Intel Comet Lake Thread

Page 29 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

RetroZombie

Senior member
Nov 5, 2019
410
297
96
[*] => some programs won't use more than one core. End of story.
Had to deal with multi socket systems many years ago, so i have to deal with multi threading before multicore cpus were a thing.
When that occurred (with almost all the software in the early days) i just run multi instances of the same software assigned to different cpu cores, not that difficult.

OS scheduler doesn't make programs run parallel. It merely assigns software threads to CPU threads.
Yes obvious, but the background services, av, and scheduled tasks all hit the cpu, and having the scheduler correctly spreading the workload to different cpu cores is essential, you get a much responsive system.
 

killster1

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
5,225
227
106
You want 10 mbit@home ? The cheapest 10mbit switch I saw on newegg was $544. go for it.
I like how you don't admit you were wrong about 1200$ internet and next focus on 10mbit routers. We all spend 2_300$ on routers. I am eyeing the new asus 500$ router but waiting a little bit to see its competition. 500 isn't alot for a switch when u have a use for it. I am excited also to see reviews on this cpu, its only a joke if u make it one we all don't feel the same
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,137
7,637
136
I like how you don't admit you were wrong about 1200$ internet and next focus on 10mbit routers. We all spend 2_300$ on routers. I am eyeing the new asus 500$ router but waiting a little bit to see its competition. 500 isn't alot for a switch when u have a use for it. I am excited also to see reviews on this cpu, its only a joke if u make it one we all don't feel the same
I got that from someone here, another poster. Ten DrMrLordx showed his companies cheapo plan, I just figured I would drop it. But of course you have to call me out on it.

And I love how you keep going more off-topic.
 

killster1

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
5,225
227
106
I got that from someone here, another poster. Ten DrMrLordx showed his companies cheapo plan, I just figured I would drop it. But of course you have to call me out on it.

And I love how you keep going more off-topic.
You are the one talking about 10mbit routers! I know u hate to be wrong and can't admit it ever. I'm excited about every release of every piece of hardware and can't wait to see reviews from anandtech. More than one person said 1gb is less than 1200 its 100ish most big cities nowadays we are not in the year 2000 anymore

I am going to politely ask you and others to stay on the thread topic.

Iron Woode

Super Moderator
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
15,494
4,281
136
@killster1

Some folks still have horrific regional availability of broadband. For those folks, 2.5Gbps Ethernet ports being ubiquitous is not necessarily a killer feature (except: NAS, or similar).
 

AtenRa

Lifer
Feb 2, 2009
13,303
2,114
126
Well transferring files from one PC to another (for or to the Laptop for example) in a home or office local network will also benefit with a 2.5GBps Ethernet
 

Falkentyne

Junior Member
May 3, 2010
5
2
81

Baidu leaker was able to get 5.4@1.35V for all 10 cores.
-20c chiller. Sub ambient cooling.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

Falkentyne

Junior Member
May 3, 2010
5
2
81

Baidu leaker was able to get 5.4@1.35V for all 10 cores.
Hmm, didn't see any temp monitoring app in screen shots. Too bad; I wonder what peak temps were.
The original post on baidu was here.
(despite videocardz saying it was deleted--it never was).
If you translate it you'll see the -20C chiller.

 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,137
7,637
136
A -20c chiller. I wonder how far it will go on air....Doesn't speak well for the CPU. (so far)
 

killster1

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
5,225
227
106
Getting my stimulus on the 13th, i am almost damn tempted to turn this computer into a pure folder and MAYBE try out that 10700k for a pure gaming box/secondary folder. Will have to see how it looks when reviews come out. When are the reviews by the way? Is there a date yet?
may 20th is the word on teh street :p
 
  • Haha
Reactions: DisEnchantment

randomhero

Member
Apr 28, 2020
52
71
46
Getting my stimulus on the 13th, i am almost damn tempted to turn this computer into a pure folder and MAYBE try out that 10700k for a pure gaming box/secondary folder. Will have to see how it looks when reviews come out. When are the reviews by the way? Is there a date yet?
Why would you do that? I mean it is your money and all, don't get me wrong.
For same money you could buy another 3900x system.
10700k=9900k,so you will not need to wait for reviews. If you think that you will miss those last 5-15% on 1080p with 2080ti,then go for it by all means.
 
