Most CPU Intensive Game

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by UaVaj, Dec 20, 2012.

  1. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Duke3D 17 years ago. Does that count ???
     
  2. Ben90

    Ben90 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,866
    Likes Received:
    1
    I hear Jeopardy is pretty CPU intensive.
     
  3. StinkyPinky

    StinkyPinky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,831
    Likes Received:
    18
    Late game Civ 5 with huge map and max civs does some damage to weaker cpu's

    Definitely noticed an improvement from my Q6600 to 2500k.
     
  4. Majes

    Majes Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah, I have to go with Civ5. Late game W3 and SC2 custom games do destroy computers though...
     
  5. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,654
    Likes Received:
    8
    Why i7, if the multithreading is rubbish? i5 at 5Ghz should be just as good

    Anyway, PlanetSide 2 >>> any other game I've ever played in terms of CPU intensity
     
  6. SunnyD

    SunnyD Belgian Waffler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,565
    Likes Received:
    7
    Pick just about any emulator of more modern console systems.

    Or if you want REALLY CPU intensive, there was an article of 100% exact emulation of the SNES.

    Planetside 2 isn't CPU intensive at all. It's just poorly threaded. It doesn't even peg a single core on my machine most of the time.
     
  7. Acanthus

    Acanthus Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    19,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    While it does utilize quad core, it doesn't peg any single core of mine with the rig in sig.

    I'm probably GPU bottlenecked though.
     
  8. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    443
    Planetside 2 is def. CPU limited. I know people with 4-4.4Ghz 3570s and high end GPUs that have 25fps in some scenarios. GPU is also not fully utilized so that is an easy clue where the problem is (i5s are just fine, it's the bad coding that's causing the problems)
     
  9. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,844
    Likes Received:
    60
  10. blastingcap

    blastingcap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    5
    For single thread I know Shogun 2 chugs on my system even though it should fly.

    For multi-thread, BF3 64 multiplayer is pretty hard to beat.
     
  11. ViRGE

    ViRGE Elite Member, Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    31,157
    Likes Received:
    28
    Supreme Commander.

    Followed by Civilization V.
     
  12. Acanthus

    Acanthus Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    19,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is probably true, i do get a noticeable performance increase from overclocking in civ5.
     
  13. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    that would be a "/thread" right there folks :thumbsup:
     
  14. Acanthus

    Acanthus Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    19,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    They have a lot of problems in the engine right now that need optimization. In the large battles when i get about 25fps, my GPU, CPU, Memory, and Network utilization are nowhere near maxed out.
     
  15. Ken g6

    Ken g6 Programming Moderator, Elite Member
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 1999
    Messages:
    12,345
    Likes Received:
    225
    Think chess is hard? Try Go!
     
  16. Makaveli

    Makaveli Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,854
    Likes Received:
    2
    BF3 64 Multi

    Supreme Commander.

    Civilization V.

    +1
     
  17. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,654
    Likes Received:
    8
    To all people saying BF3, SC or Civ V - you haven't played PS2.
     
  18. ChronoReverse

    ChronoReverse Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    5
    Pegging all four cores is kinda more impressive than just using one to the max. BF3 64 players does the former.
     
  19. omek

    omek Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    BF3 64 player is CPU intensive.
    On anything above a dual core, PS2 is CPU deficient
     
    #44 omek, Dec 21, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2012
  20. lamedude

    lamedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. IntelUser2000

    IntelUser2000 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,160
    Likes Received:
    45
    SC2, Civ V, and any other high unit count RTSes. Also MMORPGs with BIG raid numbers.

    Some games like GTA IV, scales well in performance with threads. But performance is horrible, and doesn't really stress the GPU. So its horribly coded anyway. If they made GTA IV so its not well threaded, but had good performance, it would be better coding. GTA IV is what I call coding for multi-threading at the expense of real world performance. I wonder how many other games like that are out there?

    IPC is still very important for multi-threaded games though because of Amdahl's Law. In games, I bet the sequential portion of code takes up quite a bit of overall.
     
  22. NTMBK

    NTMBK Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    123
    Ah, it's only single threaded, so you'd need one instance per core. :p
     
  23. bunnyfubbles

    bunnyfubbles Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    1
    The default max settings are lower than the truly customizable "ultra" settings that you have to manually input, and the game can look pretty incredible after messing with such things, however frame rates will plummet, I typically go from 70-80 average with highs above 100 and minimum frame rates in the 30s-40s to an average frame rate in the 40s-50s with a high in the 60s-70s and lows in the 20s. That's default high with some tweaking (like turning off AO and fog junk) to customized "ultra" settings


    Yeah, we could even have a whole new discussion on which game is most CPU intensive from the CPUs POV - ie which games actually put the most pressure on the CPU, vs. which games need to be the most CPU intensive but are just too inefficient. While a game BF3 will measurably load up an i7, its not exactly CPU bottle-necked, whereas a game like PS2 is easily the most CPU bottle-necked game I have played in years.


    Many games will do that, if not most. It seems like most developers just don't care and/or are incapable of producing an efficiently coded game, so that even if the CPU isn't being effectively utilized that doesn't mean the game is not CPU limited.



    An i5 should be just as good, but its often enough not the case. As far as PS2 is concerned I don't know, although I can do some testing with my 3570K vs. my 3930K. That being said, there are some games that are very inefficient at utilizing an i5s four cores, and yet can still receive a tangible benefit from an i7s HT or even s2011 with 6 cores (Tribes Ascend is a pretty big offender in that regard, where its woefully inefficient beyond a couple threads however it will still perform faster and faster on up with higher end CPUs). Granted, I would wager in a majority of cases a high enough clocked i5 will ultimately be just as good.
     
  24. SPBHM

    SPBHM Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    30
  25. 2is

    2is Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    29
    That usually means its not utilizing quad cores. Even a game with a single thread can show activity on all 4 cores when looking at task manager. Because that's just how the windows scheduler works, but if you were to add up the usage, it would be around 25%. Which means a single thread.