Official: Windows 8 Release Preview Now Out

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by ViRGE, May 31, 2012.

  1. gmaster456

    gmaster456 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    The issue with running it on most netbooks is that their resolution is too low for the minimum requirement for Win8.
     
  2. dagamer34

    dagamer34 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.pisymphony.com/toothpick/toothpick13.jpg

    That'll be $100!
     
  3. KeypoX

    KeypoX Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,655
    Likes Received:
    0
    well multimonitor support is much better with metro now. You can have main monitor as desktop and drag metro to secondary and it will stay there. But still cannot have the start on secondary while working on primary, you must be in an app for that to work. Treat start like an app.

    Metro has some bugs still, mouse scrolling is bugging in 3rd party apps. But its ok, doesn't really need to be full screen. Live titles need work.

    Overall improved but im still not sold on the full screen metro yet... I will probably upgrade though, the desktop experience is about the same with some improvements.
     
  4. Ichinisan

    Ichinisan Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    24,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    Even though my POST / bootloader info appears on my computer LCD, the computer boots-up to a blank screen and Windows loads on my TV. I have to switch sources to set my monitor as the primary display. Even then, the "Devices" option in the side menu refers to the monitor as the "second display" and the TV as the "main display." It seems there's no way to change it without reinstalling Windows while the TV is disconnected.

    Ugh.
     
  5. Ichinisan

    Ichinisan Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    24,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    Windows 8 did something to ruin my Media Center HTPC. I'm not sure exactly what it did. Something to do w/ the Windows 8 EFI boot loader.

    I already had Windows 8 Customer Preview running and it has had serious reliability issues with Media Center (spontaneous crashes that didn't happen when I was using Win7, can't search the guide, etc). Most of the recorded TV content is DRM-protected and encrypted such that it can only be viewed by the Windows installation that created it. I decided that I would shrink the partition and install Windows 8 Release Preview to the second partition. That way, I could still go back to the old CP install and watch / delete the TV content. To make sure it would work, I tested with a 120GB SSD attached to my desktop computer...which already had a CP install. I shrunk the partition using Windows' built-in Disk Management utility, booted the Win8 RP disc, and selected the unallocated space for the install. It installed fine and there's a new-style graphical bootloader that allows me to pick the old CP install or the new RP install. Both installs would boot-up fine.

    I went back to the HTPC and attempted to do the same thing. At first, it made me wait a long time before telling me that it couldn't shrink the partition (after telling me that it could). After a couple more attempts it finally allowed it.

    Win8 RP booted-up fine initially. I don't remember what I did immediately after boot-up. I think I activated Windows and then went tried the "Add features" option with the Media Center product key that Microsoft provided for Win8 RP. It had to reboot to finish installing Media Center and ended-up on a black screen with a flashing cursor, which would not go away. I had to leave for work. When I got home, I still couldn't get past the black screen with the blinking cursor. My E35M1-M Pro BIOS showed my optical drive about 4 times, and some were labeled "EFI." A "Windows Boot Manager" also appeared as a device in my boot priority (?!?). I remember trying different boot devices, and I think I was able to boot Win8 RP at some point, but not reliably. As many times as I tried reinstalling yesterday / this morning, I can hardly remember anything. In any case, I ended-up reinstalling and deleting all partitions from the hard drive. On subsequent installs, Win8 RP refused to activate. I had to enter "SLUI 4" in the Run menu and call the phone number to activate through the automated phone system (huge pain in the ass). Even after doing that, it would de-activate after installing Media Center and I'd have to do it again. Then, Media Center requires me to activate digital cable support and it refuses to activate.

    I reinstalled Win8 RP many times last night, deleting all partitions each time. Still, I keep getting stuck on a black screen w/ a blinking cursor upon rebooting sometime after the install. There doesn't seem to be a way to delete the "EFI Windows Boot Manager" that now appears in my boot sequence.

    I tried going back to Windows 7 and installed some updates. Even Windows 7 can't activate digital cable support. Tried to reboot it this morning and it won't boot up.

    It seems that this "EFI Windows Boot Manager" has completely ruined my HTPC and I can't even get Win7 to work correctly now.

    I ran out of time, but I'll need to try re-flashing the BIOS or something to see if that gets rid of the Windows Boot Manager...and maybe then I can use the system again.


    ...and I used 64-bit install discs in all cases.
     
    #105 Ichinisan, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2012
  6. Gonad the Barbarian

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 1999
    Messages:
    10,497
    Likes Received:
    2
  7. Ichinisan

    Ichinisan Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    24,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    Can't. The problem now prevents me from booting to the same disc I just used to do the last attempted install.

    I select the optical drive and I get a screen with a flashing cursor...forever.

    [edit]
    That was strange. It won't boot when I pick the ODD, unless I pick the entry where the same drive is prefixed by "EFI."

    Then I got the "press any key to boot to..." screen TWICE.
     
  8. gizbug

    gizbug Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    so who runs this as their main OS?
     
  9. Ichinisan

    Ichinisan Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    24,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    Tried to use the CP as the main OS on my HTPC. Was unstable. Now, the RP seems to have trashed it the computer through firmware/EFI shenanigans; unless I can find a way to make it forget this EFI stuff. I might have to install a 32-bit version to work-around it. :(
     
  10. Ichinisan

    Ichinisan Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    24,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    ...and, even when I get the disc to boot by picking the "EFI [TSST...]" device, it does a bunch of things and gets to the point where it's supposed to reboot. Then it does this:
    [​IMG]
    (clickable thumbnail)

    ...this is with my Windows 7 64-bit disc, which allowed me to install last night and simply couldn't activate digital cable support.
     
    #110 Ichinisan, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  11. happysmiles

    happysmiles Senior member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would if my netbook wasn't 1024x600.
    I can push it to 1024x768 but it looks ridiculous and if I live in desktop I might aswell stay with win 7
     
  12. Continuity28

    Continuity28 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried it. Discounting some driver instability, it seemed fairly solid... when using the classic desktop interface. I just wish they offered the OPTION to have the Windows 7 under-the-hood improvements, stripping out Metro.

    The library of software available for the desktop is Microsoft's main selling point with Windows. What concerns me the most is their apparent desire to shift away from all that was established, calling it depreciated, and moving towards Metro which is not built with the same goals in mind. Yes, I'm aware that Windows 8 is compatible with "legacy" applications. But what about Windows 9? After? Microsoft seems to be discouraging development of those applications and games. Are we going to have to deal with issues like accounting for touchscreens and tablet hardware/software limitations for all future desktop applications? Are we going to eventually have to resort to running Windows 7/8 or emulation to run any now-current games or other software? Is Metro even capable of having complex games and other software like we are used to?

    I'll be honest here. The only thing holding me to Windows right now is video game support. Everything else I could do just fine on Linux.
     
  13. ViRGE

    ViRGE Elite Member, Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    31,164
    Likes Received:
    29
    If they allowed you to not use Metro, no one would use Metro. And then they wouldn't be able to leverage Windows to get developers on-board for Metro and WinRT tablets.
     
    #113 ViRGE, Jun 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  14. happysmiles

    happysmiles Senior member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only now after seeing Computex does that make sense to me. it's all in for Microsoft.
     
  15. gmaster456

    gmaster456 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,877
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. Binky

    Binky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    1
    Your gigantic and slow-loading picture is breaking the whole thread....
     
  17. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    28,073
    Likes Received:
    45
    Many business are planning in the last year to move from XP to Win 7. Businesses are Not Enthusiasts that jump every other week from one Gimick/Gizmo according to the current Fashion.

    It takes time and money to move a Medium and large IT systems and the decision to go with Win 7 is Not going to be changed.

    The future move of Businesses will probably follow the skip pattern, then in few years they will move to what be "Win 9".

    Thus it is actually a good idea to introduce Metro with Win 8, by the time that Win 9 would come users will be Ready to the change on the Business level too.

    For the regular Jack and Jill that mainly do FaceBook, Surf, Netflix, Skype, etc., Win 8 would be probably better than Win 7.

    That leaves out the "poor" enthusiasts who typically suffer from Strategic Myopia that usually leads to the general excessive complains syndrome. Well for them there is Therapy, unfortunately if it Not supported by Insurance, it is over $100 an Hour. :'( - :colbert: - :rolleyes: - :oops: - :eek:.


    :cool:
     
    #117 JackMDS, Jun 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  18. Ichinisan

    Ichinisan Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    24,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    It's a cell phone pic (iPhone 4). I'll make a thumbnail that loads the full version...

    [edit]
    Done.
     
    #118 Ichinisan, Jun 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  19. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36,455
    Likes Received:
    910
    I got that error screen after attemping to boot a Live Win8 CP USB stick (32GB), on a new machine.
     
  20. Continuity28

    Continuity28 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are asking me, a desktop user, to pay for their future in tablet sales while also telling me that my days are numbered when they remove support for "legacy" applications on the desktop in a future Windows version.
     
  21. VivienM

    VivienM Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. Welll, more importantly, what they're asking is for you to be counted as a Metro user. They are desperate to look like they're catching up to Apple's 80M+ tablet installed base.

    (Though I don't think they'll actually be stupid enough to pull the plug on the 'legacy desktop' in Win9/10, or in fact, ever. They're not Apple, killing off classic apps, then PPC, etc.)
     
  22. Dominato3r

    Dominato3r Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,114
    Likes Received:
    1
  23. Ichinisan

    Ichinisan Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    24,439
    Likes Received:
    210
  24. Dominato3r

    Dominato3r Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry, tend to shortcut a lot on my phone. Pretty much Visual Studio Express will allow for desktop development, something Microsoft said it wouldn't.
     
  25. Zaap

    Zaap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6,380
    Likes Received:
    167
    LOL. Apple builds a walled garden around iOS so Microsoft decides to go one better and build a Berlin Wall around Metro.

    Now that's progress!