• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

AMD RYZEN Builders Thread

Page 130 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
21,386
9,450
136
Newegg has become shady.

All the asrock boards used to be like $10 cheaper, before asrock announced the MIR. Then suddenly newegg jacked the price up!
Well, the Taichi was $199 when I bought it weeks ago, and its still 199.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Drazick

Ranulf

Golden Member
Jul 18, 2001
1,657
175
106
From looking around a bit, the consensus seems to be the Tachi and the Asus Hero are the best boards for overclocking/memory compatibility right now? I've got a 1700 sitting here doing nothing and I'm itching to get the system built now. I've favored gigabyte lately but not heard glowing reports of their aorus boards so far.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dresdenboy

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
17,278
6,279
136
Ha! I paid $317 for my Taichi when nobody else could get one. Am I a chump or what?

Yes Ranulf, I would say the C6H is the best OC board with the Taichi running second, though a few rare oddballs are doing well with that $299 MSI board. Not that I recommend it.
 

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,887
788
136
my board's holding steady at $240 if you count in the MIR... the carbon only ran me $180.00 when I could finally snag one.

I'd say I'm a chump also, considering this board is basically a glorified Taichi with "gamier" elements and 50 bucks more.
 

unseenmorbidity

Golden Member
Nov 27, 2016
1,395
966
96
From looking around a bit, the consensus seems to be the Tachi and the Asus Hero are the best boards for overclocking/memory compatibility right now? I've got a 1700 sitting here doing nothing and I'm itching to get the system built now. I've favored gigabyte lately but not heard glowing reports of their aorus boards so far.
The K7 is quite good.
 

fleshconsumed

Diamond Member
Feb 21, 2002
6,094
1,470
136
FYI ebay currently has six X370 Taichi's for $208.10 from two different sellers. Not quite as good as $194 (after rebate and shipping from newegg), but at least you can get one if you hurry.
 

Zstream

Diamond Member
Oct 24, 2005
3,396
277
136
Well I'm frustrated with the new build. Some of the games I play really jitter with SMT enabled. I believe it's due to the fact the game is running on the SMT cores. Is there anyway to determine right off which cores have SMT enabled?
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,014
3,813
136
Well I'm frustrated with the new build. Some of the games I play really jitter with SMT enabled. I believe it's due to the fact the game is running on the SMT cores. Is there anyway to determine right off which cores have SMT enabled?
Try enabling high performance mode (or installing Ryzen balanced power plan) and seeing if you can do a fixed clock OC. I think before I did those two things Windows power management would occasionally give me microstutters due to changing clocks.

Balanced power plan installer:
https://community.amd.com/servlet/JiveServlet/download/1461-70650/Ryzen_Balanced_Power_Plan.zip
 

Topweasel

Diamond Member
Oct 19, 2000
5,362
1,547
136
All cores have SMT enabled. The quick answer is turn off even cores in affinity for that application (assuming that, that is what is causing the issue). Long answer is SMT on this isn't so much one core is Real and one is SMT. Both are schedulable and the CPU basically decides based on load and other things which to process. You can send a full 100% single core load to either CPU and it won't affect the workload.

Now windows is supposed to be able to tell which CPU are full cores and which are SMT for assignment (again just basically assuming all odds as real and evens as SMT). What you might be running into is Windows parking cores and flopping a really light workload around to keep power usage and clock speed low. If you have power set to balanced than that will happen a lot and was easily the main reason for Performance issues originally.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dresdenboy

CuriousMike

Diamond Member
Feb 22, 2001
3,004
453
136
Well I'm frustrated with the new build. Some of the games I play really jitter with SMT enabled. I believe it's due to the fact the game is running on the SMT cores. Is there anyway to determine right off which cores have SMT enabled?
Can you tell me which games you notice this in?

I've been playing a lot of Rocket League, Dirt Rally, Overwatch and some light titles ( Gauntlet, Helldivers, Grid Autosport ) and I've been experiencing the (perhaps imagined) "smoother framing" compared to my old i5-4590.
 

Zstream

Diamond Member
Oct 24, 2005
3,396
277
136
Try enabling high performance mode (or installing Ryzen balanced power plan) and seeing if you can do a fixed clock OC. I think before I did those two things Windows power management would occasionally give me microstutters due to changing clocks.

Balanced power plan installer:
https://community.amd.com/servlet/JiveServlet/download/1461-70650/Ryzen_Balanced_Power_Plan.zip
Yep, enabled high performance plan. I did upgrade to the latest bios yesterday and haven't tested since. The new bios did fix my audio issues, maybe it fixed this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: richierich1212

Zstream

Diamond Member
Oct 24, 2005
3,396
277
136
Can you tell me which games you notice this in?

I've been playing a lot of Rocket League, Dirt Rally, Overwatch and some light titles ( Gauntlet, Helldivers, Grid Autosport ) and I've been experiencing the (perhaps imagined) "smoother framing" compared to my old i5-4590.
Archeage, Crysis 3 - it's much smoother when playing WoT and gods and generals.
 

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,887
788
136
my guilty pleasure KF2 is noticeably smoother even with vast amounts of gore flying all over the place.

anyone try Doom yet?
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,014
3,813
136
I don't know about Doom, but I've been enjoying completely smooth Overwatch and Heroes of the Storm. I don't have the occasional stutters that I had with my i7. Which is weird, because neither of those are particularly demanding titles.
 

CuriousMike

Diamond Member
Feb 22, 2001
3,004
453
136

guskline

Diamond Member
Apr 17, 2006
5,338
474
126
Waiting for an official update to the Asus C6H 1002 BIOS. I'm running one of the beta BIOS, 081, which is working well with both 4Ghz OC and ram running at DDR4-3200.
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,014
3,813
136
Guess who just updated to F3 on the Gigabyte K7...



32GB (4x8GB) DDR4-3200 CL14 achieved! I enabled XMP profile 1 and upped the voltage to 1.45V. May be able to go lower, we'll see. I should note I enabled XMP, saved and rebooted. Changed voltage, saved and rebooted.
 

guskline

Diamond Member
Apr 17, 2006
5,338
474
126
GREAT job IEC. A couple more updates from AMD and these RyZen chips will really be solid.
 

3DVagabond

Lifer
Aug 10, 2009
11,951
200
106
Any performance difference between 2x16 and 4x8? Is it better to populate all of the slots? Or have more or less chips per dimm?
 

Crono

Lifer
Aug 8, 2001
23,720
1,498
136
Anyone running GTX 1070s in SLI with a 1600(X) or Ryzen 7? Considering doing it rather than waiting for Vega, and the 1070s would be a good upgrade for gaming and video editing from mining-worn R9 390s.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY