work dress code

Alex

Diamond Member
Oct 26, 1999
i'm a system administrator for a small (30 ppl) HR company... i've worked summers here when I was 17 and 18 and now at 22 i'm hired full-time...

what i really like about this job is that I'm allowed to wear my piercings (3 visible) and have long hair. I also don't have to shave at all and usually look kinda scruffy... i usually just shave my stache and let the rest of my facial hair run rampant... oh and i never tuck my shirt in! :p

good times... feeling and dressing comfortably really makes you more productive at work, or at least on ATOT... ;)

what about you guys?

rsd

Platinum Member
Dec 30, 2003
good luck getting a real job in the corporate world looking like that (though it is cool that your current job lets you look like a slob :) )

Edit: Wasn't trying to be too harsh, but just honest. If you go to an interview and look "inappropriate" I guarantee it will hurt your chances all things being equal.

Demon-Xanth

Lifer
Feb 15, 2000
My boss is pretty cool, but the director of HR told me not to wear my "I solve my problems with violence" T-shirt anymore.

Feb 10, 2000
I'm a litigation attorney and I wear jeans and a polo shirt much of the time. Whenever I have a client meeting or hearing I wear a suit, but that's the minority of the time.

OpenThirdEye

Golden Member
Oct 3, 2004
It's very casual where I work! Now that it's colder out, it's jeans and hoodies every day. :) I'm also allowed to keep my piercings in: both lobes, industrial, and labret. I keep the open-ended U-shaped retainer in my septum tucked away during the day. The labret really doesn't show through very much since I have a soul patch that covers it up for the most part.

If there's a meeting/presentation I need to give or I'm in the public eye, all the metal comes out and it's a suit.