• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Intel Skylake / Kaby Lake

Page 168 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

ithehappy

Senior member
Oct 13, 2013
535
3
81
Guys I have not been in the news for over a month, and just few hours back I noticed that 6700k is released and all that, I understand its Skylake, but its 4 cores, is there any Hexa core lineup which is already launched like 6700k?

Sorry for asking this stupid question, but as I said, I have been out of the tech-reading world for quite a while :p
 

Ajay

Diamond Member
Jan 8, 2001
7,938
2,978
136
That's really not what I was attempting to speak to.

There is a whole ecosystem that must reach mature levels of capability, it is a level of complexity that I suppose is only understood by folks who have experienced firsthand what it takes, say for example, to make a change in 200->300mm wafer-size transition manifest at the fab level. (just guessing, grasping at straws as to why things aren't obvious to others which are obvious to me as writing on the wall)

Anyways, this is the stuff I have little energy or desire to tango with rangos over. I stated my quandary in a post way above, but truly only BK can answer my question, so I should probably just bide my time and ask the guy when it comes to pass. Some things just don't translate well by text in a forum post :| If I ever get my answer then I will be sure to post it here. Until then, nevermind the old geezer in the corner, carry on! :p
I get it. But I think most people here don't have the time or inclination to look up things like pellicles and find why they are important and why EUV means they must change and how that changes inspection, etc. I suppose people think the light source is more of less just a drop in component, where, in reality, that change requires a vast array of changes that cascade through the whole lithography chain. Maybe it's because EUV is such a large departure from 193 nm DUV that folks aren't understanding that "this changes everything".
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
16,787
5,770
136
Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this but I just built myself a new skylake pc and I am having various issues with it and hope that someone can help me determine the cause.
If you want to hash it out here, people can try to fix it for you, but you would do better to start your own thread. This thread is long and there are a lot of parallel conversations going on that will distract from your inquiry.

Try in Memory and Storage, General Hardware, or Computer Help.
 

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
50,113
5,883
126

steve wilson

Senior member
Sep 18, 2004
839
0
76
Something I've noticed with games that used to nearly max out 4 cores on my i5-750 is now they barely seem to go above 13% CPU usage. I use Rivatuner Statistics Server to send graphs of various performance readings to my keyboard's LCD so I can see it during gameplay.

It does occasionally go higher as if another core comes in to use but for the most part it seems to be doing all this on one core. What do Haswell users get during Witcher 3 and Arkham Knight?
Did you get around to overclocking your rig yet? If so what were the results?
 

ShintaiDK

Lifer
Apr 22, 2012
20,395
128
106
Interesting. I like! Hopefully the pricing on these things is more akin to ITX boards, than NUCs. The NUCs are somewhat overpriced, IMHO.

Is that a standard SKL socket? (I hope?)

I guess the fact that they have T-series Core quad-cores at 35W is what is enabling this form-factor.
Its a standard LGA1151 socket yes.

This is the trend where the world is going.
 

Sweepr

Diamond Member
May 12, 2006
5,151
1,128
131
More Skylake notebooks listed: Dell XPS 13, Inspiron 13 7000, Alienware 13 and Asus Zenbook UX303UB will pack Core i7-6500U.





http://notebookitalia.it/dell-xps-13-inspiron-13-7000-alienware-13-core-i7-6500u-skylake-22219
http://hardware.hdblog.it/2015/08/24/Dell-XPS-13-CPU-Intel-Skylake
http://notebookitalia.it/asus-zenbook-ux303ub-skylake-nvidia-geforce-940m-22216
http://hardware.hdblog.it/2015/08/24/Asus-Zenbook-UX303UB-Skylake-GPU-GT-940M

September launch after IFA 2015?
Related news, Lenovo will use Skylake-U Core i3/i5/i7 in their Yoga 900 line (Yoga 3 Pro refresh).



http://hardware.hdblog.it/2015/08/24/Lenovo-abbandona-Core-M-Yoga-900

Some HD Graphics 530 results @ Dota 2:



www.jagatreview.com/2015/08/uji-performa-dota-2-di-vga-intel-hd-graphics-530-skylake/4

>50% improvement.
 
Last edited:

twiggybuffalo

Junior Member
Aug 23, 2015
2
0
0
thanks for the replies guys. I ran a the windows memory diagnostics and it found nothing. I am using integrated graphics and I will take it back to supplier tomorrow for further testing (y) great forum btw.
 

yenclas

Junior Member
Aug 15, 2015
1
0
6
Hi,

I'm thinking to buy an 6700k with Asus Maximus Hero viii with an sli of 970 and a samsung ssd m2 pcie sm951.

Any problem with lanes to run ssd m2 at max speed ?

Thank you very much and sorry by my bad English
 
Mar 10, 2006
11,719
2,003
126
Hi,

I'm thinking to buy an 6700k with Asus Maximus Hero viii with an sli of 970 and a samsung ssd m2 pcie sm951.

Any problem with lanes to run ssd m2 at max speed ?

Thank you very much and sorry by my bad English
You should be fine. AFAIK, the M.2 SSD would use PCIe lanes on the chipset (and Z170 has a bunch of them).
 

ShintaiDK

Lifer
Apr 22, 2012
20,395
128
106
There isnt any problem as such. the 970 SLi will run of the CPU x16 only.

But the SM951 will run via the DMI 3.0 interface thats shared with USB etc. But as such you pretty much get full speed.

 

dark zero

Platinum Member
Jun 2, 2015
2,543
100
106
RIP APU and nVIDIA GT 740... Intel iGPU ONLY on GT2 is so strong.. That on GT4 would easily match GTX 750. So Kabylake could match GTX950 if the improvement is over 50%
 

kimmel

Senior member
Mar 28, 2013
248
0
41
That's really not what I was attempting to speak to.

There is a whole ecosystem that must reach mature levels of capability, it is a level of complexity that I suppose is only understood by folks who have experienced firsthand what it takes, say for example, to make a change in 200->300mm wafer-size transition manifest at the fab level. (just guessing, grasping at straws as to why things aren't obvious to others which are obvious to me as writing on the wall)

Anyways, this is the stuff I have little energy or desire to tango with rangos over. I stated my quandary in a post way above, but truly only BK can answer my question, so I should probably just bide my time and ask the guy when it comes to pass. Some things just don't translate well by text in a forum post :| If I ever get my answer then I will be sure to post it here. Until then, nevermind the old geezer in the corner, carry on! :p
The thing is Kryzanich is a fab guy more than anything. If he thinks that he can meet his manufacturing goals without making it public then I would likely believe him. I am familiar with what goes into many of these transitions, though I'm sure not to the level you are.
 

CakeMonster

Senior member
Nov 22, 2012
993
79
91
My 6700K and Gigabyte Z170-UD3 is here, so I'll see if I can get it running today between all the work I should rather be doing.
 

Deders

Platinum Member
Oct 14, 2012
2,401
1
91
Did you get around to overclocking your rig yet? If so what were the results?
Have just received the fan filter to cover my top intake fan to blow cool air directly in front of the Noctua NH-D15 so I can keep it all dust free before I ramp it up.

So far it has tested well for 8 hours of x264 stability tester @4600 at 1.4v, 70c. I expect I can go higher or lower the voltage more, will test 4.7 and 4.8 later.
 

firewolfsm

Golden Member
Oct 16, 2005
1,836
17
81
As for the Asus, I don't imagine that a 940m is that much faster than the new hd graphics, and the only significant benefit I see with that laptop over say the Yoga Pro is DX12's multiadapter mode. Do games specifically have to include that feature or will all DX12 games allow it? What about older DX11 games?
 

throwa

Member
Aug 23, 2015
59
0
0
I'm tired of the word "launched" and I'm sure Im not alone.

Does anyone know when Skylake laptops will actually be AVAILABLE, as in ready to buy off of Amazon or Newegg? I really don't like the way these various companies throw the word "launched" around, it is misleading. When they say "launched" the actual product doesn't show up for another 4-8 weeks - its annoying.

My Ivy bridge 3110m is starting to show it's age, I think if a cheapy/affordable Skylake laptop comes along I'll seriously consider dropping some money and upgrading.
 

Phynaz

Lifer
Mar 13, 2006
10,143
816
126
You know manufacturers have to design and build laptops? How does Intel control that?
 

ClockHound

Golden Member
Nov 27, 2007
1,108
213
106
You know manufacturers have to design and build laptops? How does Intel control that?
They supply a sufficient supply of chips before the launch date so the launch is actually a launch not an exercise in future computing PR propaganda.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY