Ryzen 7 2700 seriously slow

Page 6 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,178
2,133
136
Well single core boost hits 3.6GHz ? Ryzen Master says 4GHz.


Better, but still not as advertised or what I'd expect. Somebody posted the "stock" boost levels from Toms? It's pretty disgusting how horrible the 2700 is vs the 2700x. Should remain 200-300Mhz slower at all core loads, as the advertised boost would suggest (and I was honestly expecting to be able to alter that boost level as Intel and old AMD allows [could adjust boost on my X6-1100T]).

I will say Ryzen Master started up faster, only took a couple seconds. Though HWMonitor is still to slow and hangs.
HAH! WHAT?! I just tried bumping Prime95 to full load and it closed itself. Don't tell me this stock BIOS aint stable...

I'm gonna try Cinnebench R15 again, stock vs stock, BIOS 2.0 vs 3.2
Still stuck at 3.2 - 3.3GHz with a score of 1478 (BIOS 3.2 fresh flashed) vs 1485 (BIOS 2.0 reset UEFI default)...so no performance gain.
And have you tried the heatsink on the NVME ? and checked the temp ? Should be in that old thread I linked.

Here is the post. HWmonitor said the nvme was at 68c and thats when performance went into the toilet.
https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/amd-ryzen-builders-thread.2499342/page-76#post-38800105
 
Last edited:

EliteRetard

Diamond Member
Mar 6, 2006
5,953
43
136
Well I gotta go deal with another issue for now...
Give me something else to smash on for now.
 

Dasa2

Senior member
Nov 22, 2014
245
7
91
Placing a fan over the SSD for direct airflow would be easier and do just as well for a test to see if that is a problem.

2500K at 5.2GHz can edge out 2700X at stock when only using 1-4 threads.
https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel-Core-i5-2500K-vs-AMD-Ryzen-7-2700X/619vs3958
So 2500K at 3.8-4GHz vs 2700 without tweaked b die RAM wouldn't be a huge upgrade in any software that is sensitive to memory latency and doesn't use more than 4 threads but it should still be faster.

Testing with cinbench gives a good look at raw CPU performance but it doesn't care about RAM speed at all while load times and a lot of other software does.

Run AIDA64 and test how the memory is performing.
Userbenchmark isn't a bad test to run as it tests everything including SSD performance.
https://www.userbenchmark.com/
 

Hitman928

Golden Member
Apr 15, 2012
1,892
334
136
Don't trust Windows to report correct clocks, use Ryzen master.
 
Aug 25, 2001
44,463
807
126
I just finished building my Ryzen R7 2700 rig. 16GB GSkill RGB DDR4-3600 (only 2133 JEDEC, then 3600 XMP profile, nothing in-between). GTX 1050 3GB, Intel 660p 1TB (two of them).

ASUS ROG STRIX B450-F Gaming ATX, no NVMe heat shields. 240mm AIO WC (CoolerMaster ML Lite).

First, at stock, 3.2Ghz, 65W. Then tried 35.0 multi, 3.50Ghz, on Auto vcore, booted, then I went for 38.0 (3.80Ghz) for the Windows 10 install to the SSD.

I also ended up installing BOINC and doing some WCG:OpenZika project tasks. Using 15/16 threads. Unfortunately, a hard freeze occured with Auto vcore @ 3.80Ghz.

So now I've got manual vcore dialed in, at 1.325V, but man, HWMonitor is reporting the wattage draw as 135W! It was 92W on Auto vcore.
 

EliteRetard

Diamond Member
Mar 6, 2006
5,953
43
136
Well got the heatsink on the SSD, it doesn't do anything good.

I have tried basically everything, gone way above and beyond to give this the absolute best chance to work...the error is not mine. This CPU and MOBO still suck, and flat out refuse to operate correctly in any configuration. Don't care what anybody says at this point, the 2700 is a pile of redacted as is this MOBO. I've never had a system perform so horribly and be so disgustingly broken...the [missed one] thing can't even run proper when manually trying to force it.

Plenty more to say, but I'm just gonna stop myself since nothing here matters. Time to fight this fraud with real action.




