AMD "Never Settle" 12.11 Driver - benchmarks are in!

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by BFG10K, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. railven

    railven Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yeah, with all the AA options out there (and each side having their own names, arggg) it gets confusing if you swap sides.

    In the CCC, you have the slider on the bottom which sets the type of AA to use.

    Regardless what you set to the top slider (that adjusts level) the bottom slider adjusts type. (Also, AMD needs to learn how to do the profiles thing because currently it is cumbersome.)

    I usually use SSAA whenever I can. If the game supports AA, whatever level of AA you apply in game the slider on the bottom applies that type of AA.

    MSAA is default, Adaptive is MSAA+AAA (nVidia's TrAA), and of course SSAA.

    Now, if you use to the top slider to over ride a game's option you get even more non-sense.

    I personally find all the EQ options ad a blur I don't like. So I never use the EQ levels.
     
  2. Endymion FRS

    Endymion FRS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    According to AMD it does not.
     
  4. An00bis

    An00bis Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already have a HD7850, can I get those games as well? I remember a few years ago AMD let you get free games if you entered your gpu's serial number in their website. Is this like that? or do you actually have to buy a gpu again to receive this?
     
  5. NIGELG

    NIGELG Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    3
    Amazon fails this time.I buy most of my hardware from them.There's always Tigerdirect.
     
  6. DiogoDX

    DiogoDX Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    New purchases only.
     
  7. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    I the final version out?
     
  8. MTDEW

    MTDEW Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    4,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    No, latest info i know of was posted by an AMD rep at Overclock.net forums today. (post #424)

     
    #683 MTDEW, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  9. SirPauly

    SirPauly Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,187
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Rvenger

    Rvenger Elite Member <br> Super Moderator <br> Video Cards
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    7890 instead of a 7930 I guess. Probably won't see in the US though, just like the 6930.
     
  11. Souv

    Souv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. joe_H

    joe_H Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like 12.11 Beta 6 has been released:

    http://www2.ati.com/drivers/beta/AMD_Catalyst_12.11_Beta6.exe
    http://www2.ati.com/drivers/beta/AMD_Catalyst_12.11_Beta6_dotNET4.exe

    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst1211betadriver.aspx
     
    #687 joe_H, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  13. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. Souv

    Souv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    :thumbsup:the diff between 7950 and 7870 is large...hence to reduce the gap amd is working upon a tahiti le card which performs in between 7950 and 7870(7950,7890,7870)

    http://www.fudzilla.com/home/item/29366-amd-working-on-another-tahiti-gpu

    "The Tahiti LE graphic processing unit&#8217;s performance would end up between the Radeon HD 7950 and Radeon HD 7870 and would be made up from the left over chips which couldn&#8217;t qualify to enter the Radeon HD 7970 or HD 7950."


     
    #690 Souv, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2012
  15. Dankk

    Dankk Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Noob question: This driver isn't out of beta yet, correct? These optimizations haven't made it to a stable release but probably will this month?
     
  16. Souv

    Souv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    with 12.11beta ,7900 series beats Kepler counterpart
    ----http://www.legionhardware.com/articles_pagesprinter/his_7970_iceq_xsup2_ghz_edition_7950_iceq_xsup2_bo ost_clock,1.html
    frostbite 2 crown also goes to 7900 series--
    ---http://www.techspot.com/review/591-medal-of-honor-warfighter-benchmarks/

    (7890 will outperform 660ti and 7950 boost is comparable to gtx 670...and due to huge oc potential of gcn and lower price tag,7950 boost gives gtx 680 run for the money right out of the box as kepler has locked voltages and very low oc potential...even ref 7950 goes to 1200 core....emotianally invested people should research it before buying blindly....
     
  17. blastingcap

    blastingcap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6,653
    Likes Received:
    1
    beta not fully stable for me, imma wait for more stable version
     
  18. Endymion FRS

    Endymion FRS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a changelog of all the beta versions? I'm on Beta 4 and wonder what I missed, if its worth it to upgrade or just wait for the official version.
     
  19. dmoney1980

    dmoney1980 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    The beta drivers were causing BSOD's for me
     
  20. VulgarDisplay

    VulgarDisplay Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actual BSOD's? Usually with a GPU driver issue I don't get a BSOD I get a driver has stopped responding pop up, and then things go back to normal.

    Could be something else wrong, or you're oc'ed too much.
     
  21. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    7950 avg is more like 1100 or lower. Not 1200mhz, that is lucky.
     
  22. Souv

    Souv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    appropriate fan profile should be set to reach 1200 on core ....i reached max 1200/1300 on ref amd...on youtube some reached even higher than that even on hd 7950 ref model(eg-1150/1550) or more...even some on diff forums said they reach 1200...may be their room ambient temp is relatively cooler than mine...i live in India and temp here is very high...my gpu temp runs from 85-90c:wub: with 99% core utilisation...haha
    I also asked sapphire tech support that if my gpu temp is at the safe zone,they said it's normal ...the gpu can hold upto 105c and if vrm exceeds 108c the computer itself would shut down to prevent damage....ok
     
    #698 Souv, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012
  23. Red Hawk

    Red Hawk Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,900
    Likes Received:
    46
    I RMAed my 7870 because of texture artifacting I was having, so I'm back on my old 5770 and decided to try out the latest beta. I'm on 12.11 Beta 8, no problems so far.

    I also noticed this in the beta release notes right after I sent in my 7870:

    "Resolves performance issues (where GPU activity runs at lower values than expected) seen on the AMD Radeon HD 7870."

    Ha, that probably explains some slowdowns I was having in 3DMark11 and some other games, which I was also attributing to the card being defective. Oh well, I'm fairly certain that the texture artifacting I was having was still to blame on the card itself.

    Edit: My laptop still won't recognize that the 12.11 beta installer has a newer display driver to install. It hasn't recognized newer display drivers since 12.8. :(
     
    #699 Red Hawk, Nov 24, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
  24. SPBHM

    SPBHM Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU usage issues? I thought it happened only with "Enduro" on the notebooks...

    what sort of texture issues? was your card stable? because many 7870 had bad capacitors causing problems
    http://www.behardware.com/news/12705/black-screens-and-radeon-hd7870-a-solution.html