Master's that weren't worth it

brainhulk

Diamond Member
Sep 14, 2007
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/my-master-s-wasn-t-worth-it-173855765.html?page=2

6sean-jpg_175123.jpg

I have more education than I know what to do with, and I am one of the long-term unemployed who have given up hopes of finding a job.

After a double major in chemistry and microbiology as an undergrad, I earned a master's degree in molecular biology and gained teaching experience in cellular, micro, molecular and plant biology.

I thought this wide array of experience would at least get me interviews. After hundreds of applications over the past four years, I have had less than five interviews.

My solution has been to try and employ myself. I resorted going back to a high school hobby, as a job.

I'm working on starting a woodworking business that makes canes, using a special kind of diseased wood. Basically, I'm using my chemistry background to create functional pieces of art.

crazy

Kroze

Diamond Member
Apr 9, 2001
I smell BS. he probably have 0 experience & want to apply for the department's head position and was rejected.

Time to occupy wall st. he is the 99%

TehMac

Diamond Member
Aug 18, 2006
probably isn't selling it right, or is being an entitled dumbass.

Kroze

Diamond Member
Apr 9, 2001
probably isn't selling it right, or is being an entitled dumbass.
Yup. I have a Master degree, I'm not applying for some entry level bachelor crap! I'm going straight for the department's head position!

Shadowknight

Diamond Member
May 4, 2001
Yup. I have a Master degree, I'm not applying for some entry level bachelor crap! I'm going straight for the department's head position!