Where should I start, and any suggestions?(job search)

Amol S.

Platinum Member
Mar 14, 2015
Hello :) , I am a undergrad in my final semester in college. I will be graduating in May 2018. I am studying Computer Science with a concentration in Network Security (Cyber Security could be presumed as included inside that). I am looking for a full time entry-lvl job.

The only worry I have is that I never have gone for an internship yet. I also would like to not relocate my self for a job. Thus I am looking somewhere in and around New York City.

I would really appreciate any type of feedback from the forum community.

Thank you in advance.

Last edited:

BurnItDwn

Lifer
Oct 10, 1999
Are there any companies in NYC that you like or admire a lot? Maybe start on their webpage to see what openings they have? Otherwise, you could always use the newspaper classifieds or one of the million "job sites."

Reactions: Amol S.

deadlyapp

Diamond Member
Apr 25, 2004
If you have not had an internship or a co-op, then you'll be in sad state against anyone who has. Hopefully you have at least some job experience in your field during college, otherwise you'll really, reallllly need to network and know somebody.

My recommendations:
- Go to the school job fairs. Pick out several companies that you know will be there and genuinely research them and be interested. Talk to their people at the job fairs. You might get a cursory interview just from this
- Network in any way you can. Talk to professors that you have done well with. Talk to other friends who may already have job offers. You need a way in.
- Join any groups you can while still a student (reduced fees typically). This basically goes along with the networking thing. Go to any socials, meetings, etc that they may do.