AMD Ryzen 3000 Builders Thread

Page 28 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,205
284
136
Just saw that MSI has beta BIOS for it, did not see it earlier!

2 PCI fam, we in it now!

View attachment 8262
Well, I hope my shenanigans with these two B350 boards helps some folks out.

I do not have a lot of time to do epic bench runs, but will leave stuff setup and test when I can.
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,205
284
136
3800X should score higher, there's no doubt about that. It just shows that the platform is in a quite shaky/raw state at the moment and by buying a better/more expensive CPU you won't necessarily get better results.
Well, you know, it just came out :)
 

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
475
127
76
I built a system for my mum with an MSI Tomahawk B450 (AMD 2400g). I was pleased with the build. Pretty good UEFI UI, easy to setup and get running. Good budget/starter board, IMO. Has everything your friend will need.
Yeah it does look nice then i was looking at the $15 cheaper MSI B450-A PRO.

https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16813144192

I guess besides different vrm heatsinks and a slightly different look, the PRO lacks lighting? My friend does want lighting on the board for some reason so for her its going to be very likely the Tomahawk. Looks as busy as my ROG Strix B360-G if not busier. Thing has plenty of fan headers that is for sure.

Technically when i think of cheap i meant something more in the lines of this though for $75

https://www.newegg.com/msi-b450m-pro-m2/p/N82E16813144198

But i can clear see suddenly the $99 option is WAY more worth it,naked vrms aren't exactly something i want in a build anyways. Then you got the $95 option which seems like a winner

https://www.newegg.com/msi-performance-gaming-b450-gaming-plus/p/N82E16813144191

On sale right there for $95 for the next 14 hours.
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,205
284
136
About my Windows migration plan, I have done it before, but, Windows has to be re-activated unless you are using 'nudge nudge, wink wink' Windows.

This is not ideal, but Windows has become a lot more resilient with 10.

Backup first, with Macrium Reflect, of my current SSD. (Macrium is free for home use and is really the best backup / imaging software there is)

Once that is done, restore that image the new NVME / SSD, via attachment in old PC or external enclosure.

Take the old parts out, put new parts in, boot with no SSD / NVME attached, update BIOS / set the things that need turned on and off.

Running auto default settings first, no anything OC, attach the SSD / NVME and boot, no internet connection.

Let Windows setup the new hardware. Install AMD drivers / other drivers as needed.

IF need be, there is a thing called "repair install", it keeps your documents, but refreshes Windows.

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/16397-repair-install-windows-10-place-upgrade.html
 

repoman0

Platinum Member
Jun 17, 2010
2,525
144
136
3700x, ASUS Prime X570-pro, and 32gb Crucial ram waiting for me at MC. Why do I upgrade every CPU cycle :rolleyes:
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,006
1,835
136
The 3900x is back in stock at Amazon for $499..

I think the temporary shortage is over.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,006
1,835
136
Available stock so far is really impressive.
The only one I am disappointed with is newegg. Virtually no 3900x's, still OOS

Amazon has been great one is coming any minute, the other one is going to be here Sat !
 

guachi

Senior member
Nov 16, 2010
654
71
136
Newegg has, like, two warehouses. Amazon has piles of them so it's possible stock is trickling into different warehouses at different times.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,006
1,835
136
Newegg has, like, two warehouses. Amazon has piles of them so it's possible stock is trickling into different warehouses at different times.
I have gotten things from like 6-8 different addresses for newegg, but I am sure Amazon has way more.
 

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,130
120
126
I grabbed a CPU right away from Newegg and it ended up biting me in the arse w/ shipping time from west coast. Amazon would have been preferable but w/e.
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,205
284
136
Can you let us know how well that board handles a 3600? I can't find any info on what AGESA version is supported by the latest UEFI (dated 7/1/2019).

In other news, got my x570 Aorus Master from Newegg. CPU gets here on the 16th, final part for WC setup gets here on the 17th (due to a mistake of mine while ordering, oops). Patience, patience . . .
Reddit says 1.0.0.2.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/c51ofy
I think I might wait until 1.0.0.3 hits to test the two B350 boards.

3700X no issues apparently.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/cakfoo
 
Apr 27, 2000
12,376
1,325
126
3900X goes in it first :)
Oh okay! Heh. Got that second number upside down, forgot an X . . . oops.

For some reasons Ryzen 3800X is slower than 3700X according to GeekBench 4 both in ST and MT modes:
That's weird. Really weird. Makes you wonder how they even bin these things.

Why do I upgrade every CPU cycle :rolleyes:
'cuz Lisa Su needs a new pair of shoes.

Reddit says 1.0.0.2.
Hmmm okay. Remember 1.0.0.3 is the reviewer UEFI (I think) while 1.0.0.3AB is one of the first post-release bugfix UEFIs.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,006
1,835
136
3900x up and running. Running BIONC@100% using a 240 AIO its running 80c without PBO enabled, running 4 ghz

Also tried cinebench, but I am on windows 1709 (or something like that) upgrading to 1903.

Oh, and Ryzen master said (when I was running 1733 memory) that something else was 1600, so I went down to 3600 cl15
 

Hans Gruber

Senior member
Dec 23, 2006
540
62
116
3900x up and running. Running BIONC@100% using a 240 AIO its running 80c without PBO enabled, running 4 ghz

Also tried cinebench, but I am on windows 1709 (or something like that) upgrading to 1903.

Oh, and Ryzen master said (when I was running 1733 memory) that something else was 1600, so I went down to 3600 cl15
Mark, can you run it on the user benchmark? The average bench so far for 3900x is 123% 3rd fastest CPU.
https://cpu.userbenchmark.com
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,006
1,835
136
when the upgrade to 1903 is finished, I will try that.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
7,235
174
126
Just got to select my nvme drive now. Case will be here tomorrow.

Best bang for buck in 500-512GB would be?

Looking at 500GB evo and evo plus currently.

Once I figure out how to tweak the rig I'll be able to do some benching x570, 3600, rx 5700 for those interested.
 

Hans Gruber

Senior member
Dec 23, 2006
540
62
116

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,006
1,835
136

Topweasel

Diamond Member
Oct 19, 2000
4,896
498
136

StinkyPinky

Diamond Member
Jul 6, 2002
6,419
103
126
3900x in stock anywhere? Seems out again at Newegg and Amazon. In fact, it barely lasted a few minutes at newegg.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,006
1,835
136
3900x in stock anywhere? Seems out again at Newegg and Amazon. In fact, it barely lasted a few minutes at newegg.
It was on Amazon earlier today, and I posted to let everyone know. 10:30 am, above.
 


ASK THE COMMUNITY