Why is LightRoom so slow?

Discussion in 'Windows' started by ehume, Sep 15, 2018.

  1. ehume

    ehume Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    29
    My daughter recently installed LightRoom 6 to handle the RAW files (24+ MB each!) from a Canon Rebel 7Ti. The system has an i7 4790k with 16GB RAM and a GTX 970 graphics card. The OS drive is a 1st gen 750GB Samsung SSD. IIRC it is an 840 EVO, slightly more than 2/3 full. The OS is Win 10. She has complained to me that it is slow, and has had me wait for the changes to show up when she makes them. It does take a while.

    I'll admit I have not let myself get drawn into the Adobe ecosystem, so I know nothing about how any of it works. The sizes of the RAW images, for example, are estimates, because the images are "imported" directly into LR, and don't show up as files.

    Have I misconfigured her system? Has the OS SSD gotten too old? Does the GTX 970 lack horsepower? We are puzzled.
     
    #1 ehume, Sep 15, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2018
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - LightRoom slow Forum Date
    VMWare - why is it so slow sometimes inside the VM ? Windows Oct 2, 2018
    Quick question for Adobe Lightroom. (Currently using Aperture.) Windows Aug 7, 2014
    what exactly is lightroom used for? Windows May 14, 2010
    Adobe Lightroom Windows Jul 5, 2007
    Adobe Lightroom Windows May 1, 2007

  3. CuriousMike

    CuriousMike Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,868
    Likes Received:
    262
    LR is slow. It just is. It's slow to import. It's slow to do certain masking changes. It's just... slow.
    It loves single-threaded performance. It loves Intel.
    You have the right CPU - if there's any overclocking headroom, that will help but maybe not the help that is supremely noticeable.

    Multi-cores help if you're batch exporting a bunch of images - but unfortunately that's not a common occurrence.

    Puget Systems has done some Adobe profiling in the past - you might google "Puget Lightroom" and see what articles come up.
    https://www.pugetsystems.com/recommended/Recommended-Systems-for-Adobe-Lightroom-Classic-CC-141
     
  4. ehume

    ehume Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thanks, Mike.
     
  5. lxskllr

    lxskllr No Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    50,629
    Likes Received:
    2,390
    You might want to look at darktable...

    https://www.darktable.org/

    I don't know much about it aside from it being somewhat similar to lightroom. It likely won't be exactly like lightroom, and maybe doesn't have the features you need, but it's free to try, only costing you time.
     
  6. ehume

    ehume Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thanks mxnerd. I watched all three videos and they are dynamite. I copied your reply and forwarded it to my daughter.
     
  7. PliotronX

    PliotronX Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 1999
    Messages:
    8,874
    Likes Received:
    103
    I do know that the 840 TLC (evo/non evo) series suffered from read speed degradation and required firmware updates. Not sure if its a disk subsystem bottleneck though because Adobe software is not all that well optimized..
     
    ehume likes this.
  8. ehume

    ehume Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thanks!
     
  9. bfun_x1

    bfun_x1 Senior member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    102

    LR is the only program I've ever used where changing the clock speed made a perceivable speed difference. Running LR6 on a 3570k at 3.4GHz actually caused me to think several of my pictures were out of focus because it would take several seconds to draw the images after I opened them. OCing to 4.2 made a huge difference. It probably shaved 3 to 4 seconds off opening each image which was considerable when I was going through 100s of images. Now I have a 2600X and the open transition is < 1 second which is acceptable. Importing images is still a slow but I expect that has more to do with drive speed.
     
  10. ehume

    ehume Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thanks. The six-core i7 8700k, overclocked to 4.8 GHz should be better than her four-core 4790k clocked to 4 GHz. Yes?
     
  11. CuriousMike

    CuriousMike Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,868
    Likes Received:
    262
    Clock speed. LR loves clock speed.
    The 4790 at 4.8 would do better than the 8700 at 4.0
     
  12. bfun_x1

    bfun_x1 Senior member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    102
    In theory, but I don't know for sure. On the 3570k the transitions at 3.4GHz probably took 4 to 6 seconds. At 4.2 it probably dropped to 1.5 seconds. It think giving your 4790k a small OC would be an easy test.

    Checkout some of those other fixes as well. You might have a legitimate problem somewhere else. I'm also using LR 6 and it has a very annoying bug that requires it to be re-installed after certain Windows updates.
     
    ehume likes this.
  13. bigi

    bigi Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    38
    LR scales well up to 4 cores. More is just a waste. I run mine with catalog and cache on Intel 750 PCI-E SSD. I have 64GB of RAM and 1080Ti.

    LR is slow, period. I just got it barely to work to justify its use. I downgraded from D810 to Sony RX10, so my RAW files are MUCH smaller.

    Can't imagine using RL with 50-100 Mpix cameras and their huge raw files.
     
    CuriousMike likes this.