What controls Turbo Core in Xeons?

Page 64 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

kjboughton

Senior member
Dec 19, 2007
330
117
116
RC5 pre-built binaries are now available for download:
https://github.com/freecableguy/v3x4/releases/tag/v0.1b-rc5

includes voltage modifications... get ready for the magic to happen...

I *HIGHLY* recommend ucode 0x1F (27):
http://www.kristech.net/haswell/0x1F.zip

Also, some hints:
-- ENABLE C3
-- ENABLE C6
-- disable QPI Link0p (power savings) if you can
-- shutdown and power cycle PSU between driver changes and repeat attempt warm boots on boot failures... if MB complains of Overclock Failure, enter BIOS, and exit (discard changes) without reboot to continue
-- FIVR settings are retained between warm resets; multi changes are cleared on each boot regardless... this can cause some funny situations... just because a driver doesn't work the first couple of times doesn't mean it won't work and be totally stable at even higher clocks
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: MOF and custom90gt

MOF

Member
Jul 31, 2017
118
33
71
@kjboughton

v3x4_50x3.efi vcore offset looks like a "-90" not "-50"

With v3x4_90_50x2 i got all core 35x on cpuz bench but when i start cinebench drops 31x-32x. (145w TDP limits kicks)
 

kjboughton

Senior member
Dec 19, 2007
330
117
116
[With v3x4_90_50x2 i got all core 35x on cpuz bench but when i start cinebench drops 31x-32x. (145w TDP limits kicks)
What ucode?
Also, are you stable? should I build using higher negative Core offset voltage?
 
Last edited:

MOF

Member
Jul 31, 2017
118
33
71
What ucode?
Also, are you stable? should I build using higher negative Core offset voltage?
I tested with 0x1F, 0x27 and without ucode. I got best result without ucode.
Looks like stable.

My motherboard doesnt allow tdp limit increasing. 145w TDP limit allways there. Only with I can get better result with Randir's v3x2_50_vcc.efi and v3x2_50_39_vcc.efi drivers because those drivers blocking a tdp reading and shows 50w all time.

-0.090 volt is a very very good value, thats ok for me. Probably more than -90 will give a BSOD.

If you can make tdp reading mismatching like Randirs did, that will be perfect.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cata40

CANONKONG

Member
Jul 11, 2017
98
62
46
RC3 pre-built binaries are now available for download:
https://github.com/freecableguy/v3x4/releases/tag/rc3

includes voltage modifications... get ready for the magic to happen...

I *HIGHLY* recommend ucode 0x1F (27):
http://www.kristech.net/haswell/0x1F.zip

Also, some hints:
-- disable C3 but ENABLE C6
-- disable QPI Link0p (power savings) if you can
-- shutdown and power cycle PSU between driver changes and repeat attempt warm boots on boot failures... if MB complains of Overclock Failure, enter BIOS, and exit (discard changes) without reboot to continue
-- FIVR settings are retained between warm resets; multi changes are cleared on each boot regardless... this can cause some funny situations... just because a driver doesn't work the first couple of times doesn't mean it won't work and be totally stable at even higher clocks
Hi~,can you write this efi driver in FASM? Because the driver writing in source C can not work when it was a ffs file.or make an efi just for single cpu. Thank you.
 

Cata40

Member
Mar 2, 2017
156
6
81
Do not rush. First compiled version of v3x4 is a not much different other efi drivers at this time. Thats mean you cant get better result.

Inserting the driver into bios is must be a last thing to do. If everything works perfect an you get good results then you may inject efi driver to your bios.
I do not hurry, I said what results I had. Somehow it's better when it's in bios.
It was right Kjboughton, although I made flash to bios, no code, I put efi driver bcfg, but in windows it all opened with microcodes. I gave it a uncompact amicrocode and I see that it was left without microcode ls x31-32 with v3x4.efi
 

kjboughton

Senior member
Dec 19, 2007
330
117
116
Hi~,can you write this efi driver in FASM? Because the driver writing in source C can not work when it was a ffs file.or make an efi just for single cpu. Thank you.
1000 lines in C converted to FASM... no...

What I can do though is create .FFS files once we get out of the RC.
 

BradKay

Junior Member
Jun 22, 2017
6
0
66
RC3 pre-built binaries are now available for download:
https://github.com/freecableguy/v3x4/releases/tag/rc3

includes voltage modifications... get ready for the magic to happen...

I *HIGHLY* recommend ucode 0x1F (27):
http://www.kristech.net/haswell/0x1F.zip

Also, some hints:
-- disable C3 but ENABLE C6
-- disable QPI Link0p (power savings) if you can
-- shutdown and power cycle PSU between driver changes and repeat attempt warm boots on boot failures... if MB complains of Overclock Failure, enter BIOS, and exit (discard changes) without reboot to continue
-- FIVR settings are retained between warm resets; multi changes are cleared on each boot regardless... this can cause some funny situations... just because a driver doesn't work the first couple of times doesn't mean it won't work and be totally stable at even higher clocks
Is there a particular reason for disabling C3 state? what benefits have you observed in comparison to enabling both c3 and c6? Thanks
 

Cata40

Member
Mar 2, 2017
156
6
81
RC3 pre-built binaries are now available for download:
https://github.com/freecableguy/v3x4/releases/tag/rc3

includes voltage modifications... get ready for the magic to happen...

I *HIGHLY* recommend ucode 0x1F (27):
http://www.kristech.net/haswell/0x1F.zip

Also, some hints:
-- disable C3 but ENABLE C6
-- disable QPI Link0p (power savings) if you can
-- shutdown and power cycle PSU between driver changes and repeat attempt warm boots on boot failures... if MB complains of Overclock Failure, enter BIOS, and exit (discard changes) without reboot to continue
-- FIVR settings are retained between warm resets; multi changes are cleared on each boot regardless... this can cause some funny situations... just because a driver doesn't work the first couple of times doesn't mean it won't work and be totally stable at even higher clocks
for me, with kjboughton's new drivers, except for 3x4 without voltaje, I have no stability with the system
my processor compares very well with -50 and -65 offsets
 

kjboughton

Senior member
Dec 19, 2007
330
117
116
for me, with kjboughton's new drivers, except for 3x4 without voltaje, I have no stability with the system
my processor compares very well with -50 and -65 offsets
I have decided to remove the SA offset capability as it seems to require what it requires and lowering this setpoint leads to critical failure locks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cata40

wiseguyuk

Member
Sep 16, 2017
32
4
41
I have the same board as @kjboughton . I flashed with the modified BIOS he posted. For the life of me , I am not able to disable secure boot. How to I disable secure boot on Z10PE-D8 WS to start UEFI Shell to load EFI driver?

Can you please tell me breifly,

For Z10PE-D8 WS board
  • How to flash a ROM file ?
  • How to disable secure boot ?

Thank you in advance.
 
Last edited:

KW8cSgF53G

Junior Member
Oct 4, 2017
9
3
51
I have decided to remove the SA offset capability as it seems to require what it requires and lowering this setpoint leads to critical failure locks.
Many thanks for releasing the downvoltage versions of EFI drivers!

But before you remove the SA negative voltage offsets feature,
i hoping that you can re-compile the "v3x4_50x3.efi" and update(just edit) the current RC3 release for the last time,
cause it's IA downvoltage actually is "-90mV" instead of it should be ("-50mv"),
for ensure long-term stability, and i wanna keep it as a treasure!

Appreciate your work!

(Sorry for my bad english.)
 
Last edited:

kjboughton

Senior member
Dec 19, 2007
330
117
116
I have the same board as @kjboughton . I flashed with the modified BIOS he posted. For the life of me , I am not able to disable secure boot. How to I disable secure boot on Z10PE-D8 WS to start UEFI Shell to load EFI driver?

Can you please tell me breifly,

For Z10PE-D8 WS board
  • How to flash a ROM file ?
  • How to disable secure boot ?

Thank you in advance.
I found the EFI Shell load option in the BIOS to be a ruse. You'll need to create your own boot source using a publically-available solution with a FAT32-formatted USB drive, would be my recommendation.

Also, the bug with secure boot.... it's just that... a bug that is throwing you off from the real issue.
 

Cata40

Member
Mar 2, 2017
156
6
81
What it is pc 650,900, 950?
Edit:
dear friend, I tried that evening the first 4 efi drivers in the last series with offset, revised
tomorrow I try all that's left
it is true that I have a cooler on the water, but also the temperatures are very low, max 55 degrees
Can I enter bios?
goes with the conversion of efi ffs and then bios into dxe core ??
all goes well, one can see a specialist
a sincere bravo
 
Last edited:

wiseguyuk

Member
Sep 16, 2017
32
4
41
@kjboughton Thank you very much for your reply
I managed to get the efi bootable usb & I was able to load the efi driver,
Unfortunately looks like BIOS has not flashed properly.



So I tried again , here are my steps.

  • I put your mod bios file in the same folder as Asus BRenamer folder.
  • It renames mod_Z10PE-D8-WS-ASUS-3407.ROM to Z10PEWS.CAP
  • I format an old usb 2.0 disk to fat32. I put this file in a root of the usb stick.
  • I insert the usb into the USB Flashback slot and press the bios flash button until it flashes a few times.
  • when I release it, it just lit continuously. that means it didn't work.

What am I doing wrong ?

Edit : Does this mean it is working ?

When I run benchmarks, all the cores run at 2.78 GHz.

This is my CPU-Z screenshot
 
Last edited:

kjboughton

Senior member
Dec 19, 2007
330
117
116
@kjboughton Thank you very much for your reply
I managed to get the efi bootable usb & I was able to load the efi driver,
Unfortunately looks like BIOS has not flashed properly.

So I tried again , here are my steps.

  • I put your mod bios file in the same folder as Asus BRenamer folder.
  • It renames mod_Z10PE-D8-WS-ASUS-3407.ROM to Z10PEWS.CAP
  • I format an old usb 2.0 disk to fat32. I put this file in a root of the usb stick.
  • I insert the usb into the USB Flashback slot and press the bios flash button until it flashes a few times.
  • when I release it, it just lit continuously. that means it didn't work.

What am I doing wrong ?
You probably need one of these:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01I1EU9LG/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Ultimately, this is how I flashed the BIOS for my system... remove chip, program, replace.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY