My 8150 Bulldozer experience - so far!

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by guskline, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. Obsoleet

    Obsoleet Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    So the OP basically confirmed what many of us have been saying for a long time: most CPUs are fast enough or faster than 90% need, and you won't see any perceptible difference in most tasks outside of benchmarks.

    Still rocking a Q9450 and 5870 without issues. The x86 PC market plateaued some time ago and that's part of the reason sales are stale. I won't be replacing this rig until it dies. Yes, I've used Sandybridge.
     
  2. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    55
    Basically yes. If you're buying an FX-8150 or an i7 for word processing and browsing the web, you're wasting your money.
     
  3. Obsoleet

    Obsoleet Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or even firing up League of Legends or TeamFortress2.
    Frankly, I can only get so excited for another Intel cpu release that the world doesn't need and wasn't asking for. It's become niche. People are looking more now for functionality/usability than fixing the issues related to speed that plagued the 486DX2/33.
     
    #353 Obsoleet, Oct 7, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  4. guskline

    guskline Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,166
    Likes Received:
    344
    Well, I see a poster has started a thread for his new PileDriver 8350 which he received from AMD on Oct 8 at fan appreciation day in Austin, TX.
    As expected, the PD is faster but appears to be the same jump as when AMD went from Phenom I to Phenom II.
    I'm interested on the take of the official reviewers.
     
  5. krispy1

    krispy1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    guskline, I recently built a 8150 rig but I have not yet oc'd it. Need to finish reading all of this thread before I get to that. I also spent 13 years in Lebanon PA. Wish I had know you where there!
    Specs
    FX 8150 @ Stock
    Corsair H100 Push-Pull
    Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z 704 bios
    HD 7950 3GiG
    16 BG Crucial 1866
    1-750G Wd Perp-Storage
    1-240 GiG Mushkin SSD-OS
    Corsair TX 850
    Light On Sata BD Drive
    Sony Sata DVD Drive
    Fractal Arc Midi
     
    #355 krispy1, Oct 16, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2012
  6. guskline

    guskline Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,166
    Likes Received:
    344
    krispy1: Good luck. You have a great rig; first class hardware. I found that on my 8150 upping the voltage to 1.425 allows me to run all 8 cores solid at 4.5 Ghz. Glad to see you got the H100 cooler.
     
  7. krispy1

    krispy1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was messing around with the multi and FSB and ended up priming at 4.6 ghz, but this board seems to hate my memory. Only reads half the capacity (it reads 2 4gb sticks instead of 2 8gb sticks) and I can't get it to run dual channel. Funny thing is it still runs stable @ stock and so far oc's like a dream!
     
  8. Makaveli

    Makaveli Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,860
    Likes Received:
    5
    Are you having those memory reading problems when everything is set to default in the bios at stock clocks?
     
  9. krispy1

    krispy1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes but the rig is stable... It's so weird.
     
  10. guskline

    guskline Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,166
    Likes Received:
    344
    krispy1, in your bios is ECC enabled? If so, disable it.
     
  11. guskline

    guskline Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,166
    Likes Received:
    344
    I keep fooling around with different mutipliers and fsb combos. At present, I'm running 4.6 Ghz (20 x 230 @ 1.425v) at a very stable and frankly cool rate.
     
  12. krispy1

    krispy1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    It defaults to enabled and I have run it enabled and disabled ( with no difference ) but the MB only see's two 4 gig sticks. Funny thing is windows see's all 16 gb but only 8gb is acessible. It's so weird but is not having any effect on the overclocking.
     
    #362 krispy1, Oct 18, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  13. krispy1

    krispy1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right now I am only clocking with the multi and I am at 4.3 @ 1.35v. I will keep messing with it but I am sure I have plenty of room left.
     
  14. krispy1

    krispy1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running IBT at 4.4 1.35v (I believe 22 multi).
     
  15. guskline

    guskline Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,166
    Likes Received:
    344
    Well the PileDrivers are out and the reviews are a lot better than when Bulldozer came out. Will I upgrade to a 8350? Not for the price newegg is charging! Only paid $170 for the 8150. If the 8350 falls to the same price maybe. I am glad that AMD did the improvements and narrowed the gap with the 2500k/3570k

    Frankly the Microcenter deal on the 2700k ($229) has caught my eye recently. Also thinking about getting one of the 2560x1440 $300 Korean monitors.
     
  16. guskline

    guskline Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,166
    Likes Received:
    344
    If I've learned one thing in life, it's never say "never"!:rolleyes:

    I have a FX 8350 on the way. Should get here later in the week. I'll keep you posted.
     
  17. sequoia464

    sequoia464 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm interested in seeing your results, just about got an 8320 the other day myself, not really certain if it is worth replacing my Thuban though.
     
  18. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    One thing you fail to forget is you have 2500k Which has 4 cores 4 threads.

    2600k or 2700k or Ivy 3770k has 4 cores but also 8 threads. Soo if you go to speedfan or taskman you will see 8 ,,,,, if the application supports HT threaded apps then those 4 extra threads will give gains up to 40 percent. Avg 15 to 35 percent faster in apps. But I know Adobe Premiere and PS like HT .. they support it along with 64bit,,, so its like almost having 8 physical cores.

    If gaming is all you do and desktop Metro all you need is a 4 core 4 thread CPU.

    If you do video editing with Premiere or AutoCad, or StudioMax Maya, or Sonar X2 DAW then the 8 threads really work well and can possibly give you up to 40 percent faster from the research Ive done.

    AMDs problem is not physical cores as their Opteron is 12 core.. They simply cant beat intels single threaded speed. gl
     
  19. guskline

    guskline Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,166
    Likes Received:
    344
    After reading most PileDriver reviews I want to see if this really was what Bulldozer should have been. BTW, already upgraded to Windows 8 on the Bulldozer machine in anticipation of the 8350 chip. We shall see. I'll keep you posted. Most likely will be here at the end of the week.
     
  20. infoiltrator

    infoiltrator Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is fun in the world, enjoying your posts. Looking forward to new ones!
     
  21. guskline

    guskline Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,166
    Likes Received:
    344
    Thanks. ETA for Vishera 8350 is Friday 11/9/12. Over the weekend I hope to install the new CPU, fire it up to 4.6 Ghz and compare to the 8150 at 4.6 Ghz. I'll try to post as many benchmark comparisons as possible. In the meantime, I'm open to as many suggestions of benchmark comparisons as I can. I'll also compare it to my 2500k at 4.5Ghz.

    I have Aida64, Heaven 3, 3dMark11. Please list others so I can start benching the 8150 now.:)
     
  22. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Aida,heaven,3dmark and similar are all useless benchmarks to be frank. You need to do something usefull/productive and measure the runtime(like using winrar/7zip on some archives, rendering some real scenes in 3dstudio/maya, convert videos with handbrake, compress to mp3 with dbpoweramp or similar program etc.) Also playing games at whatever settings you play them and recording the fps and displaying them in a graph( needs same GPU on both systems of course).

    That's what makes the difference in real life,not BS benchmarks like heaven and 3dmark (or even worse :AIDA64 ...). Just my suggestion ;). Maybe somebody would like to see the useless benchmark numbers,who knows :D.
     
  23. Makaveli

    Makaveli Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,860
    Likes Received:
    5
    I want you to post some numbers at stock also I want to see how it compares to my 970 also at 4ghz.

    And the reason i'm asking is most of the reviews these days no longer do comparisons to Gen 1 i7 chips.
     
  24. guskline

    guskline Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,166
    Likes Received:
    344
    Stock for both the 8150 and the 8350 or only the 8350? And what tests? I'll be glad to do the comparisons. From your post I'm assuming the 8350 because at stock it is also 4Ghz.
     
    #374 guskline, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  25. Makaveli

    Makaveli Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,860
    Likes Received:
    5
    The 8350!

    And the standard stuff,

    cinebench 11.5, winrar etc