• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

AMD Ryzen 3000 Builders Thread

Page 102 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Ajay

Diamond Member
Jan 8, 2001
6,368
1,954
136
More fabric stress with 2 chiplets vs 1
Makes some sense, higher load on the IF connected to the IMC. Could be pulling down the current levels and require more voltage to get drive levels back up - I guess whatever circuits where created to compensate were really only specced for 1866MHz - anything above that must be a silicon lottery win.
 

Ajay

Diamond Member
Jan 8, 2001
6,368
1,954
136
Hmm, everything is stable again. Max boost clocks have gone up a bit to 4.70GHz, weird o_O
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
7,660
758
126
From what i've read so far its easier to hit 1900 FCLK on single CCD processors than dual.
Hmm, interesting. I wonder why. The IMC is on the IOD.
More fabric stress with 2 chiplets vs 1
It's possible his memory just doesn't want to go higher. I'd imagine a person could test it by dropping from 1:1 to 1:2 mode. When I try for 3866 the 1:2 kicks in on my motherboard which I verified once windows loaded. That ended the MHz adventure for me.

Hmm, everything is stable again. Max boost clocks have gone up a bit to 4.70GHz, weird o_O
@Ajay If your happy with your current settings then just run with them.

As for me I became obsessed with latency for some reason or another. I figured my rig wasn't running at it's optimal until I chipped off ever ns possible.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

Hans Gruber

Senior member
Dec 23, 2006
820
193
116
Hmm, everything is stable again. Max boost clocks have gone up a bit to 4.70GHz, weird o_O
I was thinking my B350 was my limit. As I have said in the past. My MSI motherboard will run any and all ram at any speed the ram is capable of without limits. The bios is just that good. I thought the the 1900mhz infinity fabric was a problem. I think I will try again but with more voltage on the ram. I am doing 3733mhz with 1.39v. I think I will try 3800mhz again with 1.4v. This new cheap memory I have is great for non B-die stuff.

Old school OCing advice and lessons. When you OC and run unstable. Give it a day or two off for the motherboard and all the electronics to recover and become stable again. Then try again. It's better to use more voltage than less to achieve stability and then lower the voltage once stable. Don't be afraid to break your stuff.
 

guachi

Senior member
Nov 16, 2010
748
396
136
Second Ryzen 3000 build I did last weekend was a 3600, 5700XT, Crucial 1TB NVMe drive, 2x8 GB 3200 MHz RAM, and a 600W SFX Corsair PSU in a white Silverstone SG13.

Thumbs up for the case. It's cheap and easy to work with, especially with a SFX PSU (so tiny!) and the 3600 with included low profile cooler. There was enough clearance with the SFX PSU that I could have used a bigger cooler. Not having an ATX PSU and having an NVMe drive on the MB let me remove the two internal cages (one to support an ATX PSU and one for drives) and it really opened the case up.

I ended up removing the rubber feet and putting them on the side with the GPU so now that side is the new bottom. The only side without an opening is the original bottom, so there's lots of places for heat to escape from in the tiny case.

It's my first ITX case and I'm a big fan now.
 

CHADBOGA

Golden Member
Mar 31, 2009
1,961
523
136
Second Ryzen 3000 build I did last weekend was a 3600, 5700XT, Crucial 1TB NVMe drive, 2x8 GB 3200 MHz RAM, and a 600W SFX Corsair PSU in a white Silverstone SG13.

Thumbs up for the case. It's cheap and easy to work with, especially with a SFX PSU (so tiny!) and the 3600 with included low profile cooler. There was enough clearance with the SFX PSU that I could have used a bigger cooler. Not having an ATX PSU and having an NVMe drive on the MB let me remove the two internal cages (one to support an ATX PSU and one for drives) and it really opened the case up.

I ended up removing the rubber feet and putting them on the side with the GPU so now that side is the new bottom. The only side without an opening is the original bottom, so there's lots of places for heat to escape from in the tiny case.

It's my first ITX case and I'm a big fan now.
What motherboard did you use?
 

Noid

Platinum Member
Sep 20, 2000
2,095
12
81
AMD Software Release Notes ver. 2.01.15.2138

Package Contents and Compatible Operating Systems

This Software package contains various independent drivers (Column 1) designed to support the following Microsoft® Windows® platforms (Column 2). Operating System support may vary depending on your specific AMD product

Driver Name OS Supported Supported Version
AMD I2C Driver Win 10 1.2.0.99
AMD UART Driver Win 10 1.2.0.106
AMD GPIO2 Driver Win 10 2.2.0.124
PT GPIO Driver Win 10 2.0.1.0
AMD SMBUS Driver Win 7 5.12.0.38
Win 10 5.12.0.38
AMD PSP Driver Win7 4.10.0.1
Win 10 4.11.0.0
AMD AS4 ACPI Driver Win 10 1.2.0.46
AMD CIR Driver Win 7 3.2.4.110
Win 10 3.2.4.135
AMD SATA Driver Win 10 1.2.1.402
AMD USB Driver for Hudson Win 7 1.1.0.276
AMD USB 3.0 Driver for ZP Win 7 2.0.0.48
PT USB 3.1 Driver Win 7 1.0.5.3
AMD Ryzen Power Plan Win10 5.0.0.0
AMD SFH Driver Win 10 1.0.0.297
AMD SFH I2C Driver Win 10 1.0.0.80
AMD IOV Driver Win 10 & Win 7 1.2.0.43
AMD PCI Device Driver Win7 1.0.0.67
Win 10 1.0.0.75
AMD USB Filter Driver Win 7 2.1.11.287
Win 10 2.1.11.304
AMD MicroPEP Driver Win 10 1.0.25.0
AMD USB 3.1 Driver Win 7 1.0.0.12

Installation of Software

Note: Close all opened applications before attempting the install process.
⦁ Unzip and extract the deliverable folder ‘AMD_Software_<Version>.zip’ containing:
⦁ Release Notes
⦁ Installation Executable
⦁ Double click and invoke the installation executable named ‘AMD_Chipset_Drivers.exe’.
⦁ Provide administrative privilege explicitly if prompted for, by clicking ‘YES’ in the UAC prompt.
⦁ By default, the executable extracts files under "C:\AMD\Chipset_Driver_Installer \AMD_Chipset_Drivers" and "C:\AMD\Chipset_Driver_Installer \ChipsetDriversExtract” to continue with installation.
⦁ Any driver specific file changes can be made under " C:\AMD\Chipset_Driver_Installer \AMD_Chipset_Drivers\IODriver \<DriverName>"
⦁ Re-run the executable and continue with above mentioned steps to select any more drivers to de deployed on the system.

Uninstallation of Software:

⦁ Once installation completes successfully, uninstallation can be done by clicking ‘Uninstall’ after selecting on ‘AMD Chipset Drivers’ entry in control panel which removes all uninstall-able drivers deployed via ‘AMD_Chipset_Drivers.exe’ from the system.

Installation using the Command Line Interface

For instructions on how to perform an unattended installation of the Software using the Command Line Interface, please follow the below steps
⦁ Unzip and extract the deliverable folder ‘AMD_Software_<Version>.zip’ containing:
⦁ Release Notes
⦁ Installation Executable

· Invoke command prompt with below enlisted commands:

Silent deployment scenarios: Commands to be used:
Silent Install START /WAIT "" <path to executable with exe name> /S /V" SILENT=1 /qr" /clone_wait
Silent Uninstall START /WAIT "" <path to executable with exe name> /S /V" SILENT=1 EXPRESSUNINSTALL=1 /qr" /clone_wait
Custom Silent Install START /WAIT "" <path to executable with exe name> /S /V" SILENT=1 CUSTOMINSTALL="<feature name/names assigned to the drivers that are to be installed separated by comma>" /qr" /clone_wait
Custom Silent Uninstall START /WAIT "" <path to executable with exe name> /S /V" SILENT=1 CUSTOMUNINSTALL="<feature name/names assigned to the drivers that are to be uninstalled separated by comma>" /qr" /clone_wait

· Please find the feature name/names assigned to respective drivers as below:

Driver Name Corresponding feature name/names to be passed in command line
AMD CIR Driver CIR
AMD I2C Driver I2C
AMD PSP Driver PSP
AMD Ryzen Power Plan RYZENPPKG
AMD USB 3.0 Driver for ZP USBHUB, USBCNTRL
PT USB 3.1 Driver USBHUB_PT, USBCNTRL_PT
AMD PCI Device Driver PCI
AMD UART Driver UART
AMD GPIO2 Driver GPIO2
PT GPIO Driver GPIO3
AMD IOV Driver IOV_WT
AMD USB Driver for Hudson USBHUB_HD, USBCNTRL_HD
AMD SFH I2C Driver SFHI2C
AMD USB Filter Driver FILTERUSB
AMD SFH Driver SFHDRVR
AMD SATA Driver SATA
AMD SMBUS Driver SMBUS
AMD AS4 ACPI Driver AS4ACPI
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

Noid

Platinum Member
Sep 20, 2000
2,095
12
81
I installed these an hour after released.
(Minor performance benefit for me.)
 

