IBM Question

cwgannon

May 24, 2005
As an incoming college freshman, I am looking to purchase a notebook.

After much debate, I've decided on an IBM Thinkpad T43, no matter the extra cost involved.

Unfortunately, IBM's purchasing "setup" is a bit foreign to me (and I'm not quite sure why). It seems to me that the only way to fully customize and configure a laptop is to use their Think Express program, which, from the looks of it, is for business use only.

So, my question is, are IBM notebooks fully customizable for non-business users or are the results given using the "Notebook finder" my only choices?

Thanks in advance.

PS: Does IBM really not offer an education discount? I know my school (UW-Madison) has a program through Dell, but it just seems odd that IBM leaves those at such schools in the dark...

fbrdphreak

Lifer
Apr 17, 2004
They do have a general academic discount program, but I don't know how much off it is. Instead I would try to find someone who has access to the IBM EPP and get a like 30% discount.
I've heard their are also program for Visa & Mastercard users, so google for those :)
Also, check out forums.thinkpads.com ; that is a great resource and I'm sure someone could help you find specific links there

cwgannon

May 24, 2005
Thanks for the replies.

So, for clarification's sake, I can't, as I can on Dell's site, for instance, fully customize a notebook? In other words, are the models listed in the "tabook" the only available models?

I'll be sure to google for the Visa/Mastercard program and check out the forums as well. I really wish I still knew somebody who worked for IBM though.

cy7878

Jul 2, 2003
The reply above are plain WRONG!!!! IBM does let you customize your Thinkpad right on the website. They also do offer an educational discount to high education and does not even need verification.