• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

AMD RYZEN Builders Thread

Page 150 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

ScottAD

Senior member
Jan 10, 2007
686
70
91
I really don't think 3.9 is guaranteed with a 1600. I haven't been able to get mine stable past 3.85 even at 1.4v. I know another person that was also limited to 3.8. In hindsight I wish I'd gone with the 1600X.
Actually you're right. I thought I type 3.8 but 3.8 is definitely achievable! Fixed my post!
 

bfun_x1

Senior member
May 29, 2015
475
155
116
Should I go with the 1600 or the 1600x? I already have a cooler master hyper 212 evo on hand, so the price difference is really only $30. Would the 212 be able to cool the 1600x enough if I overclocked it to the max?
I have a Thermalright True Spirit 120 with a Noctua fan on it and the performance should be close to the 212 EVO. You will not be able to OC to the max with that cooler. It's good for 3.8 but 3.9 would be pushing it.
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
17,248
6,250
136
I don't understand dual rank vs single rank. I've always put in memory in pairs on intel i5 and I used 2 x 8 gb pc1600.

Is there something special I need to know about with AMD? I just want 32 gigs of ram. I'm not trying for the best or fastest overclock.. just a reasonable one.. will be trying to get 1600 @ 3.9-4.0 on 212 evo. I'm not sure how memory in single or dual rank will effect it.
With Ryzen, you will see faster memory performance at any given memory speed using dual-rank DIMMS. But it's a challenge getting to max RAM clocks using dual-rank DIMMS. All 16 GB DIMMS are currently dual-rank, making it more of a challenge to hit DDR4-3200, though it is possible (aigo is doing it right now using some Trident Z DDR4-3200 CL14 on a Taichi).

Memory has the same influence on performance you'd expect, plus it run's Ryzen's internal Infinity Fabric at a speed equal to 1/2 the RAM speed. So DDR4-3200 provides you with 400 MHz faster fabric speed vs DDR4-2400, for example. That's very important for some games that spawn few threads that can be bounced around between CCXs on Ryzen. Performance gains vary from title to title, though with some of the most contentious titles (let's say Starcraft II is one of the worst), you can expect, what, +15% fps or more running DDR4-3200? The C6H support DDR4-4000 now, and some X370 boards should also support straps up to that speed once AGESA 1.0.0.6 is supported by UEFI updates. That would be +800 MHz fabric speed for those that can hit such stellar speeds.

Okay, looks like classic single-rank b-die. Should be good for DDR4-3200 CAS/CL14. I'm stumped on that one. I was concerned that it might be dual-rank but it isn't. I'm thinking Ryzen's secondaries are what are killing you. You'll need a UEFI rev. that let's you tweak those to get those most out of those DIMMs.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Keljian

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,017
3,813
136
I ended up ordering these last night on impulse, because all of your rave about 3200 memory. These were on the QVL for my board, so hopefully they will work properly out of the box. I'm assuming since it said it was Samsung die's, it's the correct one that you all talk about?https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820232229

Is there an overclocking guide somewhere as well?
That's definitely B-die (no other IC is capable of that speed/timings combo), but yeesh prices have really gone up on those. They were around $150 pre coupon code before I posted about them being B-die.
 

Rifter

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
11,519
745
126
mmm lemme shine my thoughts on it larry since i got a 1800X with all the bells and whistles on it thanks to the guys in this thread.

Ryzen is a beast, if you need a productivity machine.
Cinebench, Handbreak, Winrar extraction.... its a beast with all those threads.
However i may end up selling the entire system to my cousin because for a productivity machine, i would really like to have ECC ram.

Also i do not spend most of the time on it doing productivity because again, the cpu is such a beast, it finishes all its tasks in an insane small amount of time, which leaves it at idle unless i game'd on it.

So i may end up waiting for threadripper, and hope it has ECC support because i feel most productivity machines should have ECC ram.

So i am back on my 7700k for my daily driver because i spend about 80% of my time gaming when i am sitting in front of a monitor.
And the 7700k is the current queen beating out even the 6950X when it comes to pure gaming.

So if you need a productivity machine, larry dont look back, grab a Ryzen.
If you need a gaming machine, your much better off with a 7700k or waiting for CFL.

Oh also note... if your gonna run a m.2 drive get a heatsink like mark suggested.
Those suckers run really hot especially when doing encoding tasks, and a good sink will keep it in check.
Pretty sure it supports ECC already.
 

Reinvented

Senior member
Oct 5, 2005
489
77
91
That's definitely B-die (no other IC is capable of that speed/timings combo), but yeesh prices have really gone up on those. They were around $150 pre coupon code before I posted about them being B-die.
Thanks for your response! I'm really excited to get it and overclock. Is there any temp monitoring program so far that doesn't add an offset? And a lot of the speed reporting shows it as 3.7, rather than 3.6 stock. Even Ryzen Master does it. Should I avoid these?
 

ScottAD

Senior member
Jan 10, 2007
686
70
91
Thanks for your response! I'm really excited to get it and overclock. Is there any temp monitoring program so far that doesn't add an offset? And a lot of the speed reporting shows it as 3.7, rather than 3.6 stock. Even Ryzen Master does it. Should I avoid these?
How do you plan to cool it?

Also most mobo manufacturers have corrected the 20 degree offset already. You should be getting exactly what you see now provided you have the latest bios.
 

Reinvented

Senior member
Oct 5, 2005
489
77
91
How do you plan to cool it?

