Kyro II Driver/Advice

Abdiel

May 5, 2002
I'm new to these parts (obviously), and my once respectable computer skills have decayed into obsolescence, so forgive me if I've forgotten to add something important or misspoken. That said, I submit my question to the forum techie gods. ;)

I just set up an WinXP Professional Ed System with an Athlon 1800+ CPU and 256 MB DDR. My problem is with my video card, a PowerVR Kyro II 64 MB...

It's running fine for all 2d applications, but for some reason whenever I run anything 3D (from FPS titles to cheesy shockwave games) I get tons of "polygon shrapnel," where the models hold up just fine and with a decent framerate, but tons of random textured triangles of various sizes pop up in odd places for a frame or two and then disappear. It's distracting enough to make 3d games and applications unbearable.

I've tried all the different Kyro II drivers I could find through Google, made sure my DirectX drivers were up to date, written tech support (and gotten no response), and so I've come here. It's quite possible (even likely) that I've forgotten something really basic... This has been my first computer upgrade in 4 years.

So, I guess my question is twofold:

a) Any Tech Whizzes or Kyro II users out there who know of this phenomenon and how to counteract it?

b) Failing that, any advice for a replacement card under 100 bucks that would work with my OS/CPU configuration? I run a little Lightwave3D, but mostly would be using the card for games (CS, Morrowind, WCIII, maybe NWN, etc).

Thanks in advance for any and all help you can give.

Idoxash

Apr 30, 2001
..........dude look at it this way at least your card works!

I ask ppl on this and 8 other forums about my probs and

a: never got reply too
b: told off
C: made fun of
d: was gave no help at all but was told that there works and i was just stupid!