What controls Turbo Core in Xeons?

Page 92 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Methanoid

Junior Member
Mar 16, 2017
13
3
81
I haven't downloaded yet, but if they are booting in EFI mode, you would:
1. mod the bios as required for your system to remove the ucode
2. add the .EFI desired it to the EFI folder
3. (do this once)
a. boot into an efi shell (shellx64.efi or equivalent)
b. bcfg driver add 0 fsN:\EFI\your.efi "v3 Turbo"
where "N" is the drive that has the EFI folder and "your.efi" is the desired efi for your setup

If you clear your CMOS, upgrade your bios or have a dual bios system and switch to the other, you will need to repeat #3 once.

As long as the .EFI file remains in the same place, you can even swap out different ones, the "bcfg" call creates a "reference". That is, if you call bcfg driver add 0 fs0:\EFI\V3.EFI "v3 Turbo" then any file you put there called "V3.EFI" will be read in at boot.

Keep in mind that some of the settings are "sticky" and survive a "warm-boot" so you may have to power down completely for the changes to take effect, but you can change them simply by copying the desired file to the name matching the bcfg driver call...
@cekim - did you ever do this?
 

rottwag

Member
Apr 2, 2017
77
11
41
Asus Z10PA-D8 E5-2996v3
v3x4-0.10b-i306f2-rc9_90_70_50.efi

CPU clocks 3100-3200. 4952 cb! :)
What should I push next temps are solid!?





Can you raise your BCLK? You could at least raise it to 100.3 as you seem to have 99,76 in real life.

Besides that usually 100,9 oder 101,9 often is stable without any risks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: shotoflove

shotoflove

Junior Member
Feb 22, 2018
11
1
36
Can you raise your BCLK? You could at least raise it to 100.3 as you seem to have 99,76 in real life.

Besides that usually 100,9 oder 101,9 often is stable without any risks.
Sure, I'll try and compile it tonight. What does 100,9 oder mean?

Also, I was debating if I should try powercut driver with Z10PA-D8 motherboard. I also have a Z10PE-D8 coming in the mail that I'm debating if it is better to use powercut drivers.

Single thread scores too low. The processor speed seems to be stuck in a heavy load speed at single threaded loads. Do you use microcode?

If you are using microcode but multiplier still stucks change power profile few times
Thanks, I'll check this tonight as well. Yes, microcode 0x39. The CPU had three power options Normal, Extreme and then High. I previously used Extreme, since it was the middle option, but recently changed it to High... I'll try changing it back to Extreme to see if it makes a difference. Intel VTx is also disabled to try and feed the beast.
 

rottwag

Member
Apr 2, 2017
77
11
41
Sure, I'll try and compile it tonight. What does 100,9 oder mean?

Also, I was debating if I should try powercut driver with Z10PA-D8 motherboard. I also have a Z10PE-D8 coming in the mail that I'm debating if it is better to use powercut drivers.



Thanks, I'll check this tonight as well. Yes, microcode 0x39. The CPU had three power options Normal, Extreme and then High. I previously used Extreme, since it was the middle option, but recently changed it to High... I'll try changing it back to Extreme to see if it makes a difference. Intel VTx is also disabled to try and feed the beast.
Oder = or (Sorry, German auto autocorrection)

I tried different microcodes 27, 39, 3A and 1F.

1F runs best (besides no microcode).

What also helps:
In Windows 10 In "energy options" in the "processor management" raise the "minimum Performance status" (Translated from German, maybe named differently in english) from 5% to 45% ==> 45% appears to be ideal as all cores clock down to 1,2 Ghz when idle, but cores get faster to higher multis under load.. .brought me better results in cinebench without any disadvantages,
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: shotoflove

Cata40

Member
Mar 2, 2017
156
6
81
@cekim - did you ever do this?
Cekim will not answer you, it was not long ago on the site
Explain a little bit about how to boot with EFI
This is the stick made specifically to copy V3.efi into the efi system, to boot with it
It's just the clear explanation in the first 10 pages of what Xeon turbo control
 

shotoflove

Junior Member
Feb 22, 2018
11
1
36
Cinebench hits 5300 on my Z10PA-D8 when using -80 or -90mV vcore 1.9V vccin from freecableguy, but temps reach a stable 59C compared to 50C on non-powercut -90mV vcore. I'm going to try MOF's efi drivers tonight with 1.8 and 1.7V to see if it reduces the temps a bit. :)



For power cut you need to set vccin voltage to fixed value. I do not recommend getting over 1.800 volts.

I did a lot of VCC tests on my system and I couldnt get any gain. 1.35 to 2.1 volts vccin results almost was same. Higher values also makes cpu hot, low value makes unstable. Best range from 1.5 to 1.8v..
I'll report back with results on temp difference.
 
Last edited:

rottwag

Member
Apr 2, 2017
77
11
41
Cinebench hits 5300 on my Z10PA-D8 when using -80 or -90mV vcore 1.9V vccin from freecableguy, but temps reach a stable 59C compared to 50C on non-powercut -90mV vcore. I'm going to try MOF's efi drivers tonight with 1.8 and 1.7V to see if it reduces the temps a bit. :)





I'll report back with results on temp difference.

Nice score!!!

I doubt that your CPUs run stable with offset 80mV...
 

shotoflove

Junior Member
Feb 22, 2018
11
1
36
I'll report back with results on temp difference.
Running MOF's powercut v3x2_60-50-50_vcc1.8.efi without ucode 39 (I loaded it with VMware previously). Cinebench is 5200 and 12 cores hit a max of 50-53C, but for the most part, everything is south of 50C. Any chance you posted or will post the following efi's?

v3x2_70-50-50_vcc1.8.efi
v3x2_80-50-50_vcc1.8.efi
v3x2_90-50-50_vcc1.8.efi
 

txgy

Member
Apr 24, 2017
29
1
41
Running MOF's powercut v3x2_60-50-50_vcc1.8.efi without ucode 39 (I loaded it with VMware previously). Cinebench is 5200 and 12 cores hit a max of 50-53C, but for the most part, everything is south of 50C. Any chance you posted or will post the following efi's?

v3x2_70-50-50_vcc1.8.efi
v3x2_80-50-50_vcc1.8.efi
v3x2_90-50-50_vcc1.8.efi
uncore vdrop and sa vdrop has no effect, is that true ?
@MOF
 

rottwag

Member
Apr 2, 2017
77
11
41
Why? I have 2x 360 radiators and 6 fans on each doing push/pull. Seems fine, no?
You will not get a temperature issue, but voltage tend to be too low to keep the CPUs running stable for 24/7 use.
What is your CPU multi with 80mV offset? 34x with microcode / 35x without microcode?

I started with 75mV offset after I thought that it was stable... now after several weeks (and some strange random hangups) I final have 60mV offset.. but THIS is now really stable and I did not face a single crash since then :)

24/7 stable 80mV offset fpr Vcore would be really good!!
 

MOF

Member
Jul 31, 2017
118
33
101
There is no one software that will fully test the stability of the processor. Prime95 is not enough to say "that cpu is a stable." Your cpu can pass 4 days long prime95 test but it will crash after few minutes of gaming.

Constant heavy load tests good for checking cooling system but those tests are not really the worst case scenarios for cpus.
The nightmare of power management systems is voltage and current spikes. Cpu will can work under extreme undervolting or overclocking, but may be there no room for to tolerate the spikes and voltage fluctuations (That's also answer why intel is using a "relatively" high voltage question.)

Which situations creates spikes? Almost everything. Every software that generate an unpredictable small process like a gaming, browsing, etc etc can creates spikes.

That's why VRMs too important.
 
Last edited:

shpitz461

Junior Member
Feb 5, 2010
5
1
81
I've read every page, and been monitoring CPU prices for months now.
Some of you guys got amazing deals on the 2696, but currently it runs $1000+.

My question is: at this high-cost, is it still worth going with this ca. 2013 technology? or should I go with a Threadripper or something? Looking for ECC support.
 

Cata40

Member
Mar 2, 2017
156
6
81
now that you have opened this subject, what is the difference between 2696 and 7980x? Enconfding, rendering etc?
Is it over 2696 long?
It is worth taking if it finds half the price, compared to the official, about the price of threadripper ??
 

shpitz461

Junior Member
Feb 5, 2010
5
1
81
The clocks on the 7980xe are much higher to begin with, so out of the box it is a much faster performer. Even with the microcode hack the 2696 cannot compete with it.
Here's the feature comparison between the 2:

https://ark.intel.com/compare/81061,126699

The 7980xe has higher TDP so there should be more room for o/c compared to the 2696.
The 7980xe has 44 PCI lanes vs 40 on the 2696.
The 2696 has ECC support while the 7980xe doesn't.
The 7980xe has AVX-512 support while the 2696 has up to AVX2.
The 7980xe is 1P only while the 2696 is 2P (so you can expand your system by adding a 2nd cpu in the future).

The 7980xe is around $1900 so it's almost double the cost of the 2696, so even though they are not that much different, the cost is still substantial.

I'm currently running an i7-870 from 2010, so it's about time I upgrade, but still indecisive as to where I want to go. The 2696 platform is a bit old now, but the motherboards are still very capable and there is great choice, so that's not the issue.

I'm also hesitant to go with the 1950x Threadripper as it is a glue-job (2 cpus under a single package) so there are drawbacks which are shown in benchmarks. But the up-side is that it provide 64 PCI lanes.

I think i'm over-thinking all of this, too many options.

My goal is to setup an Unraid 6 server running 3-4 VM's, Emby, and of course NAS.
 

Cata40

Member
Mar 2, 2017
156
6
81
where I get it on 7980x costs about 1,000 euros
so it's half price and just like the price of a 1950x Threadripper
 

CrackSoftPC

Junior Member
Mar 13, 2018
1
0
1
Does anyone know for sure if you can get full speed with this tweak at 100% on the 18 core chips? Or does it fall back to 3.0Ghz? I'm about to knab a couple inexpensive used ones but will just get the 14 core chips if the 18 core models don't do the 3.5 or 3.8 at 100% load.
 

timk1980

Member
May 11, 2017
25
1
41
Does anyone know for sure if you can get full speed with this tweak at 100% on the 18 core chips? Or does it fall back to 3.0Ghz? I'm about to knab a couple inexpensive used ones but will just get the 14 core chips if the 18 core models don't do the 3.5 or 3.8 at 100% load.
You definitely won't get 3.8, the best I think anyone has been able to pull off is 3.5, with most folks maxing out closer to 3.3 or 3.4. In part, it depends a bit on your motherboard and how well it supplies steady/high voltage, your cooling to be able to dissipate the heat, and the chip(s) themselves to be able to tolerate some amount of undervolting to fit such high frequencies within the thermal envelope.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY