New mixed use (business/personal) laptop suggestion?

desidude

Oct 16, 2010
Hi friends,

I have been using a IBM Thinkpad T43 type 2669 laptop for many years. It is time to replace it, and I am looking for your suggestions for a new laptop.

I am in the USA.

I will be using it for daily corporate work - MS office, Adobe Acrobat, internet browsing and web browsing, some music and videos at home.

I am not running any complex programs e.g. design program or playing games.

My usage pattern for the T43 has been:

1) 8-10 hours of use at work - mostly use it without an external monitor or keyboard, but with an external mouse

2) 3-4 hours of web surfing daily - use it either on the coffee table near the television or sometimes even on my lap

Some travel - mostly personal, when it is used while lounging around.

I am open to using it via an external monitor at home and work, however would like a screen that is easy to read text as I read a lot of text and numbers.

I am looking for a good solid machine, I would like to spend up to $1500.

Some suggestions that I am considering are the Lenovo T520 with FHD screen, T420 with 900 screen, TX220, Mac Air, Macbook Pro?

I am also open to other brands and custom laptops.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks,
desidude

Last edited:

rabbitz

Dec 21, 2011
Do you mean T420 or T40?

I'm not really sure what suggestions you are looking for... the laptops are not really comparable, were you just listing laptops in the price range? From what I know:

Macbook air - light/small/good battery life?
x220 - option for ips display, decently powerful
macbook pro 13 - good battery life, less powerful than x220 at same price point
t420/t520 - cheapest out of the choices.... in the 1500 price range you can get a w520 with epp discounts.