• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

What controls Turbo Core in Xeons?

Page 120 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Zorg33

Junior Member
Oct 21, 2019
19
9
41
So there is a bios error, that prevents CPU to shift to single core max speed at x99-TF Huanan board.
You must have disabled the CPU power management in BIOS that results in static base clock on all cores, which is 2000MHz for your CPU.
Or the turbo boost is disabled in bios.
There are some combinations of the powermanagement settings that can cause this.
I suggest resetting the bios to defaults.
 

Roshik

Junior Member
Dec 7, 2019
7
0
6
Hey, guys. Recently unlocked turbobust on Windows 10, asus z10pe d16ws motherboard, two 2696 V3 processors. Now I need to unlock the turbo boost for the Ubuntu 18.04 lts system. How do I do this ? I am particularly interested in how to upload the processor microcode to Ubuntu? Tell me please.
 

Djordjemasinac

Junior Member
Apr 26, 2017
16
1
41
@MOF Hello MOF, could you please compile your 50_50_50 EFI with fixed voltage? My cpu is jumping between 1200 and 3300 and i am afraid at 1200 there might not be enough voltage with -50 wheareas it's enough at 3300. Also because i use the Huanan motherboard, i need vr efficiency mode on.

Thanks a lot!
 

phyrexiancure

Junior Member
Feb 8, 2020
4
1
36
Is there a guide to apply the turbo mod to an MSI x99 motherboard, specifically a x99A SLI Plus with and AMI UEFI bios. I found a guide on this thread for other motherboards brands but MSI was left out. Also hey, first time in this forum.
 

phyrexiancure

Junior Member
Feb 8, 2020
4
1
36
I'm assuming the only way to mod the bios for MSI x99 boards is pretty elaborate because of the AMI Aptio V bios. I've found a discussion about modding MSI boards in this thread and but I haven't read through all they links they provided. Just to confirm does the MSI board that I have use the AMI Aptio V bios and does this bios require manually hacking the bios thats pretty elaborate?
 

Kaigloeckner

Junior Member
Feb 14, 2020
1
0
6
  • V3_MOF_505050.efi
  • V3_MOF_505050.ffs
  • V3_MOF_605050.efi
  • V3_MOF_605050.ffs
  • V3_MOF_705050.efi
  • V3_MOF_705050.ffs
  • V3_MOF_805050.efi
  • V3_MOF_805050.ffs
  • V3_MOF_905050.efi
  • V3_MOF_905050.ffs

If you want you can load these efi drivers directly from the efi shell for testing.

use "load" command
load fs5:\V3_MOF_505050.efi (loads efi driver)
fs1:\EFI\Boot\bootx64 (loads windows)
something like this, you get it. :)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1aBzuUedZkrQKlrnLHVekXhSEGfAx1Rb3/view?usp=sharing
Hello, could you please make more options between -90 mv and -150 mv. I tried to do it myself, but i cant get it. My processor 2640v3 can work with lower voltage than -90 mv. Thank you.
 

Erik7557

Junior Member
Feb 17, 2020
1
0
6
Im wondering i see an asus x99 modded bios for the max all core turbo. Does it mean i can use it with every asus x99 board or only one certain board? On all would be likely but just to be sure.
Thanks in advance!
 

scsi1989

Junior Member
Feb 16, 2020
2
0
6
Hi everyone,

I have a Asus X99 Deluxe II Bios 2101 & Xeon E5-2650v3.

I would like to know if someone can help me to mod my bios to force turbo on all core.

Thanks
 

Helheim

Junior Member
Apr 8, 2005
3
0
66
What's going to give better overall performance a V4 or a V3 with the same core count but the V3 with the turbo mod?
 

phyrexiancure

Junior Member
Feb 8, 2020
4
1
36
What's going to give better overall performance a V4 or a V3 with the same core count but the V3 with the turbo mod?
The V3 with turbo are much faster. I believe V4's are about 5% faster than V3's at the same clock but V3's are about 20-30% faster with the turbo mod and higher potential BCLK overclock.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Helheim

MOF

Member
Jul 31, 2017
117
32
71


Can you share all the files again? The previous link has expired
My domain is expired but you can still get those file, just replace "masterofphoton.com" to "https://s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/masterofphoton.com"

like that
 

Zorg33

Junior Member
Oct 21, 2019
19
9
41
anyone managed to unlock turbo on 306F1 Engineering Samples?
I searched, but I found only uncertain opinions.
 

ElFenix

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Mar 20, 2000
99,584
2,447
126
is this the thread for discussing cheap chinese X99 board combos
 
Last edited:

Fury13

Junior Member
Mar 8, 2020
10
0
6
Hi Guys and Gals.
New here, and i'm a little bit stuck.
Is there a clear walk through for an Asrock X99 Extreme 4?
Or can anyone provide the modded bios?
Been trying my luck to remove the microcodes but really not working out for me.
This is the screen I get after loading in the Bios from Asrock website and cannot work out how to remove the microcode...
BiosImg.png

Thanks.
 
Last edited:

Zorg33

Junior Member
Oct 21, 2019
19
9
41
Hi Guys and Gals.
New here, and i'm a little bit stuck.
Is there a clear walk through for an Asrock X99 Extreme 4?
Or can anyone provide the modded bios?
Been trying my luck to remove the microcodes but really not working out for me.
This is the screen I get after loading in the Bios from Asrock website and cannot work out how to remove the microcode...
View attachment 17878

Thanks.
Press 'V'
Delete the 306F2 line from the MCUpdate.txt (or comment it out with '#')
Press 'F'.
 

Fury13

Junior Member
Mar 8, 2020
10
0
6
Got it, thanks.
I guess it didn't click that you manually delete the line in an external editor.
 

Fury13

Junior Member
Mar 8, 2020
10
0
6
Press 'V'
Delete the 306F2 line from the MCUpdate.txt (or comment it out with '#')
Press 'F'.
Still having trouble after this sadly...
Stick the .bin file it makes on a USB, and then try and load it in the Bios with InstantFlash.... doesn't recognise the file?
Sorry i seem more illiterate at this than i first suspected.
Your help is much appreciated.
 

Zorg33

Junior Member
Oct 21, 2019
19
9
41
Still having trouble after this sadly...
Stick the .bin file it makes on a USB, and then try and load it in the Bios with InstantFlash.... doesn't recognise the file?
Sorry i seem more illiterate at this than i first suspected.
Your help is much appreciated.
Try to use AFU or FPT. There are many tutorials. But it's not 100% that they will work.
The best method is using an external programmer like TL866 or CH341. Clamps do not work for me, I always solder out the eeprom. It's not that hard.
 

Fury13

Junior Member
Mar 8, 2020
10
0
6
The Asrock X99 Extreme 4 has 2 socketable bios chips.
Makes it easy to remove/update atleast.
I have a Sofi SP16 at work I can borrow to try and flash.
Wish me luck. :D
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY