Discussion Ryzen 3000 series benchmark thread ** Open **

Page 26 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Dave3000

Senior member
Jan 10, 2011
915
4
81
I noticed that this review is showing that the 3700x has much slower memory writes than the 3900x. https://hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/132374-amd-ryzen-9-3900x-ryzen-7-3700x/?page=4

Is this a BIOS issue or is it a hardware limitation of the 3700x due to having only one chiplet? Can someone here do the same memory write benchmark on their 3700x with the same memory speed that is using a different motherboard than the one in this review and tell me if they get around the same memory write score.
 
Last edited:

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
7,362
282
126
I noticed that this review is showing that the 3700x has much slower memory writes than the 3900x. https://hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/132374-amd-ryzen-9-3900x-ryzen-7-3700x/?page=4

Is this a BIOS issue or is it a hardware limitation of the 3700x due to having only one chiplet? Can someone here do the same memory write benchmark on their 3700x with the same memory speed that is using a different motherboard than the one in this review and tell me if they get around the same memory write score.
Yes it's a 1 chiplet thing. Design choice made by AMD.
 

IEC

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
13,737
870
136
I noticed that this review is showing that the 3700x has much slower memory writes than the 3900x. https://hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/132374-amd-ryzen-9-3900x-ryzen-7-3700x/?page=4

Is this a BIOS issue or is it a hardware limitation of the 3700x due to having only one chiplet? Can someone here do the same memory write benchmark on their 3700x with the same memory speed that is using a different motherboard than the one in this review and tell me if they get around the same memory write score.
It's hardware. 2 chiplets (e.g. 3900X) gives double the write bandwidth versus 1:
3900X 3733 CL16 IF1867 669.PNG
 

Dave3000

Senior member
Jan 10, 2011
915
4
81
Does X-Plane 11 make heavy use of memory writes, especially with HD Mesh installed? Also does memory write performance have an effect in load times in games?
 
Nov 26, 2005
14,396
25
91
What is the AMD recommended absolute limit to these chips? I know my i7 970 was 1.375v while the uncore was 1.35v
 
Last edited:

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,178
2,133
136
What is the AMD recommended absolute limit to these chips? I know my i7 970 was 1.375v while the uncore was 1.35v
As we speak, with all 24 threads@100%, I am running 4 ghz@ 1.275 vcore (approx, keeps changing) 1.243 a lot.
 

IEC

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
13,737
870
136
What is the AMD recommended absolute limit to these chips? I know my i7 970 was 1.375v while the uncore was 1.35v
1.325V all-core. But you will be limited by cooling unless on custom water. So it's better to do the maximum you can achieve at 1.25V per CCX for comfortable temps and better than stock MT performance. If you rely on ST performance, stock boost works better unless you get a golden sample capable of 4.4GHz+ at <1.3V
 
Dec 6, 2018
118
90
61
Can you please give a summary
It's between the brackets there is one older kit that acted faster than expected no reason yet why, and obvious get higher than 3000Mhz for your Zen2 but that you already knew.
 
Dec 6, 2018
118
90
61
Sure but do you really think he didn't check that?
or do you mean some subtimings that can't be set in the bios?
 

IEC

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
13,737
870
136
Sure but do you really think he didn't check that?
or do you mean some subtimings that can't be set in the bios?
He mentioned in the video that the memory kit with worse performance required 3 boot-retrain cycles before it booted up. That means each time it used successively looser subtimings before it succeeded. That's why it was slower versus the set that worked at the same timings in 1 boot. It had tighter default subtimings.
 
Dec 6, 2018
118
90
61
Is the moral of the story if you have to choose between CL16 or CL14 choose the one that is approved for Ryzen? ....

if he would have changed subtimings in the bios the same as the other module you think it would not boot?

in some test the 3200CL16 did beat the 3600CL16...
 
Last edited:

beginner99

Diamond Member
Jun 2, 2009
4,195
248
126
Is the moral of the story if you have to choose between CL16 or CL14 choose the one that is approved for Ryzen? ....

if he would have changed subtimings in the bios the same as the other module you think it would not boot?

in some test the 3200CL16 did beat the 3600CL16...
Oh i think if he had done that it might have booted and got the same performance. We don't know but the point Cl and mhz aren't the only 2 things that matter.

Also as has been shown higher RAM clocks can affect thermal headroom of the chip which actually reduces performance due to chip boosting less.
 

coercitiv

Diamond Member
Jan 24, 2014
3,359
887
136
higher RAM clocks can affect thermal headroom of the chip which actually reduces performance due to chip boosting less.
Looks like AMD is on the verge of offering us the ultimate CPU RPG experience. People complained overclocking is dead so they gave us the ultimate tweaking machine. By the time we're done the next Zen expansion will be out.
 

therealmongo

Junior Member
Jul 5, 2019
16
9
36
Looks like AMD is on the verge of offering us the ultimate CPU RPG experience. People complained overclocking is dead so they gave us the ultimate tweaking machine. By the time we're done the next Zen expansion will be out.
I like this :p
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,223
300
136
Anyone keeping track of the CPU stepping on these chips?
There should be no more steppings, the next "stepping" will be with a new chip, Zen3. AMD does not work like Intel, final silicon should be B0.

I would link if I could remember where I read that, there was a comment from an ex-AMD employee that explained their silicon steppings / process and why.

Also, B0 was finalized late last year / early this year, so, they have been producing raw chips for half the year, abouts; demand has outstripped supply, there are no supply issues, FWIW.
 

Asterox

Senior member
May 15, 2012
245
118
116
https://www.techpowerup.com/review/new-amd-chipset-driver-performance-test-ryzen-9-3900x/3.html

"The biggest benefactors of these drivers are tests that are less parallelized, such as web rendering, in which all three benchmarks post over 5% performance gains. Microsoft Office tests also post 3-4 percent performance gains, as does Adobe Photoshop

Overall, to gain performance improvements of any kind through a "chipset" driver update is a pleasant surprise, and it's good to see AMD delivering lifecycle-quality updates mere weeks into the product launch, especially when it's troubleshooting not one, but two distinct product lines—Ryzen and Radeon. If you have one of these processors, we highly recommend you update your drivers."
 
Nov 26, 2005
14,396
25
91
So for the rest of us who don't care about the idle power savings and want a 1ms polling rate, we are now screwed cause people were complaining about a software layered observing app?
 

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS