Ok, what in the world is wrong with my system?

Discussion in '*nix Software' started by Red Squirrel, Jan 26, 2013.

  1. Jodell88

    Jodell88 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    27
    In your Xorg.0.log
    Code:
    Backtrace:
    [   148.013] 0: /usr/bin/X (xorg_backtrace+0x26) [0x7f0a4af7a876]
    [   148.013] 1: /usr/bin/X (mieqEnqueue+0x263) [0x7f0a4af5af53]
    [   148.013] 2: /usr/bin/X (0x7f0a4adf2000+0x62a34) [0x7f0a4ae54a34]
    [   148.013] 3: /usr/lib/xorg/modules/input/evdev_drv.so (0x7f0a4304a000+0x5d88) [0x7f0a4304fd88]
    [   148.013] 4: /usr/bin/X (0x7f0a4adf2000+0x8af37) [0x7f0a4ae7cf37]
    [   148.013] 5: /usr/bin/X (0x7f0a4adf2000+0xb0d1a) [0x7f0a4aea2d1a]
    [   148.013] 6: /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0 (0x7f0a4a118000+0xfcb0) [0x7f0a4a127cb0]
    [   148.013] 7: (vdso) (__vdso_gettimeofday+0x2b) [0x7fff4b3ffa1b]
    [   148.013] 8: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/xorg/extra-modules/nvidia_drv.so (0x7f0a43cdc000+0x103cee) [0x7f0a43ddfcee]
    [   148.013] 9: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/xorg/extra-modules/nvidia_drv.so (0x7f0a43cdc000+0x8f6ce) [0x7f0a43d6b6ce]
    [   148.013] 10: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/xorg/extra-modules/nvidia_drv.so (0x7f0a43cdc000+0x11341a) [0x7f0a43def41a]
    [   148.013] 11: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/xorg/extra-modules/nvidia_drv.so (0x7f0a43cdc000+0xca742) [0x7f0a43da6742]
    [   148.013] 12: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/xorg/extra-modules/nvidia_drv.so (0x7f0a43cdc000+0x4eafec) [0x7f0a441c6fec]
    [   148.013] 13: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/xorg/extra-modules/nvidia_drv.so (0x7f0a43cdc000+0x4b8d48) [0x7f0a44194d48]
    [   148.013] 14: /usr/bin/X (BlockHandler+0x4a) [0x7f0a4ae4465a]
    [   148.013] 15: /usr/bin/X (WaitForSomething+0x11d) [0x7f0a4af77bdd]
    [   148.013] 16: /usr/bin/X (0x7f0a4adf2000+0x4e5f2) [0x7f0a4ae405f2]
    [   148.013] 17: /usr/bin/X (0x7f0a4adf2000+0x3d7ba) [0x7f0a4ae2f7ba]
    [   148.013] 18: /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6 (__libc_start_main+0xed) [0x7f0a48fa976d]
    [   148.013] 19: /usr/bin/X (0x7f0a4adf2000+0x3daad) [0x7f0a4ae2faad]
    [   148.013] [mi] These backtraces from mieqEnqueue may point to a culprit higher up the stack.
    [   148.013] [mi] mieq is *NOT* the cause.  It is a victim.
    [   148.699] [mi] EQ overflow continuing.  100 events have been dropped.
    [   148.699]  
    Not sure what it means.
     
    #26 Jodell88, Jan 27, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  2. jimmybgood9

    jimmybgood9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting bug you've picked up. mieqEnqueque lines up the input events to your GUI. No wonder the mouse locks up. I checked google, but it doesn't look good. I don't think anyone has really discovered the root cause, they just find various combinations of drivers, X and mesa that don't trigger the bug. It had been reported both with the nvidia and the nouveau driver. Good luck!
     
  3. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    What is mieqEnqueque? Perhaps it's something I don't need and can get rid of or replace with something else.

    This morning all screens were black and I could not do anything. I hit the power button and it proceeded to do a proper shutdown (could see console messages on screen once the GUI was shut down)

    Rebooted, that weird black theme came back again, second X session screwed up with artifacts. Rebooted again, that theme came back again, but this time the second X session was ok. So far I did not get the mouse thing today.

    So far what I did is uninstalling Irqbalance, stopping F@H, and tried several things with the nvidia driver (there's 4 options, I tried the first one, but it royally mucks up the display so I went back to second, other two options are betas, bad idea to try?)

    Another thing I should maybe try is removing all ram but one stick. Could it be bad ram that's causing all this? It passes the memtest fine though, but out of that batch of 4 one stick did die hard. PC just shut itself right off. Would not even POST until I removed it. RMA was denied, so I'm down to the 3 sticks. That was months ago though. I can maybe try going to 4GB. I can live with that for now.

    Also, should I run SLI, or run without it?
     
  4. lxskllr

    lxskllr Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    44,427
    Likes Received:
    46
    I'd try using a single card and see what happens. Try one, and then the other. You could also try doing a brand new install to see if that fixes something. It would at least give you a virgin config to start from. Install to thumb drive, or other flash media.
     
  5. biodoc

    biodoc Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,602
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, at this point I would start with a clean installation with one video card and one monitor. I've read that the mate desktop/window manager works with multiple monitors so you may want to give linux mint 14 with the mate desktop a try. Once the system is installed and updated, install the proprietary nvidia drivers and then test the stability with one monitor. Add a second monitor and then run sudo nvidia settings to set up "twinview" (second monitor as extended desktop). nvidia-settings has to be run as sudo or any changes you make will not be saved. I have set up this with my linux workstation at work (redhat enterprise with nvidia quadro and it works well. I haven't done this at home though with my linux boxes so I don't have multiple monitor experience with a debian system.
     
  6. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    Already tried single card and swapping card and even slot, does not change anything. Did not try with just one monitor though but was doing it when I had two plugged in the same card. Will be brutal trying to work that way but I suppose it's worth a shot with just one monitor. But if it does not happen, then what? There's no way I'm going to just one monitor permanently. I find it insane that multi monitor is considered niche and that Linux devs have not put much thought into it. Who in the world codes or gets any other serious work done with just one monitor? Especially considering resolution advancement has stagnated. I would think Linux would have better support than Windows.

    I will start by trying Mint and see how that goes. Maybe just the fact of having a fresh install and another distro will make everything go away.
     
  7. Jodell88

    Jodell88 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    27
    Multi-monitors has always worked for me, but I've never gone higher than two monitors.
     
  8. repoman0

    repoman0 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    4
    Have you tested CPU stability?

    Recently backed off my clocks and voltage on the 2500k and had it Prime95 / Linx stable in Windows for 6+ hours.. reboot into Linux and I got kernel panics and weird hardware errors every boot within a half second of clicking the Linux install in Grub. Add more voltage and it booted up right away.
     
  9. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    I've tried it in Windows and it was fine but not Linux. Had prime 95 + furmark going at the same time once, also ran them individually.

    Is there equivalent stuff I can try in Linux? While I probably proven the cpu and gpu ok in windows, maybe in Linux it will act differently due to drivers etc?

    Somehow I think this is software related though. Stuck cursor, theme that keeps changing, and weird artifacts in only the secondary X session... But would be worth a shot. Been busy so did not get a chance to try anything else today but I will when I get the chance.
     
  10. Jodell88

    Jodell88 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    27
  11. jimmybgood9

    jimmybgood9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is an essential part of X. It queues input events from your mouse, keyboard and whatever else is making inputs. You can't do without it. It's anodd bug that keeps showing up. It is possible that a hardware problem is exposing it.

    Don't know anything about SLI.

    Me? I'd simplify until the problem goes away and then add things back to see when the problem returns as other folks here are suggesting.
     
  12. repoman0

    repoman0 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'd just temporarily give it an extra 0.025-0.05V and see if it makes it better.

    I have no idea why Linux would make my system crash within a second but Windows would run stress testers all day. Must touch a part of the CPU that windows doesn't.
     
  13. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    Been too busy to start doing major changes like a new distro but here's more logs that might be useful, I caught this as it happened.


    Code:
    ryan@falcon:~$ tail -f /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    [303372.968] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x0000202c, 0x0000202c)
    [303372.968] [mi] Increasing EQ size to 1024 to prevent dropped events.
    [303372.968] [mi] EQ processing has resumed after 213 dropped events.
    [303372.968] [mi] This may be caused my a misbehaving driver monopolizing the server's resources.
    [303375.976] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x000056ec, 0x000056ec)
    [303378.985] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x0000c718, 0x0000c718)
    [303393.013] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x00004e64, 0x00004e64)
    [303396.029] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x00009200, 0x00009200)
    [303399.042] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x0000df68, 0x0000df68)
    [303402.044] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x0000e22c, 0x0000e22c)
    [303435.819] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x00006ed4, 0x00006ed4)
    [303438.830] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x0000f354, 0x0000f354)
    [303441.842] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x000097e8, 0x000097e8)
    [303444.854] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x000023c4, 0x000023c4)
    [303451.258] (WW) NVIDIA(1): WAIT (0, 6, 0x8000, 0x0000a7f8, 0x0000a7f8)
    
    Went to use my computer and the screensaver was on, it took ages for it to go and it was acting like when Windows Explorer acts up and everything is all slow and unresponsive. Windows were not drawing property, etc. Screensaver is still stuck on my 3rd monitor (separate X session) and if I bring the cursor on that side I have to "ram" it into the side so I can get it to go to the other 2 monitors.

    It looks like it's completely seized now. Xorg starts to use 100% cpu when I try to bring the cursor from one screen to the other.

    I'm starting to think it's a driver issue. If I go with another distro, it will still be the same driver right?
     
  14. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, it really looks like a driver issue and you're at nVidia's mercy for figuring it out. Things like this are why the kernel developers lash out at closed drivers so vehemently. You may find an older version that works, but that's a PITA too.

    If it were a general X, FF, etc issue it would be more prolific and most likely would have been fixed already.
     
  15. Jodell88

    Jodell88 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    27
    The latest nvidia driver is 313.18. Is that what you have?
     
  16. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    I'm on 304.64 according to the info under X server settings. How would I go about updating? Running the updates does not update the drivers too I guess?

    I do have 2 options for beta drivers under Additional Drivers, should I even attempt that or will it bring even more issues?

    What about the cursor stuck and the theme constantly changing, would that be related too or is that a separate issue?

    Actually even the beta only seem to list 304 and 310.
     
  17. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your distro is likely behind nVidia's releases. You can use 'apt-cache show nvidia-kernel-dkms' to verify. You can try downloading the drivers from nVidia and installing them manually, but that's problematic because their scripts like to overwrite some things that come with Xorg which is why everyone recommends sticking with the drivers included in the distro.

    I'm currently on the same version as you without issues.
     
  18. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    For kicks I tried to use the beta to see what would happen. It failed to install, with no explanation. Then I tried again, it went through and prompted to reboot. Was a little nervous, but it seems to have worked. Bad start though, that weird black theme showed up again so I had to reset it again. So we'll see if this does anything.

    If not then I'll just have to try another distro. I'm really trying to avoid having to redo everything because it's a pain in the butt and I just want a computer that I can actually get stuff done with instead of constantly troubleshooting. Maybe I need to go back to Windows if that's what I want? I really hate MS's direction though. I seem to be stuck between a rock and a hard place. Linux is buggy, but Windows is smoking dope.
     
  19. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    Another thing that just started again is random artifact sounds when any music is playing. GAH this is so frustrating. Way too many problems with this POS computer. I wish I had enough money to just build a whole new machine, then go to windows 7, and just rule out every possible thing so I can get a proper working computer once and for all. What a pain in the ass.

    No wonder more people are going Apple. It just works.
     
  20. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Except when they don't and then you're screwed. And given your posting history I doubt you'll have any luck with that either.
     
  21. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    So what exactly am I doing wrong then? That's what you seem to be implying.

    I just installed, and had issues from day 1.
     
  22. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no idea, but given your post history about odd problems I can't see you having a flawless experience with anything.
     
  23. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    Given all these issues I have not even done any real work on my computer in a while now and unable to without constantly having to reboot, so I don't want to start on anything only to have to reboot and reopen everything again.

    So I want to try single monitor just for kicks to see if the stuck cursor issue (probably one of the most annoying) happens. I fixed the music "artifacts" by copying my library locally, I don't know why I'd have to do that though, but w/e, I just threw in an extra 1TB drive so once I figure out my stuff I'll just put it on there. My two OS drives are SSDs (Linux and Windows).

    The X artifacts were only happening on the second X session which, it's gotten so bad I just disabled it and don't use that monitor anymore till I can get to the bottom of this.

    I was also playing with Linux Mint for fun, and dual/triple monitor is still somewhat flaky. I think it's just the thing of Linux having poor support for it. Still can't do 3 monitors, only 2. It does not like the fact that there's two VGA adapters I guess. When I tried separate X session I could not even go to it, the cursor would actually end up on the first screen.

    I'm thinking of scraping all this and trying something different. Here's what I'm thinking of doing:

    Build a secondary machine, something low end, maybe an Atom or whatever I can build for cheap.

    Primary machine: This one, have only one screen and one card. (may even buy a new one so I can rule out issues with the current cards)

    Secondary machine: will run both monitors.

    On both machines, install Synergy, main machine acting as server. Center monitor will be local, the two others (one on each side) will be on the other machine. I never used synergy before, but think this will work? Would I actually need two new machines for this one for each monitor? Obviously I can't drag stuff from one to the other, but honestly, I'm willing to give that up just to have a stable system that is not flaky. I find even when it's acting stable, some things, like games, are flaky with two monitors. There's also other annoyances like new desktop icons not ending up on the primary (center) monitor but instead the secondary (first) monitor. If I can make the center screen controlled by a single PC I can eliminate all those annoyances. This is an issue even in Windows and always has been (some things are even worse in Windows, like programs opening off screen).

    This actually sounds more attractive to me since I tend to have lot of stuff I keep open on the two other monitors, while active work is done on the primary. If I decide I want to game in Windows, I could reboot without affecting what's on the other two screens. Only thing, how would synergy handle having dual monitors with the server one being in the middle? Can that be configured? I guess I'll have to just try it as I never used that software before. Hopefully I don't actually need to build TWO more machines.

    In fact... I still have my old computer, with windows XP. I can try it with that first. I can leave XP or install Linux. Might be kind of interesting to try with Windows for kicks.

    One downside with this is it will use more power though. Overall think this could work though?
     
  24. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    Well that didn't take long. Another random app crash.
     
  25. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36,555
    Likes Received:
    541
    So far no stuck cursor but still early to tell if it's gone or not, not that going single monitor is the "solution", unless my idea of using Synergy works out for me. I'll have to setup one of my old boxes as a test to see.