I'm on a tech forum and can't believe that

Page 4 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

SolMiester

Diamond Member
Dec 19, 2004
i'm still rockin a PC from 2011. Intel Core i5 2500K Sandy Bridge. It runs every game I have just fine so i'm trying to find a reason to upgrade. Should I upgrade or keep this beast? Lol.

Yes, Im a network engineer, and my main office pc is a sandy bridge...your not missing much.
TBF, my wife commanders the office pc most of the time.

Red Squirrel

No Lifer
May 24, 2003
www.anyf.ca
I just timed mine. 40 seconds from power on to windows loaded and ready to use and 20-25 seconds of that is just the system posting.

I hate my motherboard, it dicks around for a good couple minutes before it finally decides to POST. That kills my boot up time. Once it actually starts to post it's about 15 seconds.

destrekor

Lifer
Nov 18, 2005
Yes, Im a network engineer, and my main office pc is a sandy bridge...your not missing much.
TBF, my wife commanders the office pc most of the time.

Yup. Sandy Bridge, outside of the most professional of production folks (who need every last bit of processing power more often than not), is, for most people, plenty to this day. This is why I have said recent computers, even some of the Celerons and Pentiums based on i3 chips and whatnot, are going to be serviceable for the same segment of the population for which they are marketed in the first place, for a long time to come. Windows 10 is nice and efficient, as was 8.1, 8, and 7, and so long as the hardware keeps kicking, these systems will continue to serve their users for years to come. This cannot be said with a straight face for C2Q and C2D and earlier chipsets, that, while remarkable at the time, have not held up to the test of time.