My 3 days with an iPhone 5

Feb 19, 2001
I haven't really used an iPhone since the 3GS days. I do get to play with my friends' phones and frequently at the Apple store, but this is my first time back on an iPhone for myself.

So here's the background: My iPhone 5 is a work phone. I decided to get Verizon because people here love Verizon. I'm on AT&T for my personal phone because I love SIM flexibility. Plus, the VZW iPhone is globally unlocked so it's not like I can't go international either.

I rocked the SGS2 and iPhone 5 for the past 3 days. Well two really because on Sunday I left the iPhone at home (less bulk). So here goes my analysis:

1) Speed/fluidity: I'm on CM10 for my SGS2, and the hwcomposer is still broken, so I don't get Project Butter. However, CM10 is at least as smooth as CM9 if not a little better because the animations mask some of the lag. I honestly felt real good about my SGS2 on CM9 final. I felt better when they fixed the mem leak on CM10 and I hopped over. I told my iPhone friends they were stupid for being so overly amused by the iPhone 5 and that my SGS2 could do all those things and more (minus the awesome CPU/GPU).

But seriously when I picked up my iPhone, it was fast. Just fluid. 60 fps everywhere. I sold off my iPad like 7 months ago and it was just as fast. Now I remember how I felt last year with my iPad 2. Fluid, fast, no lag. Apps launch fast too thanks to the A6, but I've never been huge about app launching speed. Even if my SGS2 is a second slower, I dont realy mind. What gets me is fluidity. I think what was easily noticeable was Facebook. Android is slow as crap on that app. I seriously brainwashed myself and told myself that after the FB team finally upgraded the Android UI sometime early this year or late last year to have the same as the web UI and iOS UI that we finally had a relatively speedy app. I'd say the app was running 20fps or so tops on my SGS2. 60 fps probably on my iPhone. The difference was night and day.