No profanity in tech.


esquared
Anandtech Forum Director
 
Last edited:
Sep 4, 2016
88
53
61
If after all your efforts you still can't get your machine to perform as expected you certainly has a defective part (probably MB). That could happen to Intel systems as well... I don't see the point in calling Ryzen garbage because it certainly isn't. When buying tech you are always up to be the lucky one to get fault parts no matter the brand.


Before calling it a day I would assure your storage system is working well: couple minutes of CrystalDiskMark bench should be enough to tell how your SSD is performing.

As many people in the forum I upgraded from an Intel system (3570K@4.2GHz/16GB DDR3 Samsung green) to Ryzen and under all my workloads I saw improvements: from small ones in browsing the web to really big gains in multi-tasking specially when compiling large projects on background using Linux while doing other stuff. In games I saw improvements as well even when using an old 290X 4GB.
 
Aug 25, 2001
44,463
807
126
Last edited:
Feb 29, 2008
42
38
91
This has become beyond boring. Been around since the BP6 with Dual Celeron 300a's and the pencil trick.
AMD has by now sold hundreds of thousands if not a million 2700, so this n=1 experiment is clearly not supportive of your assertions.
This drama is old, swap the cpu or board or send it in for RMA.
Anyone who actually has built more than a few systems know the routine.

Edit- ROTFLMAO, Fraud....
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
3,872
66
126
I wish I could help you a bit more, as I have the same motherboard, but alas, I have a different CPU, (the 2700X) so it will boost differently. If I were you, I would return the Motherboard if possible for an Asus or MSI, might have better luck.

Just to be clear, windows power settings should be balanced, or otherwise it won't boost correctly for single core.
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,223
300
136
I wish I could help you a bit more, as I have the same motherboard, but alas, I have a different CPU, (the 2700X) so it will boost differently. If I were you, I would return the Motherboard if possible for an Asus or MSI, might have better luck.

Just to be clear, windows power settings should be balanced, or otherwise it won't boost correctly for single core.
I run high perf power profile with CPU min at 5% and max at 100%, active CPU cooling.

Do the same with the 2400G box and the 1700.

Do not have any issues with boost.

Below are the numbers from the past ~20 mins of hwinfo64 on the 2700X, X470 Prime Pro, stock cooler.

 

Attachments

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,223
300
136
I thought I had a bad board when I built the 2700X, but it was actually the power supply went wonky. It still "worked", but worked perfectly after switching to an older unit while the RMA was processed.
 
Aug 25, 2001
44,463
807
126
Just to be clear, windows power settings should be balanced, or otherwise it won't boost correctly for single core.
My understanding, although I haven't actually tested this yet in person, is that if you disable "Cool & Quiet", it will also fail to boost.
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
3,872
66
126
I run high perf power profile with CPU min at 5% and max at 100%, active CPU cooling.

Do the same with the 2400G box and the 1700.

Do not have any issues with boost.

Below are the numbers from the past ~20 mins of hwinfo64 on the 2700X, X470 Prime Pro, stock cooler.

Hmm. I thought 4.35GHz was not an all core boost? Perhaps you have Asus MCE on or something? I know when I had high performance profile on, the CPU would stay around 4.05 GHz on all cores, load or not. Then I did a little digging when adjusting memory clocks, and found that info about the power profile somewhere on OCN.
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,223
300
136
Hmm. I thought 4.35GHz was not an all core boost? Perhaps you have Asus MCE on or something? I know when I had high performance profile on, the CPU would stay around 4.05 GHz on all cores, load or not. Then I did a little digging when adjusting memory clocks, and found that info about the power profile somewhere on OCN.
I do have PBO on. Default Windows high perf power profile is 100 min 100 max.

I think all core load from Prime95 with the stock cooler is 3.8 - 3.9.

hwinfo just shows the min max value for the core, so, at some point, all cores will show 4.35.

1557572298404.png
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,223
300
136
Also, I thought the Ryzen balanced plan included with the AMD drivers was only to be used for the 1000 series, 2000 does not need it and it affects their performance.
 

VPII

Junior Member
May 12, 2019
1
3
36
@EliteRetard I'd like to put your views into perspective. I got a Ryzen 7 1700 coming from a Intel i7 5930K, so basically a Haswell-E processor. Now trust me this 5930K I has was pretty good, able to go 5.3Ghz under DICE and was running benches like crazy. So taken the move from Intel i7 5930K to Ryzen 7 1700 it is possibly a drop in performance except for maybe multi threading. Well I was actually so surprised when I got the R7 1700 and more so at how fast it was, that I could not wait for the Ryzen 7 2700X to release and low and behold that is what I am running now.

But going back to the Ryzen 7 1700, to an extend it is probably the same as the Ryzen 7 2700 seen that no X added to the name and you lose some clock speed. Unfortunately my cpu's never get the opportunity to run stock speeds, although when I started up the system with the Ryzen 7 1700 it was clear that it clocks higher by itself when under load. What I tend to do is to find a set clock speed I can run all core all the time. Thankfully the Ryzen 7 1700 had no issue running 4Ghz for 24/7 use, but my Ryzen 7 2700X is a little better as I'm running it just under 4.3ghz using 1.356vcore as per the added screenshot.

I'll also add some links to some results managed with this R7 2700X under LN2 and Dry Ice.

Sorry some links are to my Hwbot postings

https://hwbot.org/submission/3900972_vpii_cinebench___r11.5_ryzen_7_2700x_28.3_points

https://hwbot.org/submission/3900978_vpii_cinebench___r15_ryzen_7_2700x_2567_cb

https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6946378

https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6946325

My only reason for posting these links is that I'd like you to understand how good the processor it you have and I'm sure there is some minor issue that need to be resolved. If you decide to overclock the cpu manually I'd recommend you do the following:

Set the cou vcore manually to 1.25v
Make sure that your SOC voltage is set to between 0.98 to 1.05v
Now set the CPU multiplier to x 41
If this does not work, then drop the multiplier to x 40.75
Now you continue to drop the multilier by x 0.25 for each failed test until you get it to work. Then you check your temps under load, running cinebench or so.

Using Hwinfo64 to monitor your clocks and temps, remember that cpu temps is the tdie and not the tcl temps..... well that is how it is for the 2700X so I suppose it should be the same for your cpu.

Secondly, what memory are you using with your system. Is it possible to set it DOCP in the bios to run the specced speed and timings? Let me know how it goes.
 

Attachments

EliteRetard

Diamond Member
Mar 6, 2006
5,953
43
136

EliteRetard

Diamond Member
Mar 6, 2006
5,953
43
136
This has become beyond boring. Been around since the BP6 with Dual Celeron 300a's and the pencil trick.
AMD has by now sold hundreds of thousands if not a million 2700, so this n=1 experiment is clearly not supportive of your assertions.
This drama is old, swap the cpu or board or send it in for RMA.
Anyone who actually has built more than a few systems know the routine.

Edit- ROTFLMAO, Fraud....
I reached my rage point, let me act my part and be pissed off for a while...
 

EliteRetard

Diamond Member
Mar 6, 2006
5,953
43
136
*snip*

Just to be clear, windows power settings should be balanced, or otherwise it won't boost correctly for single core.
Yep. Tried the AMD balanced as well, just to see.
 

EliteRetard

Diamond Member
Mar 6, 2006
5,953
43
136
I thought I had a bad board when I built the 2700X, but it was actually the power supply went wonky. It still "worked", but worked perfectly after switching to an older unit while the RMA was processed.
I tried a second 520w unit, and also ran them in tandem (to power both 8+4 CPU).
 

EliteRetard

Diamond Member
Mar 6, 2006
5,953
43
136
@EliteRetard did you actually bench anything @ 3.8 GHz or 4.0 GHz fixed?
Yes, after the second OC on 3.2 BIOS. Did I not post numbers above? I recall Cinebench R15 w/ stock BIOS 2.0 and 3.0 were around 1475, and at 4GHz (stock 2400 RAM) it was like 1750.

I was absolutely correct though, 3.2 BIOS DOES remove features/functions and is notably worse then 2.0. Again my understanding was that there is limited space on the BIOS chips and in order to fit all the new stuff for 3000 and whatnot they had to remove things.
 

EliteRetard

Diamond Member
Mar 6, 2006
5,953
43
136

Pretty much how I felt about the system.
Already made a profit on it though.
Time to build another computer now.
 

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS