Discussion Raptor Lake Build Thread

Page 6 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Pneumothorax

Golden Member
Nov 4, 2002
1,182
23
81
Hey!

Can someone help me with undervolting my 13900k :)
i did undervolt using Intel XTU ,but temps are stil high. Current vCore offset is -0.07V , power limit 220W Pcores - 57 56 53 Ecores 44 44 44 44 43

also, is it oke to run 13900k on 220w with -0.07vcore offset and with clock speed i mention ?

Temps are over 85C in cinebench, in corona render a bit lower...

MB: Asrock taichi z790
CPU: 13900k
RAM: 128GB DDR5 5200 ( atm running @4800mhz)
PSU: Darkpro 4 1500w
GPU: 3090
M2: 2x2tb samsung 980pro
Cooling: Arctic Freezer II 420
Tomshardware has an article on this and your temps are expected. These are hot bois to try to cool. If you want to run it cooler at that power level, you're going to need a custom loop as that 420 is already top tier for AIO's. My NH-D15 struggles with my 13900K even at 200 watt cap. Getting into the 175 watt range it runs much cooler but then it slows down my video encoding considerably.
 

shorty1111

Junior Member
Jun 21, 2017
23
9
81
Tomshardware has an article on this and your temps are expected. These are hot bois to try to cool. If you want to run it cooler at that power level, you're going to need a custom loop as that 420 is already top tier for AIO's. My NH-D15 struggles with my 13900K even at 200 watt cap. Getting into the 175 watt range it runs much cooler but then it slows down my video encoding considerably.
hey! thanks for ur answer! im still playing, now im at 210W 75-77C ...its very strange chip, i tried vith -0.150V and nothing cpu doesnt give a.. 1.40V . i think its something with my MB since i cannot undervolt from bios, some kind of bug.. im w8ing for bios update
 
Last edited by a moderator:

NGruia

Junior Member
Apr 29, 2019
12
11
51
After 2 days a better result with AlphaCool Aurora Pro with 2x140 mm Noiseblocker eLoop B14-PS Black Edition. 96 Celsius, 251W, 5.4 GHz P cores, 4.2 GHz E cores. And you can hear you thoughts and small talk conversations.... again.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Drazick

Carfax83

Diamond Member
Nov 1, 2010
6,805
1,494
136
My NH-D15 struggles with my 13900K even at 200 watt cap. Getting into the 175 watt range it runs much cooler but then it slows down my video encoding considerably.
An NH-D15 shouldn't be struggling with a 13900K at 200w?! What kind of case are you using and do you have proper ventilation?

I have a Noctua NH-U12A which is smaller than the NH-D15 and the highest package power temp I've seen is 84c at 220w power limit. I also undervolt mine however, so you may want to look into doing that.
 

NGruia

Junior Member
Apr 29, 2019
12
11
51
I'm curiuos to test "final" sistem:
- 13700KF
- Asus Prime Z790M- Plus D4
- 2x16 GB Corasair Vengeance LPX 3200 MHz
- Inno3D 3080 12GB iChill4
- Samsung PM9A1 1 TB
- Thermaltake Core V21
- AlphaCool Aurora Pro 280 mm
- Zalman EBT II 1000W Gold
Vents :
- intake front 2x140 mm Noctua NF-A14 chromax.black
- intake floor 2x120mm Akasa Otto
- 1x140 mm Noiseblocker eLoop PS Black in the back
- 2x140 mm Noiseblocker on Aurora Pro top (right)
- 2x120 mm Asus Rog Strix XF top above GPU (left)

Start - monday at 7:15 local time. Finish ....monday I hope.
Sistem is a placeholder for 13700KF. In the end it will in my son's PC, replacing 12600K.
His PC - Arctic Freezer II 420mm, Asus Tuf Gaming Z690-Plus WiFi D4, 32 GB Ram Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro black 3600 MHz, 2 TB Seagate Firecuda 530 2 TB, Phanteks Revolt X 1200W Platinum, RTX 3090, Phanteks Evolve X case.
 

igor_kavinski

Diamond Member
Jul 27, 2020
7,835
4,527
106
It's a holiday gift!
I will choose a day when he is not at home and install the processor in his computer.
Surprise. :)
I'm thinking, don't tell him anything. Let him use the system for a while until he realizes that something's changed. Maybe put a hidden cam somewhere to record his face expressions when he rubs his eyes and thinks he's going crazy coz task manager says it's a 13th gen CPU :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: NGruia

Hulk

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
3,694
1,299
136
An NH-D15 shouldn't be struggling with a 13900K at 200w?! What kind of case are you using and do you have proper ventilation?

I have a Noctua NH-U12A which is smaller than the NH-D15 and the highest package power temp I've seen is 84c at 220w power limit. I also undervolt mine however, so you may want to look into doing that.
This is strange. According to Noctua, they rate the D15 for up to 183W so according to Noctua 200W would be pushing it.

The Noctua U12A that you and I are both using Noctua rates to 169W. My case is moving air pretty well and the U12A works well for me at 175W, after that temps start to got high 80's on the highest temp cores. This is when I'm seeing a package power of 180W in HWinfo, or about 172W core power.

I see that you have your rig set to 220W but is that actually what you are seeing in HWinfo when you are stressing your system and the highest temp you're observing is 84C?
 

shorty1111

Junior Member
Jun 21, 2017
23
9
81
one more question...how to get arctic freezer II 420 pump to work 2000rpm :)? now its only 1500rpm. i set everyting to max speed...
 

DooKey

Golden Member
Nov 9, 2005
1,782
440
136
CPU at stock, HSF tower setting in BIOS gives me a 28922 CB23 score.
I've managed to raise my CB23 score to 30415 by increasing my DDR5 freq to 7000 and tightening up the timings as well as increasing my ring freq to 4.7ghz. Not too shabby.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Carfax83

Carfax83

Diamond Member
Nov 1, 2010
6,805
1,494
136
This is strange. According to Noctua, they rate the D15 for up to 183W so according to Noctua 200W would be pushing it.
That rating isn't in watts, it's the result of an equation that measures several different factors to get a more accurate measurement of heat dissipation. If you scroll down a bit more on that page it shows you how they arrive at that number.

I see that you have your rig set to 220W but is that actually what you are seeing in HWinfo when you are stressing your system and the highest temp you're observing is 84C?
Yes. The screenshot I posted several pages ago shows a maximum package power temp of 78c @ 220w, but I had the heat turned off in the room where the computer is kept so it was very cold.

With the heat turned on it would have been 84c:

 

Hulk

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
3,694
1,299
136
That rating isn't in watts, it's the result of an equation that measures several different factors to get a more accurate measurement of heat dissipation. If you scroll down a bit more on that page it shows you how they arrive at that number.



Yes. The screenshot I posted several pages ago shows a maximum package power temp of 78c @ 220w, but I had the heat turned off in the room where the computer is kept so it was very cold.

With the heat turned on it would have been 84c:

Jeez, you really have that rig dialed in. I'm going to try a contact frame to see what that does for my temps.
When you lowered the voltage by 0.1 did you subtract it at all 11 points in the BIOS or is there somewhere you can take it globally? I couldn't find a global setting.
 

lopri

Elite Member
Jul 27, 2002
13,180
563
126
Anyone running 13700K with DDR4? Want to know if my Cinebench R23 (multi) score is normal. I am getting 25~26K points, and I see DDR5 systems getting 30K. Not that I need more performance - I plan to use the system with HT and E cores disabled - but it's just a curiosity thing.
 

Carfax83

Diamond Member
Nov 1, 2010
6,805
1,494
136
Jeez, you really have that rig dialed in. I'm going to try a contact frame to see what that does for my temps.
I still think your main issue is your case. I googled it and it didn't inspire much confidence to be honest. It looked way to claustrophobic for my tastes, and unless you bought extra fans, it only comes with one rear exhaust fan in stock configuration.

One of the biggest reasons why I have such good temp is because of my case. The Fractal Torrent is an air moving monster. No stagnant or hot air anywhere inside my case.

When you lowered the voltage by 0.1 did you subtract it at all 11 points in the BIOS or is there somewhere you can take it globally? I couldn't find a global setting.
You don't want to lower it globally, just for the CPU Vcore. Just find the CPU Vcore, put it in offset mode and use the minus sign and then set it to 0.100v. You should be able to do it since you're already limiting your CPU to 175w.
 

Carfax83

Diamond Member
Nov 1, 2010
6,805
1,494
136
Anyone running 13700K with DDR4? Want to know if my Cinebench R23 (multi) score is normal. I am getting 25~26K points, and I see DDR5 systems getting 30K. Not that I need more performance - I plan to use the system with HT and E cores disabled - but it's just a curiosity thing.
I don't know how much you're losing by going with DDR4, but I do know you'd get more performance with DDR5. Also, be careful about disabling the E cores. I disabled the E cores and ran the Aida64 memory and cache and the scores were substantially lower which surprised me. I think the E cores are more integrated now with the P cores than they were in Alder Lake so there might be more consequences for turning them off.
 

Hulk

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
3,694
1,299
136
I still think your main issue is your case. I googled it and it didn't inspire much confidence to be honest. It looked way to claustrophobic for my tastes, and unless you bought extra fans, it only comes with one rear exhaust fan in stock configuration.

One of the biggest reasons why I have such good temp is because of my case. The Fractal Torrent is an air moving monster. No stagnant or hot air anywhere inside my case.



You don't want to lower it globally, just for the CPU Vcore. Just find the CPU Vcore, put it in offset mode and use the minus sign and then set it to 0.100v. You should be able to do it since you're already limiting your CPU to 175w.
I hear you regarding my ancient case. I do have two quality Noctua fans moving quite a bit of air and no discrete GPU so it's pretty wide open in there. Tomorrow I'll open it up and put a really powerful fan blowing into it and see if things change as far as temps.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Carfax83

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
24,117
13,165
136
I have to say, is it really worth a couple percent faster over Zen 4 for all of this heat and cooling problems ? Not trying to troll, but pages of this, and it sounds serious.
 

Hulk

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
3,694
1,299
136
I have to say, is it really worth a couple percent faster over Zen 4 for all of this heat and cooling problems ? Not trying to troll, but pages of this, and it sounds serious.
Nah. My system is running great day-to-day. Absolutely unbelievably stable. Actually the most robust machine I've ever built. It's fun to try and optimize things when I have time to fool around with it. I could leave it at 175 watts and it's still be 30+% faster than the 12700K that is replaced but I enjoy tweaking and testing.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY