• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

AMD RYZEN Builders Thread

Page 120 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

JimmiG

Platinum Member
Feb 24, 2005
2,026
112
106
Note that the message from AMD was about opening up more multipliers to achieve higher RAM speeds above 3200, not necessarily about better support for RAM.
It seems like they have two separate updates in the pipeline, one enabling better support at 3200, and another one in May for even faster memory:

- Ram is improving all the time. We have a huge BIOS update enabling 3200 MHz DDR4 that should hit most boards April 11th, and another one scheduled for May.
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/id-3378010/join-tom-hardware-amd-thursday-april-6th/page-3.html

Unless the "3200" in that post is a typo and he meant to write 3600. But then April doesn't make sense, because that update is scheduled for May.
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,017
3,813
136
Note that the message from AMD was about opening up more multipliers to achieve higher RAM speeds above 3200, not necessarily about better support for RAM.
Those two things go hand in hand, but you are correct in that the May update only explicitly targeted higher multipliers. Better compatibility would be implied.
 

Malogeek

Golden Member
Mar 5, 2017
1,390
778
106
yaktribe.org
It seems like they have two separate updates in the pipeline, one enabling better support at 3200, and another one in May for even faster memory:


http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/id-3378010/join-tom-hardware-amd-thursday-april-6th/page-3.html

Unless the "3200" in that post is a typo and he meant to write 3600. But then April doesn't make sense, because that update is scheduled for May.
Ah ok thanks for correcting me, bad recollection. I look forward to next BIOS update!
 

CuriousMike

Platinum Member
Feb 22, 2001
2,999
446
136
Thanks for the additional details - My settings match yours almost identically - my memory timings are slightly different than yours, but that's it.
I poked at a few more settings and it will not boot at 3200 - it just powers down.
I'll stick at 2933 for now and see if things change in May.

I have tried 2x8 GB Sticks @3200 on BIOS versions 0503/0513/0515/0605 and they all worked. They only one that did not work is the old BIOS version 0406.
DRAM voltage has to be 1.35V, and mode will be DOCP then select 3200.
Just keep in mind to recheck the other voltages especially CPU voltage since DOCP tries to raise core voltage also, at least that is what it seems to me.
I think I have Samsung B-dies as well. although I was never aware of these things and I just thought... hmm the Trident Z looks cool I will get them.
 

JimmiG

Platinum Member
Feb 24, 2005
2,026
112
106
Ah ok thanks for correcting me, bad recollection. I look forward to next BIOS update!
I actually hadn't heard about the April update until this AMA. It looks like it's going to coincide with the official release of the R5 on April 11, and AMD seem fairly confident that it will support 3200 MHz memory across the board.
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
17,258
6,258
136
I'm just unsure which RAM to go with it for good performance any recommendations. RGB would be nice or options of colours.
Trident-Z if you can afford it. I can't guarantee these kits but if you are looking for 2x8GB:

http://pcpartpicker.com/products/memory/#s=403400,403466,403600,403666,403733,403866,404000,404133,404200,404266&Z=16384002&sort=a10

Start with those. Anything DDR4-3400 and higher SHOULD be Samsung B-die single-rank. After that it's just a matter of finding how much voltage you need to get where you want to go. Bear in mind that if you are buying G.Skill that the Trident-Z kits of the same speed/timings tend to be better than the equivalent Ripjaws. You might find some dual-rank in the Ripjaws even at these speeds.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
21,379
9,444
136
I still have to see any samsung b-die OVER cas 14 that will do 3200 in any motherboard, please correct me if I am wrong. I have 2 sets of the cas 14, in 2 different motherboards, that both do 3200.
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,017
3,813
136
Trident-Z if you can afford it. I can't guarantee these kits but if you are looking for 2x8GB:

http://pcpartpicker.com/products/memory/#s=403400,403466,403600,403666,403733,403866,404000,404133,404200,404266&Z=16384002&sort=a10

Start with those. Anything DDR4-3400 and higher SHOULD be Samsung B-die single-rank. After that it's just a matter of finding how much voltage you need to get where you want to go. Bear in mind that if you are buying G.Skill that the Trident-Z kits of the same speed/timings tend to be better than the equivalent Ripjaws. You might find some dual-rank in the Ripjaws even at these speeds.
This is not true. I have a set of 2x8GB DDR4-3400 CL16 TridentZ which is not B-die, and is dual rank. 3200 CL14 is guaranteed B-die, as it is the only IC capable of that speed/latency combination. 3600 with 16-16-16-16-3x timings should also be B-die. Anything with asymmetric timings such as 16-18-18-18-39 is NOT B-die.
 
Last edited:

Malogeek

Golden Member
Mar 5, 2017
1,390
778
106
yaktribe.org
Anything with asymmetric timings such as 16-18-18-18-39 is NOT B-die.
I don't think there are any rules whatsoever in what G.skill are Samsung b-die

We have internally observed good results from 2933, 3200, and 3500 MT/s rates with 16GB kits based on Samsung “B-die” memory chips. Potential kits include:
  • G.Skill Trident Z - F4-3200C16D-16GTZR [16-18-18-36 @ 1.35v]
 
  • Like
Reactions: IEC

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
17,258
6,258
136
This is not true. I have a set of 2x8GB DDR4-3400 CL16 TridentZ which is not B-die, and is dual rank. 3200 CL14 is guaranteed B-die, as it is the only IC capable of that speed/latency combination. 3600 with 16-16-16-16-3x timings should also be B-die. Anything with asymmetric timings such as 16-18-18-18-39 is NOT B-die.
Didn't know they were shipping any 3400 non-B-die, but my DDR4-3733 17-19-19-42 is asymmetric and it is B-die.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dresdenboy and IEC

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,017
3,813
136
Didn't know they were shipping any 3400 non-B-die, but my DDR4-3733 17-19-19-42 is asymmetric and it is B-die.
Well that throws a wrinkle into things, then. I suppose the only way to know for sure is to remove the heatspreader (e.g. my DDR4-3400 sticks are "E" die)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dresdenboy

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,887
788
136
looking at the replacement board's QVL and I feel like half of the memory isn't even on the market yet...
 

CuriousMike

Platinum Member
Feb 22, 2001
2,999
446
136
I still have to see any samsung b-die OVER cas 14 that will do 3200 in any motherboard, please correct me if I am wrong. I have 2 sets of the cas 14, in 2 different motherboards, that both do 3200.
Then that might explain why I can't hit 3200.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
21,379
9,444
136
Then that might explain why I can't hit 3200.
Yes, it appears at the moment with current motherboards and BIOS, the Ryzen CPU is very picky on memory. It will do rated speed only if the CPU "likes" that memory, and this is the only one I read that it really "likes".

I could be wrong, as I said, I just have not read anything other than 3200 samsung b-die, cas 14 that actually does 3200.
 

Crono

Lifer
Aug 8, 2001
23,727
1,498
136
OCed the 1600, running stable after stress tests and currently running benchmarks. Idle temp is low 40s, load is 77 (using AIDA64) after a few minutes with spikes up to low 80s before fan curve cranks up the fans (side note: it's a simple thing, but it's really nice to not have to deal with the stupid 20C offset that the 1700X has).

It's possible I can squeeze out more clock speed, but I'll wait for the additional cooling parts to come in. I'm comfortable with this clock speed and voltage if I can't, though, and the current cooling (stock Wraith HSF, 3x Arctic F12 intake, BeQuiet! PureWings 120mm exhaust, Noctua NT-H1 paste) is doing a better job than I thought it would.

Got my 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 running at 2933 MHz, which is perfectly fine by me for now as my R7 system's RAM is at 2666, and it wasn't a crazy expensive kit. I'll wait for the April/May updates before worrying about hitting advertised RAM speed.






 
Last edited:

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
17,258
6,258
136
I could be wrong, as I said, I just have not read anything other than 3200 samsung b-die, cas 14 that actually does 3200.
Mine will do it, which is interesting since it should not be able to do so well according to its bin. It should be restricted to CL/CAS15 (16 on Ryzen) but it does 14 anyway.
 

CuriousMike

Platinum Member
Feb 22, 2001
2,999
446
136
Is there any real world benefit to setting my memory from its default 16-18-18-36 to 14-14-14-32?
Changing the timings in the BIOS was simple, and a quick 15 minutes of Prime95 was stable.
(I tried these timings per Marks suggestion that CAS 14 seemed to be a strong indicator for hitting 3200mhz; alas, these timings didn't help me hit 3200)

 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
21,379
9,444
136
Is there any real world benefit to setting my memory from its default 16-18-18-36 to 14-14-14-32?
Changing the timings in the BIOS was simple, and a quick 15 minutes of Prime95 was stable.
(I tried these timings per Marks suggestion that CAS 14 seemed to be a strong indicator for hitting 3200mhz; alas, these timings didn't help me hit 3200)

The memory has to be capable of doing those timings. Apparently yours isn't rated for that.
 

CuriousMike

Platinum Member
Feb 22, 2001
2,999
446
136
It isn't rated for it, but it is running at those timings.

I just don't know if there is a real world performance benefit to running at these lower timings.
 

imported_jjj

Senior member
Feb 14, 2009
660
430
136
There are non-Samsung B-die on QVL lists at 3200 and in theory you can push lots of kits to 3200 with sufficiently relaxed timings.

One odd thing is that , for a reason i can't explain, populating all 4 DIMM slots might result in higher perf in actual apps...


 
Last edited:

imported_jjj

Senior member
Feb 14, 2009
660
430
136
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: CuriousMike

Dresdenboy

Golden Member
Jul 28, 2003
1,730
554
136
citavia.blog.de
There are non-Samsung B-die on QVL lists at 3200 and in theory you can push lots of kits to 3200 with sufficiently relaxed timings.

One odd thing is that , for a reason i can't explain, populating all 4 DIMM slots might result in higher perf in actual apps...
I assume this is related to open mem banks and bank or rank internal roundtrips abd timings.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

ASK THE COMMUNITY