Laptop with Vista

Dean

Platinum Member
Oct 10, 1999
Getting a new laptop with a Core 2 Duo Processor. Most of them out there offer only 1 gig of ram, is that sufficient for non gaming? I can get them upgraded to 2 gigs for a bit more cash.

I have no experience with Vista at all and have heard it is thirsty for ram. I don't game with my laptops but generally I can have many programs open at once such as Office, Illustrator etc... My old IBM t40 finally bit the dust after my Wife accidentally introduced a glass of diet pepsi to it.

Dec 10, 2005
1GB would be fine for most people (especially without gaming). Of course, it will run smoother with 2GB, but it's just like XP is fine with 512MB and runs better with 1GB.

If you want, you could par down the interface to save on RAM used until (or if) you upgrade to 2GB.

Dean

Platinum Member
Oct 10, 1999
Yeah I think I found one I want. It has Vista Business on it with 2 gigs of ram. It costs more but it appears to be a nice machine with a faster processor.

Next time I will take a shortcut and just offer my wife a dribble glass when I need another laptop upgrade. The guilt method works wonderfully :)

corkyg

Elite Member | Peripherals
Super Moderator
Mar 4, 2000
I endorse your choice. I have a Core2Duo Thinkpad with 2 GB of RAM (room for one more if needed) and Vista Ultimate. It moves right along - boots and loads faster than my XP Pro desktop. Enjoy!

SexyK

Golden Member
Jul 30, 2001
Definitely go for 2G if you can afford it. Sounds like you decided that already though :)

frostedflakes

Diamond Member
Mar 1, 2005
Yeah 2GB definitely isn't necessary, I've run Vista Premium very comfortably on 1024MB (minus 128MB dedicated to onboard video). But memory is pretty cheap, as others pointed out you might as well go with 2GB if you can afford it. :)

TheStu

Moderator<br>Mobile Devices & Gadgets
Sep 15, 2004
I have run Vista on 1GB, but more is always better, and RAM is awfully cheap these days. So another vote for 2GB