Also most mobo manufacturers have corrected the 20 degree offset already. You should be getting exactly what you see now provided you have the latest bios.
I have a Corsair H100i. And fyi, it's not corrected. Corsair Link shows at 50-60c idle, and Ryzen Master shows 32-42c idle. Using the MSI B350M. It's really not corrected, as these other programs aren't detecting it correctly. Even Core Temp malfunctions, since it appears not to know which probe to use. I'm sure it's fine in Bios, however. And as I stated, I'm looking for a program, not a bios fix.
 

Indus

Diamond Member
May 11, 2002
6,786
2,302
136
So which board is giving the least problems with memory? ASrock Taichi?
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
17,248
6,250
136
C6H probably has the best memory compatibility right now with its latest UEFI revision, though I haven't heard much news about how 1.0.0.6 improved things.
 

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
51,014
6,362
126
Also most mobo manufacturers have corrected the 20 degree offset already. You should be getting exactly what you see now provided you have the latest bios.
The mobo can correct BIOS/ACPI temps, read through BIOS/UEFI calls, but if a program (like CoreTemp) reads the temp sensors right off of the CPU, using direct hardware calls, using a system driver (as it does), then those will not be corrected, until such time as that software in particular is updated.
 

ScottAD

Senior member
Jan 10, 2007
686
70
91
The mobo can correct BIOS/ACPI temps, read through BIOS/UEFI calls, but if a program (like CoreTemp) reads the temp sensors right off of the CPU, using direct hardware calls, using a system driver (as it does), then those will not be corrected, until such time as that software in particular is updated.
Makes sense.

I can say the B350 Tomahawk from MSI with CAM on my Kraken x61 reads properly at least heh
 

Robayus

Junior Member
Mar 18, 2017
6
7
41
2x16 Gb Dual Rank running at 3200MHz here with the new AGESA 1.0.0.6. Haven't tried pushing yet but pretty excited. Previous Bios could only do 2667MHz.

MSI Tomahawk B350 (1.62 beta bios)
R7 1800X @ 4.0 GHz 1.3375V Llc 1, SOC/NB 1.0V
32Gb G Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14-16GTZ (3200MHz 14-14-14-34-CR2) 1.35V
 

ScottAD

Senior member
Jan 10, 2007
686
70
91
2x16 Gb Dual Rank running at 3200MHz here with the new AGESA 1.0.0.6. Haven't tried pushing yet but pretty excited. Previous Bios could only do 2667MHz.

MSI Tomahawk B350 (1.62 beta bios)
R7 1800X @ 4.0 GHz 1.3375V Llc 1, SOC/NB 1.0V
32Gb G Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14-16GTZ (3200MHz 14-14-14-34-CR2) 1.35V
Didn't realize that Northbridge was also considered the SOC or uncore, is that correct? Have the same board. I may need to go back and modify my OC, per AMD the uncore can handle 1.1v rock steady.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Robayus

Robayus

Junior Member
Mar 18, 2017
6
7
41
Didn't realize that Northbridge was also considered the SOC or uncore, is that correct? Have the same board. I may need to go back and modify my OC, per AMD the uncore can handle 1.1v rock steady.
With the Tomahawk, previous Bios have just listed NB Voltage. I found bumping up from the default of about .92 to .965 helped with CPU OC stability, increaseing it to 1.1V didn't help ram OC. The 1.62 beta bios now shows it as NB/SOC voltage. I just put it to 1.0V as a baseline. Sensors in HWiNFO64 have shown readings for NB at 1.015V and SOC voltage at 0.987V.

*Edited post, updating HWiNFO64 to 5.52 has more accurate readings for this Mobo.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: ScottAD

aigomorla

Cases and Cooling Mod PC Gaming Mod Elite Member
Super Moderator
Sep 28, 2005
18,726
1,269
126
Yeah this is what I can find from Hardware Canucks from March 30th on a Taichi board:

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/75030-ecc-memory-amds-ryzen-deep-dive.html

Hopefully there's been more progress since then.
It seems it has issues with ECC guys.... which is why i would rather wait for official support.
Ive been watching and reading in regards to Ryzen and ECC.

As i said i would absolutely LOVE ECC on this rig paired with 8c/16t goodness....
But i dont think i will get my wish until threadripper unfortunately which is why im considering just parting this rig to my cousin and waiting for that to make into a Virtualization Rig / Encoding box.

HWCanucks said:
In conclusion, what is currently available on the AM4 platform is an incomplete implementation of ECC. This is very likely why motherboard manufacturers have been relatively hesitant about claiming that their products support ECC memory in ECC mode.
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/75030-ecc-memory-amds-ryzen-deep-dive-5.html
 
Last edited:

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,887
788
136
considering parting out my Skylake machine since I am no longer using it... and piecing together another Ryzen 5 PC. I still have the Haswell i7 offering up around the same level of performance, so the 6600k is kind of irrelevant for me right now. that build was absolutely painless though; I'd hate to see it go.
 

Reinvented

Senior member
Oct 5, 2005
489
77
91
Thanks for that. I got my memory today and installed it. I seem to get worse performance at 4 GHz and DDR4-3200 than at stock with my Team Group 2400 memory. Ryzen Master does not display correct clock speeds for me, and my 960 Evo NVME performance has tanked pretty hard. Hoping for bios updates to fix these things! :(
 

ScottAD

Senior member
Jan 10, 2007
686
70
91
FWIW the MSI B350 Tomahawk has a Beta BIOS 1.62. The ridiculous long boot times are a thing of the past. It was once 30 seconds or more. Now, 5 tops. Going to test XAMP improvements tonight if any.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Malogeek

JQuilty

Junior Member
Mar 28, 2013
9
0
66


So, I have an Asus B350-Prime-A. I haven't overclocked anything in nearly five years, and it's crashing when I try to get my memory up to it's stock speed of 3000MHz. It's Corsair Dominator Platinum. Any ideas where I should start looking here?
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY