• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

What controls Turbo Core in Xeons?

Page 118 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
179
17
51
Thanks. If we consider the motherboard of Asus Z PE 10 D8-WS / D16WS, there are instructions on how to unlock turboboost on all cores on two 2697 v3? And can it all be done on Ubuntu 18.04?
I'm not sure if it will work on Ubuntu 18.04 or not, but it will work in windows 10 v1804 and later. Check my previous posts, i have done this mod with dual 2686v3 on Z10PED16-WS. I got stable 3.25Ghz (x31*105mhz) on all 36 cores 72 threads. If only 20 cores enabled, then speed was fixed at (x35*105mhz) = 3.67Ghz. This resulted idle power consumption to jump to 220w and max power consumption was around 600w in cinebench R15/R20.
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
179
17
51
Hi all,

I am running a Xeon 2696 v3 @ 101,9BLCK @ 33x all core turbo on an Asus x99-II since the very beginning of this thread! (rock stable never had a BSOD while in daily use!!)

As the multi goes up when deactivating cores due to higher watt limit per core
(16c = 34x
14c = 35x
12c = 36x
10c = 37x
8c = 38x)
The multi does not change at all when deactivating HT! As power consumption is lower when HT is deactivated, i assumed that all core turbo (18c/18t) should get higher.

Does anybody know why? And how i possibly could change that?
U should get x38 on 10 cores with HT enabled. How much undervolt you're using ? I'm running my rig at 105mhz BCLK from last 8 months, only faced 2-3 random crashes till now.
 

rottwag

Member
Apr 2, 2017
74
11
41
U should get x38 on 10 cores with HT enabled. How much undervolt you're using ? I'm running my rig at 105mhz BCLK from last 8 months, only faced 2-3 random crashes till now.
I thought to get multi 38x @10c/20t jn the past.. but this may have changed for whatever reason during the last years?? I did not change anything the last few years...

I drive -60-45-40 ... Multi changed from 33x to 34x @18c/36t with -75-45-40.. but this was not fully stable... Therefor i increased the first voltage value to the highest value before multi changed from 33x to 32x to get max stable 33x multi (as 34x was out of reach anyway).

So there ist some air left (-65 od
Or so).… Maybe this would cause to increase the multi when some cores are deactivated.


Regarding BCLK: i had a 2618L before i bought the 2696. Withe the 2618L bclk of 104,9 was stable.... But when i changed to the 2696 more than 101,9 ist not stable somehow... I read that increasing PCH voltage could help but never tried it....
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
179
17
51
I thought to get multi 38x @10c/20t jn the past.. but this may have changed for whatever reason during the last years?? I did not change anything the last few years...

I drive -60-45-40 ... Multi changed from 33x to 34x @18c/36t with -75-45-40.. but this was not fully stable... Therefor i increased the first voltage value to the highest value before multi changed from 33x to 32x to get max stable 33x multi (as 34x was out of reach anyway).

So there ist some air left (-65 od
Or so).… Maybe this would cause to increase the multi when some cores are deactivated.


Regarding BCLK: i had a 2618L before i bought the 2696. Withe the 2618L bclk of 104,9 was stable.... But when i changed to the 2696 more than 101,9 ist not stable somehow... I read that increasing PCH voltage could help but never tried it....
It seems bclk OC depends on silicon lottery. I'm using QS version of 2686v3. What u-code you're using ? Try u-code 27, it will make your CPU always run at x38 with only 10 cores with HT enabled, but this results in higher idle power consumption. You can also try it without any u-code, it should get 100mhz more with 18 cores enabled in AVX2 load like cinebench R20, but this time cpu will idle at stock 2.3ghz and will only boost under load. With my Z10PED16-WS, max CPU power consumption is ~420w with this mod at stock BIOS settings. I changed CPU VRM Switching frequency to "ultra fast" and CPU LLC and CPU power phase control to max. This resulted total CPU powers consumption to be ~600w reported in corsair link.
 
Last edited:

rottwag

Member
Apr 2, 2017
74
11
41
I think I use u-code 40 (need to look it up once i left my bed this morning^^). I tried several u-codes in the past and this one performed best.

Running no u-code at all i tried as well, but this made me unhappy: multi was 34x but Performance was worse! Besides that i had strange behaviour when waking up from standby and other things... So no u-code is no Option for me.

Does your multi increase when deactivating HT? If not, do you have an explanation?
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
179
17
51
I think I use u-code 40 (need to look it up once i left my bed this morning^^). I tried several u-codes in the past and this one performed best.

Running no u-code at all i tried as well, but this made me unhappy: multi was 34x but Performance was worse! Besides that i had strange behaviour when waking up from standby and other things... So no u-code is no Option for me.

Does your multi increase when deactivating HT? If not, do you have an explanation?
Did you enable C3 and disable C6 in BIOS ? Without this i faced bootloops, crash at startup and all.

No u-code gives you higher in AVX2 load like corona / CB R20. This is useful if you use rig for rendering purpose. I get ~5300CB in CB R15 with this, you can check my previous benchmark post.

No, multiplier stays same with HT enabled/disabled.

Also try u-code 27, CPU will always idle at max multiplier. Your rig will be much more faster for daily use workloads
 
Last edited:

Djordjemasinac

Junior Member
Apr 26, 2017
16
1
41
I have an e5-2678v3, on an X99-TF board, and i am having an issue with the efi driver. If i use the V3.EFI (one of the first here) i get max clocks in cinebench R15, cpu-z etc, but in mixed workloads i don't get 3.3, for instance when mining monero on 10 cores, or gaming, loading websites etc. If i use freecableguys r9, then i don't get 3.3 in cinebench and the power consumption is higher than with V3.EFI on 3.3, also i get freezes when restarting the pc.

Additionally, how can you change the microcode?
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
179
17
51
I have an e5-2678v3, on an X99-TF board, and i am having an issue with the efi driver. If i use the V3.EFI (one of the first here) i get max clocks in cinebench R15, cpu-z etc, but in mixed workloads i don't get 3.3, for instance when mining monero on 10 cores, or gaming, loading websites etc. If i use freecableguys r9, then i don't get 3.3 in cinebench and the power consumption is higher than with V3.EFI on 3.3, also i get freezes when restarting the pc.

Additionally, how can you change the microcode?
 

Djordjemasinac

Junior Member
Apr 26, 2017
16
1
41
Holy redacted, thanks a lot! I installed the 39 one and suddenly everything works correctly. However i still cannot bypass the power limit, is there any way to do this? How about changing the blck from 99.76 to 100?

We have a zero tolerance policy for pfanity in the tech sub-forums.

Iron Woode
Super moderator
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rottwag

Member
Apr 2, 2017
74
11
41
I figured out that multi @18c/36T changes from 33x to 34x at 75-45-40... At 74-45-40 it only goes up to 33x.

Interesting is, that limited to 10C/20T, the change between multi 37x vs 38x is a bit lower (77-45-40 vs 76-45-40)!

Would it help to optimize the other 2 voltages (-45-40) to achieve a bit more headroom for the cpu core voltage??
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
179
17
51
Were there any critical bugs fixed between those versions? Which one is the latest? Also, it won't let me bypass the 120W limit anyway, have you found a way to do so?
I don't know about any bug fixes, but for my dual 2686v3, u-code 39 gives max multiplier of x26 under heavy all core load. With u-code 27, i get max multiplier of x31 under heavy all core load. 120w TDP is already bypassed, without this mod, CPU only load power consumption was under 350watts. Now its ~600watts.

Check my post #2599, #2660, #2804
 

Djordjemasinac

Junior Member
Apr 26, 2017
16
1
41
Weird, on ucode 39 i get full turbo already, and with ucode 27 i do as well but there is an avx offset not present with 39. Also i can't bypass the 120W tdp limit with either, anything higher and it throttles at 120W. On freecableguys efi i throttle at an even lower point because the integrated vr efficiency mode is off and the cpu is less efficient.
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
179
17
51
Weird, on ucode 39 i get full turbo already, and with ucode 27 i do as well but there is an avx offset not present with 39. Also i can't bypass the 120W tdp limit with either, anything higher and it throttles at 120W. On freecableguys efi i throttle at an even lower point because the integrated vr efficiency mode is off and the cpu is less efficient.
Did you check my post #2599, #2660, #2804, TDP is already bypassed.
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
179
17
51
I see you did it, but in your posts i haven't found how to do it.
When i was using this mod on Gigabyte X99 Gaming 5p, i had to set CPU TDP limit to 4095 in BIOS. I didn't had to do such on my asus Z10PED16-WS. Also try to set uncore ratio to lowest, this will increase your multiplier.

Also in many softwares like HWinfo / core temp you'll see CPU TDP never reaching 145w, that is fake, check your power consumption with kill-a-watt meter for actual power consumption. Corsair link also shows correct power consumption.
 

rottwag

Member
Apr 2, 2017
74
11
41
Hey,

another question: I use now 10C/20T @-75-47-42 @ 101,9 BCLK @ 3,87 Ghz all core and it seems to be stable....

In HWinfo, I see still 18C/36T.... I deactivated the cores via the msconfig in Win10...

Does it make a difference to deactivate cores in msconfig or BIOS? (power consumption? are those deactivated cores really off?)
 

Djordjemasinac

Junior Member
Apr 26, 2017
16
1
41
When i was using this mod on Gigabyte X99 Gaming 5p, i had to set CPU TDP limit to 4095 in BIOS. I didn't had to do such on my asus Z10PED16-WS. Also try to set uncore ratio to lowest, this will increase your multiplier.

Also in many softwares like HWinfo / core temp you'll see CPU TDP never reaching 145w, that is fake, check your power consumption with kill-a-watt meter for actual power consumption. Corsair link also shows correct power consumption.
No such luck here on the Huananzhi board, no setting in the bios allows me to bypass the 120W limit. How do you change the blck? Mine is at 99.76, and i want to get it to 100.
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
179
17
51
No such luck here on the Huananzhi board, no setting in the bios allows me to bypass the 120W limit. How do you change the blck? Mine is at 99.76, and i want to get it to 100.
If this turbo mod is working for you, then I'm sure your CPU is drawing more than 120w, you should confirm it with watt-meter. I think Huananzhi board doesn't have option to change bclk, it is same as any other server motherboard with no overclocking features (i maybe wrong as i haven't used this board).
 

Djordjemasinac

Junior Member
Apr 26, 2017
16
1
41
If this turbo mod is working for you, then I'm sure your CPU is drawing more than 120w, you should confirm it with watt-meter. I think Huananzhi board doesn't have option to change bclk, it is same as any other server motherboard with no overclocking features (i maybe wrong as i haven't used this board).
I don't have a wattmeter unfortunately, will probably get it. Yeah, there is no bios option, i thought there would be a way regardless.
 

chmilk

Junior Member
Dec 10, 2019
1
0
6
Hello, I have an Intel xeon E5-4627 v3 QS and a GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD3P motherboard. Where can I get the modified bios?
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY