kellyoh

Apr 15, 2019
Hi guys. I stumbled across this website via a Google search in desperate search to understand and formulate a backup system for my work drives.

If anyone could help me in layman terms, that would be much appreciated. I am not much of a computer geek, however I do understand the necessity to learn how to establish a proper working set up and have backups. I work in marketing, in a company surrounded by people very much not in marketing and very much not computer geeks either. So I kinda need to strike out on my own and learn the lines on this and set myself up so I don't experience the "failure without backup" horror story I've heard from so many others.

It seems to me that people who worked here before me seem to know a lot more about this stuff, but now I have a set of what seems to be 2 external drives, and an "IcyDock" that has 4 bays for hard drives, and 3 in use. They seem to be very inconsistent in their setup, and I suspect it was set up by someone who pretended to know a lot, but didn't.

I do photography and designing, so I have an external Seagate drive for photo storage, and external LaCie Quadra drive for design documents and "links", including a Shutterstock Library.

In the IcyDock, I have 3 hard drives (I think they are called SATA drives): 1 is an old backup drive from my old computer -- don't need this. Another states "Untitled" and is supposed to be a backup drive, but is definitely not from my understanding, and the third doesn't seem to be readable except on occasion, and it's old backups from my previous iMac.

What I want to accomplish is:

1.) Maintain separate storage units for types of media (Photos / Design Storage / Current Projects)

2.) Consolidate the storage unit into a single body, so my desk isn't cluttered

3.) Have all data in both drives being backed up

4.) Have all data in my iMac Pro being regularly backed up

Could someone help me with a step-by-step instruction guide in layman terms? Lol.

Thank you.