Ajay

Diamond Member
Jan 8, 2001
6,368
1,954
136
@Ajay If your happy with your current settings then just run with them.

As for me I became obsessed with latency for some reason or another. I figured my rig wasn't running at it's optimal until I chipped off ever ns possible.
I was trying to hit 57GB/s with sub 65ns latency. I came up short. Probably would need to have hit 3800MHz with better timings to get there. Oh well.
Also saw a video from Actually Hardcore Overclocking, seems that the issue of hitting higher clocks can even be motherboard related.
 

guachi

Senior member
Nov 16, 2010
748
396
136
I
What motherboard did you use?
I realized after I posted I forgot to mention.

It's a Gigabyte Aorus Pro B450 board. Came with an updated BIOS so the 3600 worked right of the bat.

My understanding is that the VRMs are weak, but it's a 3600 so I don't think that will be an issue.

Major positive was a front-mounted NVMe slot with heatsink.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: CHADBOGA

Det0x

Senior member
Sep 11, 2014
345
232
116
I'm pretty sure my b-die is maxed out. I'm unable to boot 1:1 beyond 3800MHz. I haven't found a way to decouple and not drop into 1:2 mode on my motherboard. I can boot up 3866 CL16, but the divider issue made me revert back. I didn't try anything higher as I figured it's a waste of time running in 1:2 mode.

View attachment 16201

Viewing this charts maximum Thereotical maximum bandwidth it looks like I'm sitting at roughly 95% read and 100% write speed. Latency looks to favor running a fixed all core overclock.


View attachment 16202

Chart is from the following link.

What voltage are you running on your b-die memory ?
24/7 operation or just screenshot latency ?

Iam pretty sure i can run 14-14-16-14-28 @ 3766, but i'm a little scared pushing the voltage any higher.. i got into windows for ~30seconds before it crashed @ 1.49 volts. (max ram temp ~55 degrees celsius)
32gigs F4-3600C16Q-32GTZN on a 3950x
 

Attachments

Ajay

Diamond Member
Jan 8, 2001
6,368
1,954
136
What voltage are you running on your b-die memory ?
24/7 operation or just screenshot latency ?

Iam pretty sure i can run 14-14-16-14-28 @ 3766, but i'm a little scared pushing the voltage any higher.. i got into windows for ~30seconds before it crashed @ 1.49 volts. (max ram temp ~55 degrees celsius)
32gigs F4-3600C16Q-32GTZN on a 3950x
Quick thing - set your memory rank to 2 In the calculator.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
7,660
758
126
What voltage are you running on your b-die memory ?
24/7 operation or just screenshot latency ?

Iam pretty sure i can run 14-14-16-14-28 @ 3766, but i'm a little scared pushing the voltage any higher.. i got into windows for ~30seconds before it crashed @ 1.49 volts. (max ram temp ~55 degrees celsius)
32gigs F4-3600C16Q-32GTZN on a 3950x
Mem_ Clocks.PNG

3800 CL15 @1.42v's is what I'm running 24/7 currently. Pretty sure it's maxed out. Couldn't boot CL14, but I didn't try above 1.45v's.

I was running it at 3600 CL14 @1.45v's before I found out it would go higher. Lower voltage and latency at 3800 so I guess it was a double win.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
19,785
7,161
136
New version.

OK, this looks totally like new stuff. So I ran it, and the best I can make out is that my current setup is 198, and a optimized setup would be 108. Big change. Can somebody who gets this version write a simple to use set of instructions ? I don;t know how to make the result happen, but with that kind of improvement, I would love to.
 

Makaveli

Diamond Member
Feb 8, 2002
3,974
43
91
Its updated but using it hasn't really changed.

this video even for version 1.6.2 still applies

 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
19,785
7,161
136
Its updated but using it hasn't really changed.

this video even for version 1.6.2 still applies

I disagree. It looks totally new. Run the membench, takes quite a while, but it looks like it more correctly calculates the desired best speed (before it did not work for me)

Look at the below. But is that the end result timings I want ? If so I should use bios to update ?

 

Makaveli

Diamond Member
Feb 8, 2002
3,974
43
91
Look at the below. But is that the end result timings I want ? If so I should use bios to update ?
You should not be trying to figure out what timing you want from the Membench page.

That should be done on the Main page.

Has that been done?
 
  • Like
Reactions: IEC

jonpk

Junior Member
Feb 1, 2020
4
6
36
That's a huge upgrade. Enjoy!
I also upgraded my Graphics card to a GTX 1070 ti w/8gb. I had two gtx 760 sc'd in SLi with 8gb. I'm really looking forward to the upgrade. It's been around 8 years since I last upgraded the main parts of my box.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY