P4S533 Problems (cont)

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

DoubleL

Golden Member
Apr 3, 2001
1,202
0
0
3DMark 2000, I have went over the board all day and wishing there was some other setting that would make this thing come alive but haven't found it yet, The one the computer was built for turned it down so now hope to find someone that just wants a good stable computer, Live and learn
 

Barrei

Senior member
Mar 21, 2002
514
0
0
doublel didn't that guy tell you what kind of system to build for him ? and then turned it down? Also were you running the same vid card on p4 and xp system? Try running 3dmark 2001se using the same vid card on both systems and post your scores , if you want to of course.:)
 

DoubleL

Golden Member
Apr 3, 2001
1,202
0
0
The guy just heard so much when the P4S533 and the Northwood 1.6A was comming out that he said that was what he wanted but after seeing it run he said he couldn't see putting that much money in one right now and that he would just keep his old one a little longer so I could go ahead and sell it to someone else, He wanted all the bells Burner, DVD, GeForce 3, Santa Cruz, Custom case with side window, Well to tell the truth I don't care about benck mark numbers if the computer runs good but everyone else does so I use the 3DMark 2000, But you can tell this isn't a fast computer without the bench marks, I live out in the country in a small town that doesn't have anything but 56K so the 2001 would be to big of a download to mess with and yes I used the same video card for all the test, I have been building computers for people around here for about five years now and I would keep the computer before I would want someone that is not happy with what they got, I know you can get a not so great board so I hope they are all not like that and then again maybe it is if you want the big numbers go AMD if you want a good running stable computer go with one of the new P4's
 

SilentRunning

Golden Member
Aug 8, 2001
1,493
0
76
Lyzar I looked at your pictures. You did install the cpu's heatsink and fan didn't you??? I don't see it in the pictures.
 

Lyzar

Junior Member
May 5, 2002
17
0
0
hah yeah I installed the heat sink and fan first time around - those pictures are from when I was taking it down to the bone just trying to get the basics to work. Turning it on didn't do anything and no components even got above ice cold temperature. I never had power turned on for more than about 20 seconds since it wasn't doing anything. The board is in transit to CA from TN right now. It will probably get there this weekend or at the latest Monday. Then it will take a good while for them to get me another I'm sure. But when I get it I'll be posting results of whether that fixed things or not.
 

THUGSROOK

Elite Member
Feb 3, 2001
11,847
0
0
i dont know about the P4S533 - but us P4B266 owners ARE using all 3 power plugs on purpose.
it improves our voltage stability ;)
there is a thread in the CPU overclockers forum.
 

Lyzar

Junior Member
May 5, 2002
17
0
0
Jeeze Thugsrook just noticed what you have your 1.6 overclocked too - 2.7!!! That's insane :)

My motherboard has traveled more north than west and is still on its way to CA. UPS estimates it will get there the 14th. I'm guessing they might get one back out to me around the end of that week - 16th or 17th and it would get to me probably 22nd. Newegg has this board now (they didn't when I ordered it) kinda wish I had ordered from them as they used FedEx and the stuff from them got here much faster.
 

peroxide

Junior Member
Sep 9, 2001
24
0
0
Lyzar,

I too have experienced this same exact problem. I plugged in all three connectors, the 20-pin Motherboard connector, the square 4-pin 12V connector and the 4-pin rectangular auxillary connector. (The instruction manual blows goats by the way) I turned on my power supply and I hear "pop, pop, pop" and a loud beep from the internal pc speaker. Now as soon as I turn it on all the comes on is that god damn green led. I must say that I saw a hint of smoke coming from the end farthest from the CPU. My biggest worry is that I have fried the CPU. I have returned the Motherboard back to Newegg and hopefully I should have it by the time Memorial day rolls around. Just kidding, I think I should have it within a week. Do you guys have any clues as to whether I could have fried the CPU. I read a couple of other threads around here and they seem to say no. Any definitive answer, so I don't lose sleep over this issue?

--Peroxide
 

Lyzar

Junior Member
May 5, 2002
17
0
0
The motherboard is back in CA as of Sunday night and is scheduled to be back at Atacom tomorrow sometime so they should be sending out my new board this week. Then probably another 5 days or so before it get back here in NC. Ahh sigh wish I had waited for newegg to get them in stock fed ex is soo much faster than ups.
 

Lyzar

Junior Member
May 5, 2002
17
0
0
I talked to Atacom today and they claim that the motherboard is fine. They say they tested it and did a burn in test and it was fine. They are shipping the board back today with a report of their test. Now I'm down to the processor or ram being bad I guess. Grr putting together a computer should not be this painful.
 

peroxide

Junior Member
Sep 9, 2001
24
0
0
Lyzar,

That is disconcerting, I was hoping for sure that it was the motherboard. I hope I do not have a CPU or RAM problem. Sorry to hear that man.

--peroxide
 

THUGSROOK

Elite Member
Feb 3, 2001
11,847
0
0
hmm, someone just told me yesterday that the little "ASUS EasyManuals" for SiS645 boards have typos!

use the real manual for connections and info.

:Q
 

evb22

Junior Member
May 18, 2002
3
0
0
My part specs:

Pentium 1.6a
Asus p4s533
GeForce 4600
512 meg of Corsair 2700 DDR 2C
20 Gig WD
Antec 880 case (435 PS)
Toshiba DVD
Mistumi 3.5"

One of my simptomps is exactly as described in the above posts: secondary IDE controller is not working. I did not try to unplug the front case USB ports yet. Probably it will resolve the ussue once I try that.

My second problem is a bit more misterious. I cannot install drivers for SIS AGP port properly. In the system info (i have win XP), it shows that device is not working properly (question mark). Probably because of that, I cant install drivers for my GeForce either.

Anyone have similar problems?

 

AznRyda

Senior member
Jul 8, 2001
531
0
0
Originally posted by: evb22
My part specs:


One of my simptomps is exactly as described in the above posts: secondary IDE controller is not working. I did not try to unplug the front case USB ports yet. Probably it will resolve the ussue once I try that.

what is a simptomp? :p

 

Marc

Member
May 23, 2000
33
0
0
evb22

My second problem is a bit more misterious. I cannot install drivers for SIS AGP port properly. In the system info (i have win XP), it shows that device is not working properly (question mark). Probably because of that, I cant install drivers for my GeForce either.

Yes, unplug the cable that connects to you cases USB cables, that will fix you secondary IDE problem. The pin-out on the USB from you case is not the compatible with your mobo.
 

garcher

Member
Apr 10, 2002
43
0
0
All I can say is I've had great luck with the board -- however I NEVER pluged in more then the two power connectors -- I've bumpted my 1.6a to 2.5 very very easily.l


Gary
 

Marc

Member
May 23, 2000
33
0
0
I'm very happy with mine as well.

Can you tell me what your setting are to get 2.5 from your 1.6a?
 

evb22

Junior Member
May 18, 2002
3
0
0
As it was anticipated, unplugging the USB cable from case solved all problems. Now I am running P1.6A @ 2.4 Ghz. Rock solid.

I've read other people have problems with USB wiring as well. No matter what kind of case they use. It makes me wonder if it is mobo's fault, not cable compatibility.
 

Lyzar

Junior Member
May 5, 2002
17
0
0
Just to give everyone and update - I took my processor and ram to a local computer store and had them stick it in a mother board and test it to make sure it worked ok. Both tested fine with zero problems in an MSI board. I'm still waiting on my motherboard to come back from Atacom. I really question whether they really tested my board and it really passed because I know now the ram, processor, video card, and power supply are good. I also know from what others are saying that I had it hooked up correctly and I reseated everything multiple times so something has to give. Of course it may be a fluke case of this particular mb that I have doesn't like this particular processor or memory but that I think is not as likely.
 

F155mph

Member
Dec 1, 2001
110
0
0
I need help with the board. At first when I turn the computer on nothing happen. The fans will come on and the hd light will light up but it doesn't boot. So I unplug it and move stuff around then the thing will boot up after I plug it back in. The happen to me a few times and I am not sure what is going on. I also installed MBM 5 on Xp but it doesn't seem like the board have any temp probes and fans monitor. What is going on here? Can someone please help.

Thanks
 

PopCornKing

Junior Member
May 23, 2002
2
0
0
Sorry to Rain on the Parade but the Board has been excellent for me. It sux to read about the individual problems here, but for me, the P4S533 has been as stable as my Intel440BX Abit BH6 was. SiS got it right with the 645DX Chipset and the ASUS Bios is a breeze to navigate. It's the fastest chipset that I have ever seen.

An 800mhz overclock on the P4 1.6A @ stock voltage is nothing to sneeze at in my book and a 600mhz System Bus giving up a solid 2700mbs of Bandwidth is a site to behold.

Good luck, it will be worth it on the otherside, trust me. Break on thru!
 

AshDOG

Junior Member
May 26, 2002
9
0
0
I also purchased a P4S533 along with a P4 1.6A and Corsair XMS2700c2 (DDR333) memory. If I want to overclock my P4 on this motherboard what core voltage should I use? Also, any other advice would be good. :)