY dont want to take this big thing apart. any help is appreciated.
     
  9. Matt1970

    Matt1970 Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    12,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    I highly doubt you will find a CMOS jumper thast will erase that passowrd. There are CMOS crack programs out there but the ones I have seen boot off a cd and I cannot attest to their effectiveness.
     
  10. Godfarva

    Godfarva Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ ARK42

    I might be able to help.

    If i am understanding you correctly you power up the laptop and finishes POST and you get this screen that says "This computer system, #XXXXXXX-595B, is protected by a password authentication system. You cannot access the data
    on this computer without the correct password." Correct? if so make sure that the numbers are 595b at the end. if it is all I need is the service tag and I have a dell utility that gives that admin password.
     
  11. jsalpha2

    jsalpha2 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try this 2eg8qrm4
    It may ask for something else, I can't remember. I had one like this a few months ago.
    Once I unlocked the bios password, I think it asked for a hard drive password.
    Send me a PM if you need more help.
     
  12. Evander

    Evander Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some BIOS have a BIOS recovery mode, activated by a certain key combination, in case of a bad flash. I have a 2007 ACER laptop w/ Phoenix BIOS that can boot (while holding down keys) from a USB floppy and reflash the BIOS, even if you can't boot into the BIOS (this feature is not publicly documented). Maybe your Dell has a similar feature
     
  13. Tetrarch

    Tetrarch Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    After updating your BIOS, have you tried generated password again?
     
  14. Tetrarch

    Tetrarch Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the exact same problem and tried all the usual steps. Eventually I used a paid service (€10) which provided two different passwords which are dependent on your BIOS version.
    I'm not sure if I can provide a weblink to a commercial service or PM it, can someone advise?
     
  15. MinimalOwl

    MinimalOwl Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you could PM me it'd be appreciated.
     
  16. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    5
    It won't matter - flashing the BIOS does not reset the password BIOS or boot menu passwords. Ironically, it is a security feature meant to prevent somebody from doing exactly what you are trying to do, i.e. reset the password by flashing the BIOS.
     
  17. onlyhonda84

    onlyhonda84 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    dell is trying to charge me 100 because my password went corrupt somehow I have it written down and it dose not work can you please help me

     
  18. Bump Boyz

    Bump Boyz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Dell Inspirion 600m Laptop it powers up only to the page that reads system# JPP4G61-595B and need a primary or administration password. I have tried several with no luck please help.....
     
  19. denis280

    denis280 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    5
    you should start a new thread about it.this thread is old
     
  20. Arkaign

    Arkaign Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,305
    Likes Received:
    1
    Your password is :

    om7l1y9f

    That is OM7L1Y9F, but all lower case. (that first digit is the letter O, not a number zero)

    Once you get into Bios, you have to do this :

    First, hit the 'unlock' button near the center bottom of the screen. It will prompt you to re-enter that same password, argh.

    Next, enter the 'security' section of bios. Go to the top listing, and enter the password above in the 'current' or 'old' password field at the top. In the next two fields you can enter and confirm a new password if you choose. I recommend NOT entering one, they are a pain in the neck.

    EDIT : If anyone else sees this and wants help, I'll give it a shot, just PM me. I'll probably rarely if ever check this old thread again. I just came across it because I recently ran through some similar problems, and it's not the most intuitive process defeating these things. There are also a ton of bogus programs or ineffective apps/tools out there that do not work against dell system passwords.
     
    #45 Arkaign, Aug 23, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
  21. luvbug66

    luvbug66 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Arkaign, can you help with a password please. Can't PM not been a member long enough.

    Picked up a cheap inspiron 1501 at a car boot sale, turns out its passworded. (had to be a catch I guess) I was hoping to give it to my neighbours kid. Can you help please?

    service tag h6dko3j

    many thanks
     
  22. Arkaign

    Arkaign Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,305
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, can you post a picture of the screen when it turns on?

    That particular unit may be older than my tool can gen a password for, but there are other options :

    http://dogber1.blogspot.com/2009/05/table-of-reverse-engineered-bios.html

    What I would need to utilize my tool is the suffix to that service tag, which indicates the BIOS code. Eg : H6DKO3K-D35B or other 4-character suffix. Without that, I can't use the tool I have. If the cursory info I have on the 1501 is correct, we will need a completely different tool, as this is a 5-digit PWD.
     
  23. Arkaign

    Arkaign Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,305
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh and welcome to AT, please stick around and contribute to our forums :)
     
  24. Arkaign

    Arkaign Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,305
    Likes Received:
    1
    [​IMG]

    ^^ See that complete service tag where the red arrow is pointing? I can't do the pwd recovery without that complete number.
     
  25. luvbug66

    luvbug66 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Thanks for getting back to me.

    The screen just asks for a password no further info. if I try and get to the bios it also just asks for password.

    This is the info from the back of the machine

    model. PP23LA

    service tag H6DK03J

    express service code 373-908-650-23

    Many thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.