P4S533 Problems (cont)

Page 4 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Madhatter2

Member
Mar 26, 2001
101
0
0
Originally posted by: Madhatter2
Originally posted by: Tates
P4 1.6a @2400/1.6v with a 512mb stick of original Samsung PC2700 set at 375mhz (CPU/MEM ratio of 4:5), 2/3/3/7/1

RAM Int Buffered iSSE2 Bandwidth 2824 MB/s
Ram Float Buffered iSSE2 Bandwidth 2826 MB/s

After seeing your mem timing scheme I realized that I had used the wrong divider. Now I have:
int buffered @2837
float buffered @2836
Running mem timing @ 2.5-3-3-7-2
FSB 150
@ 1.6V

:( no more 156 FSB!
Thanks man!
I stand corrected on my initial post.
Still planning on losing that OCZ though.
 

AWOL

Junior Member
Jun 1, 2002
2
0
0
Hi. Maybe someone can help me out.

BACKGROUND: I bought a P4S533 with a P4 1.6A and Corsair XMS2700 memory. I installed the board, mem, CPU, and a WD1200JB hard drive as master on the primary IDE in an ANTEC SX630 case. I booted and everything worked fine, except no OS installed yet. I then installed a ATAPI Plextor 40/12/40A CDRW as master on the secondary IDE channel. Booted to see if the CDRW was recognized, BIOS found the WD1200JB on the primary IDE, but found nothing on the secondary IDE channel. Trying to figure out why, I moved the CDRW to the primary IDE as slave, booted, and the BIOS found both the hard drive and the CDRW on the primary during boot. That tells me the CDRW ATAPI code is compatible with the P4S533 at least for auto BIOS recognition. Thinking the cable could be the problem, I put a new cable in the secondary IDE channel and moved the CDRW back to the secondary IDE jumpered as master. Booted up: primary IDE hard drive found, no device found on secondary IDE. Hmmm. BTW the bios was configured for auto recognition for master/slave devices on both the primary and secondary IDE. I then played around with BIOS configuration to set the device forced as CD and had no success, the BIOS never saw a device on the secondary IDE.

To review:
1) The CDRW works, because it is recognized on the primary IDE.
2) Its probably not the cable, because two different cables
were used to test (actually 3, 2 40-pin and 1 80-pin).

My conclusion: The secondary IDE channel is bad. (Anybody know anything that makes that conclusion stupid?)

My action 1: RMAed it back to googlegear with "secondary IDE channel does not work" as the problem.

Googlegear response: They test it and say "Per our technician you need to install driver cd to make 2nd IDE channel to work".

My action 2: I looked in the ASUS on-line manual for the P4S533 and there is a "SiS BUS Master PCI IDE Driver". However, unless I am mistaken, this could only come into play after the BIOS device recognition sequence occurs and the OS boots and would have no effect on the discovery of the CDRW by the BIOS.

Googlegear is waiting for me to email them with my decision to return my money and call it quits (minus all the shipping costs I've paid) or let them ship the board back to me. I really want the P4S533, but don't want them to ship me back what I think is a bad one. I am trying to decide whether to argue with them or not, but want to get some opinions on the problem from people who have the P4S533. Any comments are appreciated, maybe I'm missing something obvious.

Also, I'm getting anxious to get my new system going and may just buy a motherboard locally. Any recommendations for alternate motherboards? I can't find a P4S533 locally here in Dallas.

Thanks.
 

Marc

Member
May 23, 2000
33
0
0
Do you have a case with front USB port? If so disconnect them, the pin-out in wrong (not compatible with ASUS) and it will cause your secondary IDE to fail.
 

AWOL

Junior Member
Jun 1, 2002
2
0
0
Marc,

I did have one of the USB headers connected to an ASUS add-on front out which fits in one of the 5.25 bays. Thats ASUS to ASUS pin-out so that should work, but maybe I screwed it up anyway. Something for me to keep in mind.

Thanks.
 

Marc

Member
May 23, 2000
33
0
0
Not sure about the ASUS thing. But I had a case that had to front USB's, and connecting it did indeed make the secondary IDE fail.

Also, this has been document in other threads
 

RedFoxDye

Junior Member
Aug 10, 2001
15
0
0
I got 2 asus usb panels and when both of them are plugged in 2nd IDE will turn off, and all usb's will crap out.
I had Enough of this sis bullshit, This is the second motherboard I got and still same problem. I am going back to the store now and getting a board with intel chipset. Not decided if I am going with asus at all now. I know they have a p4b533 which is intel chipset, so maybe I'll give that one a try.
 

Marc

Member
May 23, 2000
33
0
0
It not a SIS problem. The issue is that the pin-out of the cables USB's from various cases don't match, and when you plug in the mismatched USB's if makes the secondary IDE fail.

I have all six USB's working fine.
 

somtoja11

Junior Member
Jun 2, 2002
15
0
0
congrat THUGSROOK :) you are my OC hero....

i have few questions... i´m going to upgrade to 1.8A + ASUS P4S533 + 333 SAMSUNG 512 DDR
and want to ask about that board. i´ve read many rewiews about it and it sounds well.
DDR 400MHz is also deal for me cuz i will buy it when will be available in our country.

But you guys are making 8´th wonder of the world with P4B266-C. So i´m little muddy around it.

I have also read your recomend for P4S333/533 only for systems under 141fsb... but ... is it
only your oppinion or have you tried it? (or does anybody tried P4S533 at higher FSB?)

Would you recomend that board (P4S533) or wait til some new with I845E will arive ?
Price is also my problem cuz those with SIS chipsets are much cheaper then with intel chip.

My target is to reach 160-167 FSB (2900 - 3000 MHz) could it be reachable ? What do you think ...
on which VCoore ? Could i reach that at 1.7V or must go to the risky area of cable wiring ?
(i don´t know anything abou it ... i must read whole thread about it)

i know that is all wery hypothethic question but you are pro and have a lot of know-how in this.


please advise newbie....
 

fobphobic

Junior Member
Jun 2, 2002
1
0
0
hey i was reading this thread and just thought i would share my problems with the p4s533. I got this board for about a month and a half now. After i installed everything and boot up for the first time, everything worked fine for about a week. However, one day the darn thing wouldn't boot up, no beeps, no post, NOTHING. I didn't oc anything yet, and everything was running at stock speeds. So for some odd reason, i decided repeatedly pressing the reset button. After a few times, the computer booted up and running, but it went straight to the bios screen. I got a warning message on the left side stating that the frequency setting doesn't match my cpu. I had no idea what it was trying to say considering i didn't overclock anything yet, so i ignored it and exited bios. then everything worked fine. however, everytime i boot up my computer i need to go through the same process, a few resets, same warning message, exit bios. After a week of frustration, i decided to leave my computer on 24 hours for a few days and see how it goes, but the problem still persists. Then one magical day, i turned on my computer it actually booted the first time (this was about a week ago), and i never have another problem since then. I'm a newbie at computers, but i think the mobo needed some time to get worked in ( <-- dunno correct terminology)... if anyone has another conclusion plz tell.... i've asked around and no one had any explainations... thx
 

RedFoxDye

Junior Member
Aug 10, 2001
15
0
0
So I got rid of the p4s533 and got p4b533 (intel chipset). Now all usb's work fine, and it even boots 2 secs faster than p4s eventhough I plugged in 2 extra IDE devices.
The only weird thing I noticed with p4b is that computer wont turn on with a power button on the keyboard like it did with p4s but it's minor compared to the usb problems.

Mark you are right about the front case usb's being incompattible with asus boards, Do you have any tips on which wires I can switch around to make it work?
It's not a big deal cause p4b came with 4 integrated usb's and 2 extra which I will fit in the front after I mangle my case alittle.
 

Lyzar

Junior Member
May 5, 2002
17
0
0
Ok everyone I hate to admit what my final problem was but I feel I have to since I made so many posts :)

I think the original power supply I had did suck. Unfortunately I made a stupid stupid assumption. I assumed that the green light on the motherboard meant it was getting power (as in power to boot up) and just wasn't booting - I assumed that when I initially tried booting the computer that it remember it in the bios (the power failure setting like when power goes out then comes back on your pc automatically reboots). Because of this I was plugging everything up then turning on the switch on the power supply and assuming because that light came on that it was trying to boot and something was wrong when really it was waiting for me to ground out my power switch pins. I felt like such a freaking idiot when I figured out my problem. I'm installing windows XP now and everything seems to be going great. Man I feel like a dumbass but I wanted to set the record straight on the board.

I'll post again soon with my set up and maybe some speed test results. Thanks to everyone for all the help and also thanks for all the people posting with their bios/memory settings.

Lyzar
 

Rusman

Member
May 19, 2000
66
0
0
Add my name to the list of those who can't boot.
Installed everything, green light came on on the board, link light on NIC also. Pressed the power button and nothing. Tried switching the connection for the switch, nothing either. Tried shorting it...also nothing. Pulled all the stuff out that I could but still enable it to boot and nothing still.
I put all my old stuff back into my case and it booted up (after a little coercing from me). So I know nothing is wrong with my old components. Someone in another thread recommended that I try to hook everything up out of the case. If that works, then it's most likely shorting to the case and I need some washers between the standoffs.
So, I'll try that today and post with the results.
 

OneOfTheseDays

Diamond Member
Jan 15, 2000
7,052
0
0
Rusman, get a P4 ready powersupply. I had the same probs as you, and i swapped out my old ps with a new one and problems gone. Also your mobo might be shorted out.
 

thenads

Junior Member
Jun 23, 2002
9
0
0
Scary stuff!

I upgraded my computer to the following last week:

Intel Pentium 4 2.26
Asus P4S533
512mb crucial DDR333
Asus GeForce4 Ti4400
40 + 80 Gb IBM UDMA100 hdd
Enermax 350W psu
...other less interesting stuff

I connected all three power connectors (as advised from the intel website - the user guide for the manual had nothing about this) and all was fine. Quite worrying some of these comments like "you'll fry your board if you connect all 3"!

The only thing wrong ive had was about 5 days after upgrading to this, the computer crashed all of a sudden, and did so on booting into windows on subsequent restarts. Sometimes it wouldn't even boot and reported CMOS errors. I noticed that my pci nic wasnt listed in the device manager during all this tho, and windows 98 had had a problem with it earlier (im running XP professional now). I removed the nic and all was well. All seems a little wierd, but its been running perfectly again since ive removed the card, so hopefully it was this.

Ignoring this incident, this computer has been the easiest to setup yet. Has anyone spoken to asus regarding the power supply connectors? surely they would have tested the motherboard with all three connected, and put a big warning saying "dont connect all three!" if this was the case? the manual and overall package seems pretty comprehensive otherwise.