Take high paying job or stay in college?

Jugernot

Diamond Member
Oct 12, 1999
I'm a fulltime student and I work fulltime. My current job (Network manager as a company with around 20 employees) is really flexible with my school schedule (Bachelors in Technology, I already have a 2 year AAS degree as a computer tech) and I like it, but doesn't pay well ($35k a year) and is pretty much a deadend for the future.

I've been all but offered a job with a large federal defense contractor that starts at $60-70k a year. BUT it won't be as flexible and I'll probably have to drop out of school to get the job. They offer a tution assitance program, so I could probably take a class or two a semester though (so I could potentially get my bachelors in more 4-5 years).

Would you drop out of college to persue a high paying job with a bright future? Or would you stay in school and hope to get a good job once you have a bachelors degree?

Jugs

EDIT: Please VOTE in the poll! LINK

Zebo

Elite Member
Jul 29, 2001
I would take the job.. Good money and you can start saving now to go back if you need a degree for a future position. I did a similar thing.. Had all but my thesis written and a large employer wanted to hire before I finished...Never regreted the decision and will only go back if they give me a sabatical and pay me to finish. Nows the time to take a job if you can and defese contractors never fire...Better than a union JOB IMO.

Excelsior

Lifer
May 30, 2002
Well, a lot of College graduates would love to have a 60k-70k paying job, but others will tell you and they are right that a College Education is very important, especially if you don't have job secruity with this contractor. Not that I know anything, but since they have a tuition assistance, Id go to work for them, and try to get my Degree asap.

Zugzwang152

Lifer
Oct 30, 2001
take the job. all education is for is for you to land a job anyway. why not save some tuition money?

Jugernot

Diamond Member
Oct 12, 1999