My First Build

Dreakon

Nov 25, 2012
Hi all,

I'm about as green as you can get with this stuff... so please, go easy on me. There are finer details I don't entirely get yet, so if you see something that looks like an amateur mistake... it's probably because it is. :p

I used to play around with upgrading PC's a little while ago. This is my first attempt at building at scratch... and the PC world has changed since I was last in it. So yeah, I'm pretty green.

New Thread Template:
1. What YOUR PC will be used for. That means what types of tasks you'll be performing.

It's a gaming PC, higher-end. Though I also plan to make it my all-around PC as well. Web browsing, watching non-HD video/internet streaming, remoting in to work, etc.

2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread

$1000 but $100-$200 higher is alright. I'm not sure what 20% spread means.

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.

USA. Newegg is my go-to site.

4. IF YOU have a brand preference. That means, are you an Intel-Fanboy, AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy, nVidia-Fanboy, Seagate-Fanboy, WD-Fanboy, etc.

No preference... but I have my eye on Intel and nVidia at the moment.

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.

I don't have any parts, building from scratch.

7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds.

No overclocking.

8. What resolution will you be using?

My monitor can support 1080p. I don't want to push it that hard though.

9. WHEN do you plan to build it?

In the next week or two I'd like to order the parts at least. When they arrive, I begin building.

Based on information I've collected on other sites, I've made up a little shopping list just to get an idea of prices/availability. Be gentle...
SAMSUNG DVD Burner SATA Model SH-224BB
$17.99

COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
$79.99