  • Like
Reactions: spursindonesia

mopardude87

Platinum Member
Oct 22, 2018
2,013
707
96
Why would you do that? I mean it is your money and all, don't get me wrong.
For same money you could buy another 3900x system.
10700k=9900k,so you will not need to wait for reviews. If you think that you will miss those last 5-15% on 1080p with 2080ti,then go for it by all means.
I did say i was tempted,but not sold :) Yeah i had other plans and it wasn't another system. Maybe end of year there will be a successor for gaming and i could build off that next year.
 

Magic Carpet

Diamond Member
Oct 2, 2011
3,201
42
91
Can't wait to see performance per watt benches from the Comet Lake S range. Looking at the increased TDPs I am not holding my breath though. All I want is 8 cores with sub 100w power consumption fully loaded. Am I dreaming?
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
15,494
4,281
136
All I want is 8 cores with sub 100w power consumption fully loaded. Am I dreaming?
You can do that today with a 9900k. You just have to tweak the UEFI to enforce 95W TDP/cTDP. The 10700 is listed as 65W TDP, but there's no telling where its PL1 and PL2 values sit or what it's going to do in a release motherboard. It lists all-core boost as 4.6 GHz. I don't think a 14nm Skylake derivative will sit there below 100W but I could be wrong.
 

uzzi38

Senior member
Oct 16, 2019
742
842
96
You can do that today with a 9900k. You just have to tweak the UEFI to enforce 95W TDP/cTDP. The 10700 is listed as 65W TDP, but there's no telling where its PL1 and PL2 values sit or what it's going to do in a release motherboard. It lists all-core boost as 4.6 GHz. I don't think a 14nm Skylake derivative will sit there below 100W but I could be wrong.
Depends completely on the motherboard it's placed into, and the PL1&PL2 enforced on it there. Officially all of them should under long term workloads, but that depends entirely on if the motherboard runs the chip in-spec or not.

If you want 8 cores that you can run fully loaded within a 100W, you buy desktop Renoir or a 3700X. You still won't get the absolute best they can offer in multi-core performance within their 88W PPT limits, but they can get within 5%. Heck, even a 3950X will only lose 10-15% if you enforce Eco-Mode, reducing PPT from 142W to 88W, and that has 2x the core count.

Intel still have gains to make in the power consumption department, though that's one of the things we might be able to look forwards to in Tiger Lake if what's rumoured is true.
 

mopardude87

Platinum Member
Oct 22, 2018
2,013
707
96
Heck, even a 3950X will only lose 10-15% if you enforce Eco-Mode, reducing PPT from 142W to 88W, and that has 2x the core count.
Yup i love Eco mode at times, i can't get the cpu to break 70cel ever when i enable it on the 3900x using the stock cooler. Sometimes my room roasts up a bit and i may get into a locked 80cel profile for the 1080ti and then eco mode for the 3900x as both dump TONS of heat out the case as i max this thing out non stop. Since the rest of my house is comfortable at 78f my room eventually hits like 85f LOL.
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
15,494
4,281
136
You're probably going to want a 280mm AiO minimum for a 10900k. And most of the 360mm coolers aren't substantially better due to crappy pumps.
 

phillyman36

Golden Member
Jun 28, 2004
1,627
63
91
You're probably going to want a 280mm AiO minimum for a 10900k. And most of the 360mm coolers aren't substantially better due to crappy pumps.
So a Noctua d15 @stock/default settings would be a no go? lol Im not sure what i want to do for my second pc. Do i just get a 9900k and call it a day(since i have a z390 board sitting around). Do I get a z490 and instead get a 10700k? This would be an easier choice it Intel had something to actually wow us in a good way.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY